We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
15
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location accommodation condo supermarket beaches curacao
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 21 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2017

I was originally upset with the situation. I booked through hotels.com website and they upgraded me from partial beachview to the full oceanview apartment. However, I made a mistake of not making the website to confirm the upgrade with the hotel, believing that everything is taken care of. It was a romantic gateway for us and I was looking for privacy. Our jaccuzzi bathroom and balcony that we were using all the time, however, partially faced the other buildings, and was not an oceanfront as was expected. Upon arrival, i was first told that the room is "as booked" and the manager insisted we did not pay enough for a different room - I still do not understand why the rate I booked (available to hotels.com members + extra coupon they provided me) is a reason to deny me the room that I have the reservation in writing? After several back and forth with hotels.com, the manager said that there is no room available to move us (I am not sure if it is true, as we did not see many lighted windows or otherwise occupied apartments). Hotels.com offered to move us to a different hotel, but we decided that it would be too cumbersome, and stayed in till the end. This was the first time I experienced such downgrade, and I was originally furious.
However, to be fair, I must admit that our apartment on the second floor, was very comfortable and clean, with plenty of space, 2 separate bathrooms and there was still a nice view from the balcony and one of the bedrooms. Originally, there were some items missing, but the management brought them quickly and seemed to otherwise try to make up for that original disappointment. So, all in all, I liked Palapa, and I would consider coming back there, providing that next time I will make sure that we get the correct room type. Once again, if not for the need for privacy, the apartment we got would have been perfect. The beach is lovely but rocky - suggest to bring swim shoes.

Room tip: if you want privacy, insist on oceanview. Otherwise you will be 30 ft away from another building
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hitulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoOrtizB, Public Relations Manager at Palapa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Hi Hitulu,

Sorry for the inconvenience, as a part of our continuous improvement, we are getting better in order to give you the best service, we hope to see you again.

We are happy that you had a pleasant stay.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Since last August (2016) we have rented an apartment at La Palapa. At the time we were searching for a long term solution (1 year) whilst building our new home.
La Palapa has proven to be a very pleasant place to stay. The apartments are excellent and everything works as expected. The location of the swimming pool together with the beach at less than a minute walk is fantastic. With a fulltime security watch it creates a safe place to stay.
The Palapa management is continuously improving the surroundings and it shows.
We are delighted to stay at our 'temporary' home.

Room tip: No rooms, apartments
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Thank r0nz0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoOrtizB, Public Relations Manager at Palapa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Thank you for your review.
It's a pleasure to have you with us.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2016

Rented through Dushi homes and they were excellent. Meomi was a delight and helped us navigate through Curacao and all the great places to see. The place needed a bit more in the way of bowls etc. as we had to cook daily due to allergies, but overall were very pleased with the place.

Room tip: this is a two bedroom condo .... not a hotel
Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto O, Public Relations Manager at Palapa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

We were happy to have you last year, as a part of our continuous improvement, we are getting better in order to give you the best service, we hope to see you again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2016

Luxury full equipped 2 bedroom condo by the sea with swimming pool
Close to supermarket, beaches, restaurants, gas station
By car a few minutes from the city
Lots to do in the surroundings
Safe neighborhood

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto O, Public Relations Manager at Palapa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Dear Stephany,

We were happy to have you last year, as a part of our continuous improvement, we are getting better in order to give you the best service, we hope to see you again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews