We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Depressing...”
Reviewed 12 February 2011

So depressing I won't elborate much.... This hotel is in the middle of nowhere, the staff is ok, nothing outstanding, internet is slow and the rooms are ...blah. Loud A/C unit, worst bed I've slept (or rather not) lately, horrible bedding/ absence of duvet / comforter and bedskirt...lumpy pillows. Plain ugly bed. Ancient TV and ugly fridge and microwave. Depressing. Pictures attached....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crewtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OG_HCRT, Manager at Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear Guest:
We appreciate very much the time you have taken in order to bring to our attention all your positive comments regarding your stay at our property. Appropiate letting you know , for this year, We are working on a new bedding change for all our rooms so to create a more comfortable experience for all our visitors. As for our internet service, it will be very helpful letting us know which room were you in, to verify the signal strength in that particular area, at this moment We offer one of the fastest wireless internet services in the city.
Your positive comments help us improve our daily operation, and We appreciate them very much.
Once again, we thank for sending us your valuable feedback and hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Looking forward to seeing you very soon,

Sincerely,

Odalis Guzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    80
    37
    8
    18
See reviews for
35
31
20
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I have been going to the Quality Hotel for years and I have to say the staff is so much better than it was. I met some great, very personable guys at the front desk.

The people in the restaurant know your name after your first day and use it often.

The food in the restaurant is so much better than it was a few years ago. They are consistently good. The grouper with garlic sauce is my favorite--I ate it 3 of the 5 nights I was there. The buffet is hit or miss, but the salad bar is always good.

Room service is great and a good alternative if you arrive before the restaurant opens, but are still hungry.

They have a "spa" in one of the back buildings. I commend them for trying, but my two-hour massage was 1 hour and 40 minutes and cost more than the US$100 because I paid at the hotel using a credit card and they take a 15% convenience fee. I wouldn't recommend the spa until they get a better system and.or a better masseuse.

The rooms are the same as ever. They are a little musty because of the humidity. There is no way to open a window. I spent most of my time outside.

The pool area is nice and a great place to relax after work.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilwaukeeCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OG_HCRT, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
We thank you for preferring our Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo; We appreciate very much the time you have taken in order to bring to our attention all your positives comments regarding our staff and the importance of recognize you as a repetitive guest of our hotel, We value your comments in reference of the food quality and the surroundings of our pool. We hope to be able to accommodate you once again in a nearing future and surpass your service expectations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I have been traveling to this hotel for the past four years, it changes often never consistent in the "QUALITY"!

They have let go or lost most of the best staff, they will not upgarde or comp anything ever! Did I mention I stay at this hotel alot as well as my customers and colleauges.

Overall the staff is friendly but good god they are most of the times like watching paint dry very very slow. Although most of them know me by name and are quite fast for me at times.

I think its time for them to do a little updating with bedding and electronics as well.

Overall the Hotel is quite clean always and the houskeeping staff is outstanding and always cleaning something.

Overall the newest front desk staff is growing on me but still just a bit non responsive allthough I may be a little damanding for speed at times:)

So overall its a clean place to spend a few nights for buisness but no place for a family vacation.

The #1 reason Why I stay there is because its close to the park were I work and close to the airport.

I would recommend to stay for buisness or a cancled or missed flight.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SENORDRUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OG_HCRT, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
It was great of you to point out the positives you experienced with our great location and the clean of our property.

Regarding your comment about our staff we would like to assure you that corrective measures and preventive have been taken, in order to avoid this regrettable action to take place and create a negative perception and possible dissatisfaction to our customers.

We have taken your comments very seriously and as a leader hotel in the hospitality industry, we are constantly reviewing such important issues in order to avoid having a dissatisfied guest and that way exceed our customer expectations.

We certainly would love to have the opportunity to serve you again, so please feel free to contact us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, nyc
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Our flight was cancelled and we needed a last minute place to stay. Problem was when we called they said they were all booked. But when we checked online booking sites there was still availability. We booked online and had to wait for 2 hrs for the reservation to go through.

We ate in their mediocre restaurant but were surprised overall at the cleanliness and renovation of public spaces. Maybe that's why we were disappointed in the room which seemed a little dark, with outdrew flowered comforter covers and older carpeting. We booked a king but got a room with two double beds. The front desk was very overwhelmed and disorganized so we didn't want to bother them. They Also forgot our wakeup call but no surprise since they clearly were not equipped to handle the flood of guests from all the flight cancellations.

Overall your best bet if you just need a hotel near the airport though. And as far as airport hotels go, it's not too shabby.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dailln4n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdiago, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
Dear Miss dailln4n4:


First of all, I would like to thank you for preferring our Quality Real Hotel Santo Domingo.

At Quality Real Santo Domingo, we appreciate very much the time you have taken in order to bring to our attention all your positive comments regarding your stay at our property, as listening to our customers is the main tool to improve every little detail in our daily operation, so that we constantly improve it to achieve a memorable and durable experience in every and unique customer that visit us in our hotel.

Regarding your comment during your stay , I should apologizes, it was due to the large amount of guests we receive that day in the hotel due to a canceled flight at the airport.

We have taken your comments very seriously and as a leader hotel in the hospitality industry, we are constantly reviewing such important issues in order to avoid having a dissatisfied guest and that way exceed our customer expectations.

Once again, we thank for sending us your valuable feedback and hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Looking forward to seeing you very soon,

Sincerely,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

Quality Hotel Santo Domingo is a very stylish hotel, surprisingly only 2 stars rated and cost less than 85$ a night , well...at list that's what we paid early this year through Easy Click web site. We were quite surprised with the high standard offered and the three of us-my husband, my young child and I had a great time staying there.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OG_HCRT, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you so much! We are so pleased that enjoyed your stay with us here at the Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo.

We are a 3 star hotel, and we are committed to providing all our guest with the highest level of customer satisfaction possible.

Thank you for writing, we hope you travel Santo Domingo again and be sure to let us know when you"re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Others of our group have stayed here before, and felt it was adequate and convenient. This time, however, we refused to stay, and chose to drive on. The reception clerk refused to honor the usual corporate rate, and quoted a price almost double what was paid every other time. Also, he insisted we book double the number of rooms, saying only 2 people per room.(although there are 2 queen beds) Family has always stayed together before, with a head rate of an extra $10 for the extra persons. Pay double a night than what was paid for the 5 star resort just left in Punta Cana for an airport budget chain hotel? Ridiculous. This really felt like a money grab, foolish for a hotel with an empty parking lot. People in this group stay in Santo Domingo multiple times a year, but it will never again be at this hotel. And, as was communicated to the staff, this info will be passed on through our community.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevotedMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OG_HCRT, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your review.

We apologize for the negative experience you had in the hotel. Not acceptable in any way at all.
I would like to assure you that all matters raised are being dealt with to ensure that this kind of service is never repeated.

We hope to see you and your group back in the near future and I would ask that you contact me directly when you decide to stay again so that I can personally take care of your reservation.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Thew location is 5 minutes from the airport, 10 min fron Boca Chica and 25 min from Santo Domingo. The hotel is a clone of the Quality Inn and Suites in the U.S. the restraunt located at the hotel is OK, not great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericmetzger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OG_HCRT, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your review.

We are sorry that the area did not meet your expectations. how ever I should let you know that
We are Located across from Las Americas Duty Free Business Park and next to the Institute of Technology of Santo Domingo, we are the perfect location for business and leisure travelers. The hotel provides easy access to the famous Boca Chica beach, only six miles away. The colonial zone in Santo Domingo is just 14 miles away. Many baseball academies of major league baseball teams are just a few miles away

We hope that you will visit us again and please do contact me at that time. We appreciate your kind words and feedback.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo
NEPTUNO'S REFUGIO
#8 of 19 in Boca Chica
54 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 78 in Santo Domingo
793 reviews
Hotel Napolitano
#30 of 78 in Santo Domingo
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acuarium Resort Hotel
#49 of 78 in Santo Domingo
122 reviews
Gazcue
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Courtyard Santo Domingo
#6 of 78 in Santo Domingo
502 reviews
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
#18 of 78 in Santo Domingo
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo

Property: Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo
Address: KM 22 Autopista Las Americas | 5 mins away from Las Americas International Airport, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo is the only internationally branded hotel located close to Las Americas International Airport. This hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers that have an early departure or a late arrival flight. The hotel is right across Las Americas Duty Free Business Park and next to the Institute of Technology of Santo Domingo. Boca Chica beach is only six miles away and Santo Domingo's Colonial zone is 14 miles away. Most major league baseball academies are close by. Complimentary breakfast buffet starts at 5:00 a.m. at Los Balcones, the hotel's onsite restaurant, which also serves lunch and dinner. The hotel's sports bar Arrecife, is the perfect place to enjoy cocktails and casual food. 24-hour room service is also available. All guestrooms include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms include refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking rooms are also available. Guests can exercise in our fitness center or enjoy our outdoor pool surrounded by tropical gardens. The next time your travel brings you to the Dominican Republic, stay with us, you will appreciate our ideal location, multilingual staff and affordable rates. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Santo Domingo
Quality Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing