We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OUTSTANDING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown
1 review
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The one thing that made THIS hotel stand above the rest was the stellar, happy, helpful staff- no matter what shift! The hotel was clean, nice, spacious, andhad plenty of amenities, but, the staff truly made it enjoyable!

Alicia Maceo went above and beyond as the staff person of choice! If she is there- guaranteed perfect!

Room Tip: From whati could tell, they were all nice- the beach side had the best view, though (obvioulsy?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    143
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
43
43
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I travel to Santo Domingo to visit her family every two years. Our children are now 8 and 6 and they love this hotel, as much as we do. From soup to nuts, they have this place running so well that I would strongly encourage you to use this hotel whether you are in town for business or pleasure. This staff at the front desk are very kind and welcoming. They speak Spanish and English (they probably speak other languages also.) They are extremely accommodating also. They have 4 computers with internet access, since the hotel is designed for the business man/woman. They also provided us with a password to access free wi-fi through our own laptop in our room. That was very convenient.

We did not spend much time in the hotel, since we were there to visit family. However we did have breakfast at the hotel restaurant on some mornings. They charge $12 US per person. In addition to that, they add ITBIS, which to my understanding is the charge for using our U.S.credit card outside the United States. If I could do it all over again, I would cash in a couple hundred bucks into pesos and pay for everything with cash (effectivo). This way you save on paying that extra ITBIS cost. Then they add a 10% service charge to the bill. That is propina (gratuities). I also understand that that 10% gets distributed amongst all of the staff at the end of each month. We usually tipped an additional 10% on top of that since the wait staff were so nice and attentive.

Pool: Since this hotel is geared for business, we basically had the pool to ourselves for the majority of our stay. The kids loved it. It is nothing fancy, but the water was cool and comfortable. My wife (with the Dominican skin) was able to lay out, while I (with the Irish skin) was able to hide in the shade. The pool was small enough for us to be able to keep our eyes on the kids too. They both know how to swim, however, the pool is shallow enough for both kids (6 and 8 yrs old) to stand, from the middle to one end. The other end is approx. 5 feet deep.

Room: With the free wi-fi, flat screen tv and ICED-COLD room temperature (our preference), the room was nothing short of amazing. The cleaning service cleaned the room rather quickly and made sure not to touch our belongings. They were very nice and we left 100 pesos on the table with a note simply saying, "Gracias!" That is the equivalent to approx. $2.50 US dollars. I would suggest bringing singles from the US because you end up tipping for everything over there. The room also has a small refrigerator in it.

Tips: I would suggest taking a stroll (2-3 blocks towards the ocean) to Nacional, the local supermarker. I bought beer there, Presidente. I stocked the fridge at the hotel so that I could have one or two by the pool during mid-day. The hotel charges 130 pesos for a beer when I bought a six-pack for 260 at the supermarket. We also bought some snacks there.

Security: Like I stated, this is our 4th time here. The first time our children were 2 and 2 months old, and we felt so safe here that this is the only place we stay. It is in the center of the capital and there are many places to eat within walking distance.

Parking: We rented a car and drove around the entire week. They have a security guard at the entrance 24 hrs. Therefore, don't worry about the car, this place has great security.

Overall: We love this hotel. Book early so you can get the best price. Good Luck and Enjoy!

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer views. Regardless, all of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigshuda17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Each visit to the Dominican Republic we stayed at the Jaragua Renissance hotel (needs major renovation - the decor is outdated, the rooms are not inviting and the food is overpriced)

Three weeks ago we stayed at the Courtyard Marriott and it was refreshing to enter a clean, professional, modern hotel. The front desk employees speak English fluently and are extremely hospitable. The room was spacious and modern. We received two days of free WIFI in our room. The hotel is located two minutes walking distance to a major supermarket,a 24 hr pharmacy and my favorite restaurast Pizzarelli (among others). Overall, I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heredia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Ive been in santo domingo many times. I have always stayed at the Jaragua but this time i tried the courtyard. Im not going back to Jaragua any more. The courtyard is a typical business type hotel. The street in front is very busy but certainly the hotel is better. Better breakfast, rooms and overall service. I will keep using the courtyard moving forward.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tico-Herediano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabrera, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our family lives on the north shore of the Dominican Republic and travel to Santo Domingo frequently. When staying for several nights we have often stayed at the Courtyard and have always had an excellent experience. It is just what you would expect from a Courtyard in the U.S. The location is excellent, as it is close to several good malls (Blue Mall, Acropolis, etc), and a wide array of restaurants, including familiar chains such as Chili's, Fridays, Outback Steakhouse, Krispy Kreme, and several fast food places.

If you get it at a good price, book it with confidence.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivininDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Great familiy hotel. Very comfortable, well located. Beds ok but the only thing not absolutely first class but acceptable. We stayed twice and would stay again. Congrats to a well trained attentive and super helpful staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViajeroGringo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I really enjoyed the Marriott in terms of a nice room and amenities that I am used to in order to conduct and get business done when on the road (desk, internet connection, good room service, etc.). The restaurant in the hotel had very good food and a great breakfast buffet. The service was very good and the personnel at the front desk were very cordial and helpful. Everyone speaks English and were also knowledgeable about the area.

I was disappointed with the fitness center. Some of the tv's on the cardio equipment doesn't work (and I believe that it should - it looked like it's been that way for some time). Also, the website says they have 'free weights' (plural) and well, they only have one 12kg dumbbell - so, I guess they have a 'free weight' - to be more accurate :). If your not into working out, then it's not a big deal. If you are and you appreciate free weights in a fitness center - be prepared to do a lot of reps/sets. There is a multi-station weight machine that will adequately work you out, so all is not lost. And, it worked fine.

So, nice place to stay (didn't venture out in the neighborhood since I've never been there before, so I can't comment on what is in walking distance) if it's convenient to where you need to be. Did go to the 'old town' (Zona Colonial) and would highly recommend it. Some nice restaurants and it's a nice place to walk about and sight see.

Room Tip: I had a room that looked out over the parking lot and in the distance was the ocean, so that is a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pellaz-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
1.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
3.1 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
#1 of 79 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.1 km away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#6 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Santo Domingo

Property: Courtyard Santo Domingo
Address: 50A Maximo Gomez Avenue, Santo Domingo 10405, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Gazcue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#1 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic hotel is located in the heart of the city's cultural district and offers comfortable accommodations and complete services for business and leisure travelers alike. Among the most preferred Santo Domingo hotels, the Courtyard is within walking distance to the National Theater and Palacio Bellas Artes Theater. Our Courtyard hotel offers easy access to Santo Domingo's Colonial zone attractions, the main business district and government facilities. Guests can be assured of a relaxing and productive stay with our amazing Marriott bedding and free high-speed Internet access. Enjoy the convenience of our on-site Centro Restaurant and The Market Convenience store, or relax and unwind at our outdoor swimming pool and fitness center. We also offer two meeting rooms with flexible space for events and business meetings in Santo Domingo. Visit the Courtyard Santo Domingo hotel today and discover what refreshing service really means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing