We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some Issues With the Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some Issues With the Staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Well, i really like the hotel facilities specially the one i had, a very nice one in the premiun part of the hotel, but i really had a bad time every i needed something because the staff doesnt speak english at all.


Alan Campbell

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    339
    144
    85
    71
See reviews for
234
237
132
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

It is a very cute and friendly at the same time is a comfortable hotel with nice rooms, quiet place for families to enjoy, I love your swimming pool is very nice, the hotel facilities are very nice and service is very good , its employees offer an excellent service to its guests...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is my third stay at this hotel and everytime it has been a wonderful experience. The bedroom was nicely decorated and very clean. If you're looking for a restful stay, this is the place to go, the bed is very comfortable, the sheets were clean and there's hardly any noise around, which is always a good thing. The staff was always very professional and knowledgeable. They were very helpful when I asked for transportation options. The food at the restaurant was very good and of high quality. I specially liked going to the piano bar after dinner, the atmosphere is very welcoming. I highly recommend Barcelo Santo Domingo if your looking for a city hotel in the capital.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordentown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

its a wonderfull hotel, for the whole famly. i expend there a week and it was a great expirience. so don miss the opportunity to visit. employers r wonderful. i loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed here for a night, and were mostly happy with the hotel. We had a superior king room, which was clean and had all those small details which make a highly rated hotel. Some aspects were lacking- one of our sheets had a worn spot due to old age, the bathroom did not have any small hand towels and the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor due to a bad caulking job. (The shower WAS very awesome tho- a glass square box room with two options of shower heads) The pool area was pretty and comfortable, but you aren't allowed to take the pool towel back to your room, so you have to walk back in a wet bathing suit, which was a bit awkward and a mild inconvenience. Overall though, this hotel was clean and pretty and comfortable, and we had gotten a 60% discount from orbitz, so hey :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabrera, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

On our frequent trips to Santo Domingo this is one of the hotels we like to stay at. The rooms are clean and updated, the multilingual staff is as professional as we've seen at any hotel in the country. And the location is hard to beat, as it is very close to many restaurants and shopping malls. If you have rented a vehicle it is easy to get to from the airport.

A tip on taking a cab in the D.R.: HAGGLE! Cabbies here will often quote you a high rate, or give you no rate at all until you arrive. They'll often tell you, "Don't worry, I'll take good care of you with the price", and you are then certain to get sticker shock! Insist on knowing the rate before you take off, and then work down the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivininDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Not sure of where to stay when going to the Dominican Republic for the first time. I highly recommend Barcelo in Santo Domingo. This place is very clean, the staff is very friendly, courteous, and helpful. The location puts right into the heartbeat of the city, yet it's safe and close to shopping and good eats. The taxi ride from the airport is about 40USD (1500RD) and that is fair. The hotel has 24-hour taxi service that will take you to anywhere you want to go. The service was excellent and this hotel is worth every cent.

Room Tip: Free internet with premium rooms only; otherwise 10usd/day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Easy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
2.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
1.8 km away
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
3.1 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
#18 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
3.2 km away
BQ Santo Domingo by BQ Hotels
BQ Santo Domingo by BQ Hotels
#21 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Santo Domingo

Property: Barcelo Santo Domingo
Address: Avda. Maximo Gomez 53 | esq Avda. 27 Febrero, Santo Domingo 10203, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Lina)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#13 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Barcelo, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Barcelo Hotel Lina
Hotel Lina Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing