We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality and flexiability of our hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scotts Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oceanview Apartments
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Our family just returned from 12 days in Dominica. We had selected to stay at the Galion-on-Sea, a stand-alone cottage which is managed by Caroline Charles of Oceanview Apartments. When we arrived we found major construction on the new sea wall just in front of the cottage. Caroline suggested that we might perfer to stay at Oceanview, which we did until the weekend when the construction halted. Although we loved the rustic cottage with its patio overlooking the national marine park, we did miss the fresh juices and fresh fruit which Caroline and her staff provided. In both locations we were able to walk to local restaurants in the village of Scotts Head and Soufiere. Everyone we met were friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larragoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Oceanview Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2009

We spent nearly two weeks with Mr. Francis Charles at the lovely Ocean View Apartments in Scott's Head, Dominica. By virtue of its being 1/2-hour by car from Roseau, the capital, Scott's Head is a small, peaceful fishing village located at the end of the Western coast's main road. Further adding to the peace and quiet, the Ocean View is located several hundred feet up the road above the village proper. From this vantage point, we saw sperm whales in the Scott's Head Marine Reserve and observed the daily comings and goings of the local fishing fleet.
We occupied the Southern-most apartment, which is pictured at http://www.avirtualdominica.com/oceanview_apts/pix1.htm . The apartment consists of two bedrooms, a serviceable kitchen, a small indoor sitting area and - perhaps most important to us - a generous outdoor sitting area that was the focal point of gatherings of the Ocean View's guests and staff, presided over by Mr. Francis himself.

During our visit, the Ocean View's guests comprised a mature and international group who enjoyed getting to know Dominica in all the aspects of her natural beauty and cultural heritage. We spent many hours sharing and comparing our almost uniformly rewarding experiences of this island Commonwealth.
Mr. Francis is a "returnee," that is, like many other natives of Dominica he spent a good deal of his working years abroad. But, having grown up in Pointe Michel and served on the local town council, he knows and is known by seemingly everyone. Very generous with both his time and his wisdom, Mr. Francis kindly introduced us to many of the local shopkeepers, tradespeople and restaurateurs. By the end of our all-to-brief visit, we began to feel a little bit like locals ourselves or, at least, like longer-term visitors. Our plans for a return visit are already in the works!

Access to Dominica's many attractions is trouble-free. Scott's Head offers excellent snorkeling at the end of a path from the village to the point which marks the Southwestern edge of the volcanic crater which collapsed to form the bay. A path that begins above the Ocean View takes one to the sulfur springs in Soufriere via historic Gallion. Dive Dominica in Soufriere is just a few minutes by car and perhaps a half hour on foot from the Ocean View.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NekVTster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

hello i just would like to say i enjoyed my holiday at this place. they have no goat there as thats is good.it was the best place i have been on the island and the price was very reasonable.while i was there ther e was a family staying at the same time and they were happy.the family is from france and they supposed to of gone to another part of the island but they enjoyed it so much at oceanview the family refused to move on and stay more time.the internet access was very good and i was able to keep intouch with my family while i was there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EnglandBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

after my second visit to dominica i discovered oceanview.my previous visits i stayed at calibishie lodges which i found very small,unfriendly and expensive.
oceanview was completely different to the above mentioned,the owners were a friendly couple,gave me alot of good advice.the mattresses were very comfortable,i had every electrical appliances that i needed.new fridge,i cooked every day.the garden i was able and allowed to pick and choose my fruit and vegetables. i will for sure to return to oceanview whenever i return to the island.
oops,i forgot to mention there fresh jucies every morning,clean towels and bed change every three days.
SUPERB VACATION.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beccig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

We 3 of us stayed at Oceanview for 4 weeks and it was very nice,we enjoyed the lazy bench overlooking the atlantic ocean,has bar be ques every night,would highly reccommend to all. We are returning to dominica next year and have already booked for 7 weeks at Oceanview.
The owner Frank is a very nice gentleman and very helpful.The gardens are superb lots of fruits to eat also lovely fresh juice offered every morning,wonderful place home from home.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank carcha54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2007

As mentioned before, the only ocean view is from the far corner of the garden (and, I presume, the owners' accommodation). The overall cleanliness was actually quite good, but the bathroom smelled very unpleasant. Some of the crockery and kitchenware was well past its "discard-by" date, a common issue in rental apartments! The owners were pleasant, offering fresh fruit and juice, but overall it's hard to recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
1
Reviewed 7 March 2005

We stay at Oceanview every year and have done for the past 8 yrs,its very nice there,the hospitality shown is wonderful.There's a huge tropical garden.Fresh fruit juices every morning,also fruits in wanted.The kitchens are fully equipped with stainless steel cookwares,great for cooking local fish.At the back of the property there is a 3 tier local lazy bench,where all us guest meet every afternoon for the sunset.Wonderful location,wish we was in a position to buy this property.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotts Head
9.7 km away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
8.3 km away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
39.1 km away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.5 km away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
23.0 km away
Mango Island Lodges Boutique hotel
8.3 km away
Diamond View Cottages
Diamond View Cottages
#1 of 11 in Roseau
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Apartments

Address: Scott's Head Beach, Scotts Head, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Mark Parish > Scotts Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Scotts Head
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanview Apartments is located at the southernmost tip of Dominica, just above the quaint fishing village of Scott's Head - one of the most photographed and scenic areas of the Nature Island. We have three self-contained apartments set in a private and secure tropical garden. Our cliffside lookout provides a spectacular view of the sea and our nightly tradition is to gather to toast the setting of the sun. Apartment 1 is a two bedroom studio. Apartments 2 and 3 each have a queen bed +day bed. All of our apartments are equipped with television, fans (no AC), kitchenettes - stove, fridge, kettle, coffee maker, cutlery and dishes. We have free WiFi in the common area. We are perfectly situated for the hiking and diving enthusiast. The first leg of the Waitukubuli National Trail passes right in front of our gate. The Nature Island Dive Center is just 10 minutes away in neighboring Soufriere. Diving in the Scotts Head Marine Reserve has been listed as ONE OF THE TOP 10 DIVE SITES IN THE WORLD! Oceanview Apartments is the perfect accommodation for budget travelers who seek out an authentic Caribbean experience and enjoy immersing themselves in local culture. We have secure parking for guests with rental cars. However many of our guests prefer to explore the island's many attractions using the inexpensive bus system - a three minute walk takes you to the bus stop in Scotts Head. Buses/taxis can also take you to and from the airport in Marigot. We can also arrange dive bookings, hiking guides and full-island tours. We look forward to meeting you on your next trip to Dominica! Your hosts, Francis and Caroline Charles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceanview Apartments Dominica/Scotts Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing