We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Marco Hotel and Casino
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Reviewed 18 July 2015

We were greeted and given our tv remote and key card to our room for the 2 nts Dbl rm ($150 USD). Upon entering the bathroom we realized there were no wash clothes. We asked the next morning at the front desk where we were told that was not provided. Thank God we brought our own. We were also told we were not entitled to the (BP) Breakfast Plan which was $10.00 US dollars pp. Later in the day we returned to our room to take a shower (laugh). Well, we had a surprise! We has to call the front desk because hotel information that was given to us was in their native language not English. Needless to say there was hardly any water pressure coming from the shower head, Then was told that "you have to run the water for a few mins before the hot water kick in" (WARM WATER)
We decided to try another hotel and stay only 1 night (which was not a pleasant experience at all)
We decided to give San Marco Hotel another try since other hotels we were less than desireable. We booked for the remaining 4 nights 5 days - $65 Dbl rm with BP included. (We returned to the same room) Next day my daughter did not feel well so she laid in bed. House keeping entered the to the room. All they did was mop the floor (not sweep and the mop), wipe the bathroom sink and bath tub (no scrubbing) no new bath soap or bath mat and left the room. The 2nd day, after 2pm in the day, we asked if our rooms were going to be cleaned.
Needless to say we made the best of it for the duration of our stay. I could tell more, but it would not make a difference. We will not return.

Room Tip: Try a 4 star hotel, you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mildred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2015

I stayed at hotel San Marco for 1 night only in August of last year, and my stay was good overall.

My room was very small, old, and definitely needed some remodeling, but it was very clean, and the sheets looked brand new.

The view from my room wasn't very great as the hotel is located right in the city center, and arriving at night (as I did) can be a bit scary, however according to Google and the locals, the streets surrounding this hotel are fairly safe.

The staff at the front desk spoke perfect english and were all very helpful.

The Wi-Fi was strong, and didn't have a single issue.

I'm happy overall and would recommend any budget traveler to book a room in San Marco.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DiegoAGuzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel is average, you get everything you need; a comfortable bed, cleaning on a daily basis, air conditioning in the room as well as wifi. Unfortunately the breakfast is not included and if you want to buy it here it costs $10 per person, which is very expensive!

The location is without doubt really good and it is close to everything but not a beach... To get to a beach the cheapest way is to go to the bus terminal and go either to West Point or to Mambo beach for about 2 NAF per person.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank Elin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

At the moment, I am staying at San Marco with my spouse, we checked in Tuesday 3rd March, will be here until the 9th March. Checking in was a bit of a mix up, however that was quickly resolved. So far place is great. Spoke to a staff by the name of Liesja, wonderful woman. She gave us a lot of information since we'll be here for such a long time, warm pleasant personality. However the breakfast server....smh. All in all... lovely place.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
4  Thank Shivanand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015 via mobile

An average hotel in ideal location in heart of the city, equipped with friendly and helpful staff, will definitely recommend . comfortable bed, the only con is the safe didn't work. Within walking of the major shopping district and restaurants.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Leon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

We booked a reservation for December 31st and paid 75$ for the night through a booking website.

We arrived around 10pm and there was no room left even if we had a reservation. We were like 3 or 4 people in the same situation.

The lady at the desk told us there were no room left in this hotel like the rest of the island. She looked annoyed like if we were a problem.

She told us that we could take room #412, a room that they were not selling because of the smell. We took it because we had no other place to go!

The room was dirty, smelt like urine, a nightmare!

And to complete everything, bed bugs!

The morning after that at the desk, the manager wasn't there and the 2 guys were not able to give us a refund, they were not even able to call us a taxi.

Wifi was missing in action.

Nothing else to add.



Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2014

We have stay one night at Curacao before our flight to Bonaire. Our room price was 50$, so price was really good. Hotel location is excellent, in middle of the city. Room was ok, clean but little bit worn out. Wifi works well. Staff was little bit grumpy, but overall all was ok. I could stay here again, when I next time go to Bonaire.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VilleVantaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.5 km away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
215 reviews
8.8 km away
Curacao Airport Hotel
Curacao Airport Hotel
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
68 reviews
0.4 km away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#17 of 32 in Willemstad
339 reviews
0.5 km away
E M City Hotel
E M City Hotel
#31 of 32 in Willemstad
148 reviews
6.5 km away
Bayside Boutique Hotel
Bayside Boutique Hotel
#20 of 32 in Willemstad
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marco Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Hotel and Casino

Address: Columbusstraat 7, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $75 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Marco Hotel and Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Marco Hotel has been recently renovated to satisfy our guests that come to experience the beautiful island of Curacao, especially the ones who come to shop or admire the stunning historical buildings located near our hotel in the middle of the city. Our hotel consists of 80 rooms all with private bath, central air-conditioning, cable T.V. with more than 40 channels and FREE wireless Internet in every area of the Hotel.Downtown casino located of the ground floor of the San Marco building has also been remodeled and has more than 200 machines, roulette, poker and black jack tables and with happy hours and prizes given each week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your San Marco Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel Willemstad
San Marco Hotel And Casino Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing