We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$440
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Scuba Lodge & Suites(Willemstad)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
Book now, pay at stay
US$204
US$176
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$287
US$127
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
39
11
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
11
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor livingsecurity gateground floorbedroom villagrocery storeocean frontaccommodationsrentsandcuracao
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 54 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We lived on Curacao for several years and I was born there so we are pretty much locals.

We usually stay at the Avila Beach Resort, but due to the pricey season and the length of our stay we decided to rent an apartment this time. To be fair, we had a great time, but this was not due to the apartment. The walls are all types of colours and combinations, the dark purple wall, black polyester sheets, black bed and dark floor make the master bedroom a Walhalla for mosquitoes! (and not just any, but the kind that are known for carrying Dengue fever!) NOTHING helped! No amount of Deet spray, insecticide, deet candles and mosquito coils helped! The dark furniture couldn't be used because every time you sat down you'd be eaten alive! Same problem on the porch. MANAGEMENT OR OWNERS must urgently do something against the mosquito problem!!!

Added to that, we were told that we weren't allowed to use the alarm system (it turned out it didnt work), the safe was broken, both are a MUST in Curacao, we didn' t have any hot water the first day, there weren't enough towels, dishes or other tableware. And the funny smell turned out to be two dead lizards in the spare bedroom, one which was half eaten and covered by maggots and the other which was already mummified! The stove didn't work properly and the pans were disgusting and though there was a private pool, staying there after 12pm was unbearable due to there being no parasols to provide shade and you cant move the sunbeds, these are bolted to the deck.

We paid €6'500 rent for a 4 week stay, we didn't even have a toaster or a functioning coffee machine!

The beach is nice, but is FAR too small to be shared by Papagayo, Boca Gentil, Morena, Chogogo and Livingstone together.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asagineechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a Boca Gentil villa in September of 2012 for our January vacation. One week before our trip we were notified that they had double booked and the apartment was no longer available. Instead they put us in a larger unit with a private pool, however it was not directly on the beach, but a 5 min walk away.

The unit did have a private pool, which was gorgeous and comparing to the photos we had seen did seem larger, however it was a 15min walk to the beach - too far for my inlaws to walk, so we had to drive. This unit was also not as kept up as the photos of the unit we booked. The biggest disadvantage was that it was right next to a construction site, which was not noisy, but it stirred up the mosquito's and the house had no screens!! Only wood louver windows which did not keep them out and we got eaten alive!!

My advice is this if you want to book with Boca Gentil: Do not expect to be staying in the unit you booked ( I do think they double booked on purpose) do not expect to be on or right beside the beach (not that it was really too far, but not what we had booked) and BRING MOSQUITO NETTING!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I just returned from a wonderful vacation, rented one of the ground level condos of the Bayside group. 3 minute walk to the well stocked grocery store. Amazing beach side grills. Bus stop nearby to go to Punda (Willemstad). First time getting a condo, usually stay in all inclusives. WOW. beautiful location. I'm back a day, and already looking at airfare to return. We had some early morning dog barking across the road, but overall never saw or heard our neighbours. Great place to relax.Thank you to Sandra J for answering all my questions, and Cor V, for leaving me his card for any emergency. Felt very safe

Room Tip: open the doors and windows when you arrive and get the stale air out, after that the place is amazing.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Ponsioen_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Sunrise, its a part of the complex and shares a pool with 3 other appartments. The facility is the finest weve seen at Curacao, very clean and modern with a lovely grochery store and fitness facilities. The walk to the beach is reasonable and the beach itself while not the finest has sand and surf and a great dive shop. The restaurants were good but fairly pricey 25-35 pp.

The only knock we had was the rental company curacaoxl had a limit of 1 toilet paper roll and 2 garbage bags for our week, didnt do any midweek visit/clean and the landlord left us a phone number but there werent any phones! the mosquitos were pretty bad but they had netting for the beds....

All in all though a great week, we finished our 2 week holiday up island to explore the western sections, which was a good idea.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holtzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at one of the boca gentil apartments and i loved it very much!
The apartment has 3 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms.
(One of the bedrooms had an en suite bathroom)
Very clean apartment!
I especially liked the balcony very much! nice views and nice air floating through the apartment
It is at a walking distance of the Jan Thiel beaches, but you don't hear any of the noise; the boca gentil villas/apartments are at a very quiet location itself
I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanja2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews