We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in Colonial Santo Domingo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oasis in Colonial Santo Domingo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Fly your fingers over the keyboard to make a reservation at this gem of a hotel in the capital of the DR. Steps away from 15th and 16th century history in the colonial section of the capital lies a hotel that will charm and soothe you with tremendous service, immaculate rooms and high-end toiletries and a complimentary breakfast. When you're done touring for the day, you can relax poolside with drinks and bar snacks worthy of Diego Columbus.
The staff is trained in many languages and European attention to detail is matched by Dominican warmth and generosity of spirit. We did not get a chance to try the spa or gym, but just walking from our room to the lobby or the pool was a tonic for soul.
Down comforters were warm for us, but the linens were of high quality. smoke alarm light was bright at night.

Room Tip: Loved being on the restaurant level, 3020's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamasanbkny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your great words about the Hostal Nicolás de Ovando, is a honor for us receive good comments from our guests. We invite you to visit us again, we will ensure that you receive the same excellent services and quality.

See you soon,

Sicerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    227
    48
    25
    10
See reviews for
117
304
60
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

An oasis of calm in a busy noisy city.
the front office staff and concierge were kind, and efficient.
Only problem in the hotel was the erratic plumbing in the shower. The rest was excellent.
Outside of the hotel, guests should take great care for young pickpockets. The hotel should warn every guest.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know your comment about your stay at the Hostal Nicolás de Ovando, is always a pleasure receive positive words. About the erratic plumbing in the shower you made reference, I going to talk with the maintenance manager in order to check and correct it.

Wishing you a great year 2012 and wating that you visit us soon,

sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

first came to this hotel 30 years ago while here as a US Peace Corps Vol.
highest class hotel in the city and well situated for walking and dinner
went to el sarten for dancing and plaza espana for dinners
great concierges in carmen and luis

Room Tip: make sure your room is not on street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Is a pleasure for us receive positive comments about our guests, thank you for taking the time to express your opinion about us.
The concierges will receive this positive feedback always we work for our guests feel happy.

Hoping that your next visit be as soon as possible,

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

After carefully reading other reviews I had some minor concerns. They were unwarranted. I have never received better service anywhere in RD. My room on the first floor was clean, modern and spacious without relying on technological gadgets that can take hours to fully understand. The free pool table and equipment was top notch. They even had 2 part cues!!! There is no better location from which to begin your exploration of the Colonial Zone. While I attempted to practice my Spanish, the staff was equally fluent in English. I hope that this review does not cause the price to go up before I return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodjack45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Is a pleasure for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Your words make us feel very good.

We are at your disposal for help you to practice the spanish language in your next visit to the hotel, always we are available for everything our guests need.

Will be sure we won't go up the prices for that, we wish you come back againg, as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was here for 3 nights in December 2011. What a great place! Quiet, beautiful and steeped in history in the hotel and outside nearby in the zona colonial. There is not a better local in the city in my humble opinion.

This place has class and elegance that is sometimes hard to find in the DR and yet is not stuff and the staff are friendly. This is a quiet hotel and while they can accommodate lots of requests its not the place for young kids or partying. If you there to see some history, have some great food and relax it would be tough to find a better place. It's not near a beach and the pool is tranquil so if you're looking for a resort setting you won't get it here. But it makes up for it in history and ambiance. It feels like you're in 16th century Spain at times. It's a bit pricey on food and drink but I'd say it's worth it and it's within five minute walk of 25-50 other restaurants for variety and better pricing.

Very safe setting with all the amenities. My bed was great and the bathroom was excellent. My wife and I, and my parents thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to recommend it for the history traveler, romantic especially but also business and relax type of travel. WELL DONE!! Hasta pronto si El Senoir quiere.

Room Tip: I would chose a room on the higher floors above ground due to lighting. We toured the lower rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. We are exited by the great words you wrote about the hotel.

the M of MGallery our brand means Memorable and that is just what your words express for our brand, a guest who had a memorable stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando.That is we want to get with each one our guest.

Also thank you for your comment about room tip, it allows we can continue improve our services every day.

Waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Property: Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Address: Calle Las Damas, Santo Domingo 10100, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the colonial quarter of Santo Domingo, set among remarkable buildings, stands the Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando hotel, the former home of the Governor of the same name, a contemporary of Christopher Colombus. Built on the first paved street of the New World, where beautiful Spanish ladies strolled to display their rich costumes, the hotel's guests will enjoy an outstanding stay in a unique place where the stones, patios and fountains will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Nicolas De Ovando-Mgallery Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing