We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scuba Lodge & Suites(Willemstad)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
US$210
US$176
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$283
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
US$127
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,021)
Filter reviews
2,021 results
Traveller rating
1,034
758
160
46
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,034
758
160
46
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsman made beachinfinity beachnautilus restaurantblue barfake beachinterior roomsalt watercruise shipall inclusive packageocean viewfresh water poolpontoon bridgeparking garageconference roombusiness centerfourth floorqueen emma
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 2,021 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2017

love the carnaval casino also Scegfried Vanessa Yamali friendly, have lost fun, the place is nice charming, we walk along the see .and love the cité the temperature is nice the house nice color good restaurant

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCRManager, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2017

Dear Simone R,

Thank you for sharing your great experience with the rest of the world. Our Casino is indeed a great place of entertainment and fun. We are happy to hear that our friendly and service-oriented employees Siegfried, Vanessa and Yamali made your visits to our casino a remarkable experience.

We are planning on expanding our Carnaval Casino into the biggest and best Casino on the island and we definitely hope to see you there to enjoy its new look and modern machines.

See you soon!

Warm regards,

Chanteau O

Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

We visited Curaçao for a week and were very sad to have to leave. Curaçao is beautiful with so much to offer, and our stay at the Renaissance made it ten times better!

First of all, the location is great. It is right in the city of Willemstad for easy access to countless shops, restaurants and bars. It was only a short walk across the bridge to get there. We had a rental car to explore other parts of the island, and the hotel has free parking everyday which was a wonderful surprise!

Second, the infinity beach/pool are great and extremely relaxing. Yes, Curaçao does have amazing beaches around the island, but it was nice to have this as another option (we did want to drive to a beach everyday). This is a man-made beach, but this is a city/port area so that is an added bonus given the great location you are in.

Third, the staff was extremely pleasant, fun and helpful throughout the week. They provided countless recommendations and always followed up about what we did that day. They even took the time to teach me Papiamento (local Curaçao language)! Special shoutout to Girainey, Monique, Ruth, Luis, Angelique & Leo for all their hospitality and lessons! Would highly recommend meeting them for any of your needs during your stay.

I do not agree with many of the negative reviews about this hotel, but I cannot speak to their experiences. If you want to explore the local culture AND relax then I would choose Renaissance. Even local friends of Curaçao agreed with our decision to stay here!

STAY AT THE RENAISSANCE CURAÇAO!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

I stopped by to have a glass of wine and Luis and Ruth took care of me just excellent!!! Great service and had a nice conversation with both of them, the two of them really know how to please guests and they are a good asset to the Blue Bar

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Toy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCRManager, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2017

Dear Toy B,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about Ruth and Luis from our Blue Bar at the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino.
While Blue Bar on its own is a special place to be with a very warm ambience, our true secret for its popularity is the employees that wait at the bar. They are all well dedicated and have a passion for service. Thank you very much for singling out Luis and Ruth, they are indeed our super stars. We will ensure that they receive the recognition they deserve.

Come and have a drink or two with us again sometime soon!

Sunny regards,

Chanteau O

Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2017

1--This is NOT a relaxing hotel. The Renaissance Curacao is actually a 'shopping and casino compound.' It is near an old Fort. The old Fort is restaurants. At night, around 6 p.m., up to three different bands set up and start playing over each other. One on the man-made beach, one IN the Fort, one outside of the FORT. It was NOISE POLLUTION. We couldn't even hear ourselves THINK over them trying to play bad cover songs over each other.
2--This property is NOT a luxury property. We were surprised to be upgraded. This was the ONLY nice thing about this hotel. The rooms are run down and in need of renovation. This property is a convention center/casino. There were constant events which made it high-traffic and crowded.
3--Your platinum status is not platinum status here. We DID get a room upgrade, but if you're looking for a smile or a thank you for you 100+ nights, you're not going to get it here. They don't care.
4--Make sure you're 'settled' when you check in--We utilized a discount rate code. They never asked for the proof when we checked in. they then proceeded to basically harass us every single day until we produced our AAA card . We were told that if we couldn't produce it, we would have to revert to a rack rate.
5--No resort fee, but only ONE breakfast if you are platinum. Odd. I typically find that if it's a resort, no breakfast. This was NOT a resort. They offered platinum breakfast to only ONE guest. What?! When we showed up at the hostess stand, I told them I was platinum and it was included. Two adults, one child. The hostess nodding her head and sat us. We then got a bill for $49 for breakfast. "oh.. you only get the COLD buffet.. and you only get ONE cold buffet." After 10 minutes of banter with the manager, they charged us for only our child and said we would be fine the next day. Next day, groundhog day. We ate and got billed $49. We stopped going to breakfast because we were tired of fighting them for it. It wasn't that great anyway.
6--The beach is actually a sand pool. You are not near the beach at all. You will need to drive to a nice, public beach. The beaches are beautiful.
7--You NEED a rental car. The rental car process is also a nightmare. We were, of course, over charged (another story for another review).
8--The over all service was 'not friendly.' Every time we interacted with anyone at the front desk, we felt like we were going into battle. It became exhausting. Our final bill, of course, had rooms service charges that we never made. That was a battle to get removed. Of course.

We liked our large suite. That's about it. We will never stay here again. We felt like we were on a really bad cruise ship. They need to learn about hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank carriej11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCRManager, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Carriej11,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback regarding your most recent stay at our property. We are terribly sorry to read about the inconveniences you experienced.
As a platinum elite member we are honored that you chose our property for your accommodation needs during your much awaited family vacation.

We have shared your feedback with our management team and staff members who join me in offering our sincere apologies for the services and products provided. There are times that not all processes we have in our resort align with the needs of our guests and it is feedback like yours that help us improve.

As you correctly stated, for the past weeks we have been trying out new entertainment options for our guests and I would like to inform you that we have re-evaluated the positioning and timing of our offerings in order for it to better compliment the atmosphere offered in and around our property.

We are also looking into going into the next year with a fresher and more modern property therefore we will be making some essential changes that will definitely give our property new life and look.

As a Platinum Elite Premier member we do our utmost to ensure that you feel appreciated which is one of the main reasons our duty leader was able to deliver on your benefits of an upgrade to our best room in the resort. Also as you correctly stated, as a resort property we do not offer continental breakfast as other non-resort properties do. We do provide one continental breakfast for the platinum card owner in appreciation of your loyalty to our brand. In your particular case the duty leader accommodated one additional continental breakfast which is customary in other properties who do offer continental breakfasts to platinum members. At the restaurant, we do ask for a signature on the breakfast receipt for all guests for administration purposes. I am sorry that the information was not communicated clearly to you at the restaurant.

Furthermore I would like to apologize for the service you received at our front desk. While we do have rules to follow where reservations requirements are concerned if the guest does not provide the supporting documents related to the rate and confirmation received, the front desk should ensure to request the documents upon arrival in order for the guests to be able to completely enjoy their vacation. Additionally service should be exemplary especially when dealing with our Elite members.

We understand that we have failed on various aspects during this stay but we do hope that as a loyal member you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you and deliver the services and products that you deserve and have grown accustomed to from our Marriott brands.

Warmest regards,

Chanteau O
Guest Experience Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2017

Have stayed here several times and its my first choice in Curacao. The Fort next door has several good restaurants and there is a minimart two minutes walk beyond the Fort adjacent to Subway and Pizza Hut. I rarely eat in hotels for dinner but I found the menu here reasonable price and good. The old restaurant menu which is now the room service menu has a much better selection, and unfortunately they would not let me order items off that menu while eating in the restaurant. The breakfast was excellent and fast.

Two serious flaws in the stay. My room had no internet and zero phone service for two days, and the hotel would never give me details on why or when I would get it back. Having no phone service meant I had to continually go to the front desk to beg for service, but it didn't seem to be a priority for them to address. The second is that the front desk could or would not give me change for one $100 bill to pay my taxi. A casino hotel without change for a $100 bill?? Hmmmm....

There is no executive lounge unfortunately.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water where cruise ships dock.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagainva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCRManager, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Dear ontheroadagainva,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your most recent stay at our property.
Firstly one behalf of the Renaissance Curacao Management team and staff I would like to thank you for always choosing our resort for your accommodation needs while in Curacao.
We are all very saddened to read that this stay did not live up to your expectations and that we did not cater to your needs as we normally do.
The inconveniences that you experienced have been shared with the appropriate team leaders to ensure that we understand and better live up to our guests expectations. Small requests such as a special item off a menu or change for a $100 note are easily accommodated and we are sorry that our team members did not deliver on your requests.

We hope to see you again next year in order for us to make it up to you and provide you with the customary outstanding service our hotel is known for and you have grown accustomed to.

Sunny regards,

Chanteau O
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews