We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful respite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful respite”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This hotel was a great respite after some hard travel in the country's interior (not where the tourists go). The service is absolutely top-notch, from the front desk to the restaurant to housekeeping. All appliances and plumbing, including the wi-fi and cabled broadband, worked perfectly. I had two breakfasts and a dinner at the hotel and food was good. The only thing I noted was that the hot items at breakfast weren't kept hot enough in the chafing dishes. Note that I do speak Spanish fluently so I do not even know if the staff would be able to work well with someone who had no Spanish. However this hotel gives a special rate for US government employees so there were a lot of US citizens staying here.

Room Tip: Some first floor rooms are intermingled with small meeting suites. Can be noisy when they set up ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phxchristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    154
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
81
47
42
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington D.C.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Am writing this review from this hotel. Santo Domingo is a busy, fairly dirty, and very urban environment. This hotel is an oasis, as it is extremely clean and efficient. Excellent service and the people are very nice throughout. Rooms are large and very recently renovated, with very clean bathrooms and new flat screen televisions. Also, internet is free and fast. Nice gym and nice pool too. Food is fine. Will stay here again happily and is as nice or nicer than any Marriott in the US.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doberman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I travel between 3 to 6 times a year to Santo Domingo for business since 2006. Most of the times I've stayed in this Courtyard and it is a very comfortable hotel with great service.

At the lobby the experience is very nice, personel is very kind and polite, always ask you about how was your flight, no matter if you get there early or late at night. You'll find yourself carrying your on luggage to the room but hey, is not a 5 star hotel, so no problem for me.

Rooms are very comfortable (bed and pillows) just like a regular Marriott. The service is great, people on the restaurant always smile when they talk to you and in breakfast time, you may find yourself hearing the nice voice of one of the chefs, singing some "merengue" music on the kitchen.

Location of the hotel is not that good, if you go out to work let's say at 8:00AM, you'll get inmediately to a traffic jam.

Also, the air conditioning within the room is kind of noisy, each room has its own unit and its a floor type unit (is not centralized) so you my guess that makes the common sound that those types do.

Everything else is great, the price is right, the food's great even that the menu is not that extense, they have a barbecue night on Wednesdays also.

Hope this helps when you make your choice wether or not to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlejandroValerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabarete
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

After staying in a couple not so nice places, the Mariott was a pleasant surprise.

This is what you would expect in the US. Great service, fast and happy. Nice big rooms, with everything working well. Great location, near the US embassy and lots of restaurants within walking distance.

The pool is even fantastic, with almost no one using it.

The breakfast is really good as well

Thank you Mariott!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CabareterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed at the Marriot Courtyard Santo iDomingo on two separate occasions at the end of April and beginning of May. we love this hotel and will make it our second home.

Location: a two minute walk to the US embassy (although it is being re-located to a new dig some time in the future), a McDonald's and colmado (corner or convenience store). Within a five minute walk you can get to a Nacional supermarket, Pizza Hut, Pizzarella, Baskin Robbins, and a Metro subway station (Dr. Joaquin Balaguer).

Staff: excellent service by everyone. My favourite was Celso at the Reception. He welcomed me back by saying: "welcome home" when we checked on our second trip ... it was so true, Celso! This will be our second home from now on!

Facilities: The small swimming pool was sufficient to cool off in a hot day. We had a nice time in the very quiet pool area. Our favourite part was the laundry room. I hope it will stay in the future. It is an excellent feature for a young family or long stay. I have met a oupke of long-time customers. They all value the priviledge of the laundry room. There is an exercise room. It is well equiped, even with towels and water!

Restaurant: we opted for the "breakfast" feature, which is highly recommended. It provides extremely good value. Dear Management, please don't up the price because of this comment. Your restaurant staff is excellent, food was supurb, and the price was right.

Security: It was excellent. We got a loan SUV from our relatives, it was never an issue. We left our laptop on the desk all the time.

Misc: The rooms are clean and the air-con was more than sufficient. The wi-fi was always live, it was easy to use.

We recommend it with two thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babachico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Stayed 10 days with spouse. Room was excellent; spacious, quiet, well maintained, conservatively decorated but well appointed with spiffy (free) Wi-Fi. While folks have complained about road noise, we enjoyed a calm, soothing environ. True, the hotel is situated on one of the busiest streets in the city, the trick to avoid the car-honking, et al is to pay the extra and select what is termed a 'City View' room and this is how you do it: As you enter the main gate you'll see a property demarcation wall ahead. Actually, the property (and rooms) extends beyond this wall. That is where the quiet rooms are located on the 5th floor - BEYOND that wall. Enough said.

Airport to hotel is a standard $40 USD cab charge, negotiable down to $35 USD.
Distance to colonial zone is estimated at 2 miles and can be walked. Go downhill a couple of blocks and take street across from McDonalds - straight into the Zone. George Washington Street is approx. one mile (straight, downhill out of Marriott gate - right) and is a pleasant walk along the Caribean Sea. Take a left on GW St. to go past Casinos and Night Clubs.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

- Laundry service: broke a sleeve from a dress shirt, wouldn't pay back
- Room service: Slow, expensive, limited menu and poor quality food
- Weekends you'll see more hookers in the elevators than hotel guests

Stayed here only because it was payed by client and refused to change location because of contract arrangements with hotel. Can only speak well for the front counter staff. If you can, stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilverOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
1.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 76 in Santo Domingo
897 reviews
3.2 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
1.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
1.1 km away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 76 in Santo Domingo
389 reviews
2.8 km away
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 76 in Santo Domingo
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Santo Domingo

Property: Courtyard Santo Domingo
Address: 50A Maximo Gomez Avenue, Santo Domingo 10405, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Gazcue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#1 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic hotel is located in the heart of the city's cultural district and offers comfortable accommodations and complete services for business and leisure travelers alike. Among the most preferred Santo Domingo hotels, the Courtyard is within walking distance to the National Theater and Palacio Bellas Artes Theater. Our Courtyard hotel offers easy access to Santo Domingo's Colonial zone attractions, the main business district and government facilities. Guests can be assured of a relaxing and productive stay with our amazing Marriott bedding and free high-speed Internet access. Enjoy the convenience of our on-site Centro Restaurant and The Market Convenience store, or relax and unwind at our outdoor swimming pool and fitness center. We also offer two meeting rooms with flexible space for events and business meetings in Santo Domingo. Visit the Courtyard Santo Domingo hotel today and discover what refreshing service really means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing