We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilltop 10 - Great house, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2014

We are a group of 5 male divers and rented an apartment that could accommodate 6 people. The apartment is basically the ground floor of a house/villa with 3 separate bedrooms including a master bedroom with separate shower and toilet. The other two bedrooms share a communal shower and toilet. Given the fact that we're 5 heterosexual males, it was nice to see to they followed our request to put in single beds for us. We loved our stay here. The apartment/house is very spacious and nicely decorated and the terrace is great (although there's a lot of flies and mosquitoes around). The kitchen is very well equipped and the Albert Heyn supermarket is at walking distance from the house. You can stock up there on groceries. The beach, all the clubs and bars at Jan Thiel bay are also at walking distance. You have a very nice sea view from the terrace and we were warmly welcomed when we arrived. There is free wifi at the house. If you are a group of people traveling together this is a great location to be based at when visiting Curacao. The only drawback is there are continuous traffic jams between capital Willemstad and Jan Thiel bay probably the most densely inhabited area of the Island and there is only one road connection both towns

Room Tip: We like the house : Hilltop 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk_VDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had Beach villa S8. A beautiful house. Decorated very tasteful. Everything was clean and crisp. Enough towels and beach towels. The house had wi-fi as well. Free acces to Papagayo Beach where you can lounge and eat at the beach clubs. Especially, Papagayo Beach Club is good. There's a few nice shops (ice-cream!!) and the whole area is guarded. Therefore, very safe. The AH supermarket is around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lobrysteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were staying in S09, seapelican villa and it has been amazing. The villa is direct on the coastline and the view is just amazing. The villa itself has a master bedroom with private bathroom, a second bedroom with a private bedroom and two bedrooms which are seperated by a half bathroom. The livingroom is spacious and the tv has some nice channels.
The kitchen is practical and has all needed utilities. The open bar which looks out to the terrace is amazing.

Since you tend to live outside a lot in Curacao the outdoor space is huge. The porch and the infinitypool are amazing and the sun is shining all day and the water is beautiful.
We had the luck to see some wildlife during our stay. We had the luck of seeing a school of dolphins and also a flock of Flamengo's flying by. There is no direct beach access but within 3 minutes walking you find the famous Papagayo Beach hotel and multiple beach resorts which are free accessable with your resort key.

Also within walkingdistance you can find a small supermarket and if you have rented a car, which I would absolutely recommend, you can visit larger supermarkets within a 10 minute drive.

The villa's are expensive, but I have to say that It is worth the money.
We will most certainly come back to this area of Curacao.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We spent one week in Villa Blue Lagoon in the Boca Gentil resort area. The home is not on the water but it is elevated to provide beautiful views of the water and the sunset from all of the outdoor living spaces and the infinity pool. It is just a 2 minute walk to the Papagayo and Chogogo resort areas. There is free access to these beaches for staying in the Boca Gentil resort. Grocery store is a 2 minute walk as well. In the hotel areas there are many restaurants although a bit pricey. It is a short drive to Willemstad. I wish there was a way to write a review for Monique the property manager. She is fantastic. She picked us up at the airport. She arranged rental car at the house when we arrived. She had fresh cut flowers in the house. She is awesome.
It is an expensive area so rental prices are high

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebutcherclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We rented an apartment there for one Month, ending up spending € 6.500,- rent, plus a deposit.
We had no working coffee machine in the kitchen, no toaster, not enough towels for the beach and the bathroom, so I ended up washing towels everyday, not enough glasses nor dinner plates
(4 of each for a family of 3) no extra sheets, so you would have to wash them wary in the day and hope that it would dry in time. Our bedroom had BLACK sheets and purple walls, that attrackted a lot of mosquito. When we arrived there was no hot water in the entire apartment, they repaired this the next day, there was a safety deposit box but it couldn't be used because the lock was broken, there was an alarm system but we were told we couldn't use it because the rental company didn't know how it worked. The lighting in every room was very poor, there was no place you could sit and read a book at night. We were eaten by mosquito every night, because no one had sprayed the garden nor under the terrace as we have seen people doing at various hotels at that time.
Electricity and water had to be paid extra after our stay.
There was no parasol or another place to sit in the shade on the porch nor was there shade or a parasol at the pool.
Security was very efficient and friendly. There was someone driving around in a car the whole night from a security firm.
There are several agencies offering these apartments, there are several blocks and they have all different owners so you might get lucky and get a better deal. We were in Sunrise 6.
Also I heard that first floor apartments have less mosquitos than ground floor apartments.

Room Tip: Check out several agencies offering these apartments since prices and furniture and decoration may v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We lived on Curacao for several years and I was born there so we are pretty much locals.

We usually stay at the Avila Beach Resort, but due to the pricey season and the length of our stay we decided to rent an apartment this time. To be fair, we had a great time, but this was not due to the apartment. The walls are all types of colours and combinations, the dark purple wall, black polyester sheets, black bed and dark floor make the master bedroom a Walhalla for mosquitoes! (and not just any, but the kind that are known for carrying Dengue fever!) NOTHING helped! No amount of Deet spray, insecticide, deet candles and mosquito coils helped! The dark furniture couldn't be used because every time you sat down you'd be eaten alive! Same problem on the porch. MANAGEMENT OR OWNERS must urgently do something against the mosquito problem!!!

Added to that, we were told that we weren't allowed to use the alarm system (it turned out it didnt work), the safe was broken, both are a MUST in Curacao, we didn' t have any hot water the first day, there weren't enough towels, dishes or other tableware. And the funny smell turned out to be two dead lizards in the spare bedroom, one which was half eaten and covered by maggots and the other which was already mummified! The stove didn't work properly and the pans were disgusting and though there was a private pool, staying there after 12pm was unbearable due to there being no parasols to provide shade and you cant move the sunbeds, these are bolted to the deck.

We paid €6'500 rent for a 4 week stay, we didn't even have a toaster or a functioning coffee machine!

The beach is nice, but is FAR too small to be shared by Papagayo, Boca Gentil, Morena, Chogogo and Livingstone together.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asagineechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We booked a Boca Gentil villa in September of 2012 for our January vacation. One week before our trip we were notified that they had double booked and the apartment was no longer available. Instead they put us in a larger unit with a private pool, however it was not directly on the beach, but a 5 min walk away.

The unit did have a private pool, which was gorgeous and comparing to the photos we had seen did seem larger, however it was a 15min walk to the beach - too far for my inlaws to walk, so we had to drive. This unit was also not as kept up as the photos of the unit we booked. The biggest disadvantage was that it was right next to a construction site, which was not noisy, but it stirred up the mosquito's and the house had no screens!! Only wood louver windows which did not keep them out and we got eaten alive!!

My advice is this if you want to book with Boca Gentil: Do not expect to be staying in the unit you booked ( I do think they double booked on purpose) do not expect to be on or right beside the beach (not that it was really too far, but not what we had booked) and BRING MOSQUITO NETTING!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
6.3 km away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
716 reviews
2.7 km away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.4 km away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Willemstad
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
382 reviews
3.2 km away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Morena Resort
Morena Resort
#2 of 99 in Willemstad
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments

Address: Jan Thiel z/n, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Willemstad
Hotel Class:3 star — Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boca Gentil Villas And Apartments
Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments Hotel Willemstad
Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing