We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
7
20
16
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
20
16
12
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 64 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a place to have dinner. Being the only ones in the restaurants should have been a big sign... The few cocktails were fine so we decided to have dinner.... big mistake ever
The food was flavourless and we waited at least 40 min.
The bill was very expensive and we still do not understand why.
The staff was very nice but the food was worst a canteen level.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Clarisse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

We apologise for the food but wondered whether you had the opportunity to bring this to the attention of staff before you left. In such circumstances we usually do not take payment from our guests and invite them to have another meal of their choice free of charge. We nevertheless thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

This hotel should advertise itself as a motel. Firstly throughout the whole visit of five days we had no AC. Even after the "technicians" fixed it. So we used fans for the entire visit.
The Continental breakfast was very substandard the first day our whole group was there they kept running out of food. And the offerings were not up to par.
The elevator wasn't working the duration of our trip. And we were on the 5th floor, several seniors were in our room and a pregnant woman.
And there were flies, ants and in one room a roach! Dominica was terrific, Garraway Hotel was horrible.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 868charlsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2017

Hello Charlene. We have taken your observations and comments very seriously and as you know we responded earlier to these by email clarifying the reasons for the discomfort you experienced which were not entirely of our own making. As explained, the elevator is serviced by technicians overseas which account for the delays in attending to this problem more speedily. Dominica does not have the requisite expertise to deal with such situations and while we convey the urgency of repairing such situations to the technicians they can only respond at their convenience. However we apologise for the inconvenience.
As far as staff training is concerned, this is an ongoing effort and while not making excuses for staff who are sometimes on a learning curve we do all we can to provide the customer service that they know they must provide. It is a work in progress.
Nonetheless, we have taken your comments in the constructive spirit we hope they have been given and hope that like most of our guests who have complimented us on our service you will be able to visit again in future as we make plans to upgrade our product for enhancing your entire visitor experience to the Garraway Hotel and Dominica as a whole.
Thanks for your patronage and support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2017

did not get much time to sleep or hang in the room but I must say, the room I got #306 was very comfortable and homely. The staff and accommodations are very welcoming. I used the stairs instead of the elevator and I was pleasantly surprised that it was not tiring.

Room tip: The view from my room overlooked the Bay and was a wonderful spot to view sunsets.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownecameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2017

We are so appreciative of your positive comments on the hotel which we will convey to Staff who we encourage and support to provide the best service possible to our guests. We depend on your patronage and we know that with such complimentary remarks they will be even be more greatly motivated to do what they do best which is to ensure that you are so comfortable that you will continue to make the Garraway Hotel your hotel of choice whenever you visit Dominica. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2017 via mobile

A bit pricey but has spacious room, good location. Beware of apartments from end 5 to 1, they are facing the main street and there is a lot of movement from Friday. There are interesting dishes in the restaurant, both for lunch and dinner

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JulioPohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2017

We sincerely appreciate your comments and observations. As far as the movement on Friday evenings is concerned this is due to increased social activity on the weekend over which we have no control but have brought the issue of the noise generated to the attention of the Authorities who we believe are making every effort to address this so that your experience and that other visitors to the island is not compromised. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Garraway hotel when next you visit our beautiful Nature Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2017

I stayed here recently and it seems that all the complaints from previous guests have been addressed. My room had A/C and the included breakfast was satisfying. The hotel overall looks dated but I found it clean.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2017

Thank you for your observations for which we are grateful as we rely on these to improve our service and product as a whole. We hope to upgrade the property which is a work in progress and we trust that this will be forthcoming to enhance your next stay with us. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews