We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Cool place to stay in the Center of the Zonal Colonial” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dona Elvira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dona Elvira
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
East Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool place to stay in the Center of the Zonal Colonial”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

This lovely little "Bed & Breakfast" or Hotel is located right in the Center of the Zonal Colonial. All the sights in the Zonal Colonial are easily accesible on foot.

I arrived on Dec. 25th and was greeted by the Haitian weekend manager, who fortunately also spoke French as my Spanish is very limited. I booked the Hotel Room online and had to only procure a printed invoice as proof (no ID was checked!)

The Hotel is housed in a 500 year old building and has a small Pool surrounded by the hotel rooms. There is also a a roofdeck with a Jacuzzi. It is very beautiful but impossible to have a conversation at night in the courtyard without waking everyone up. It seemed to have been renovated 10 years ago and might be due to for a touchup. Breakfast was rustic but good, fruits, toast, scrambled eggs with ham and good Dominican Coffee.

Internet was FREE WIFI and TV had international channels. The only major downside was no hot water on the first day there. Wakes you right up.

All in all, pretty original place to stay in the Center of the Zonal Colonial.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krautdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    50
    23
    14
    17
See reviews for
27
42
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sosua, Dominican Republic
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Wonderful little hotel situated in a great location in the Zona Colonial. Our room was a step back in time with modern amenities.Open beamed ceilings, exposed stone walls and ancient double doors leading to an outdoor shower area. The staff was very gracious and recommended great restaurants with in walking distance. This hotel was pet friendly which was important to us since we were travelling with our Chihuahua. I would recommend Room #11.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musichound22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

Beautiful building in the colonial style, and I think it probably was nice a few years ago after remodeling. That would be fine, except for a litany of negatives.
-- Had to haggle about the price, after agreeing on one, they upped the price by 30 dollars.
-- Air conditioner was BROKEN. They told me that they would fix it, but I arrived that evening and it was still broken. Due the the stifling heat in the loft style room, I decided to sleep on the sofa but it was occupied by staff. Slept out the morning on a wooden lounge chair. No one even asked why -- and, in the aforementioned price haggling, the "encargado" acted like it was preposterous for me to expect a discount.
-- More staff than guests. And at night, this is a little wierd -- it is the desk guy and his buddies chilling in the hotel. Not professional -- I have stayed in youth hostels and love an open environment, but this was not inviting to me as a guest.
-- Jacuzzi BROKEN
-- TV BROKEN
-- I showed up with a female friend in tow. We were sitting by the pool eating and the night guy called me over and told me that having a girl in my room is an additional charge. She said it made her feel like a woman of the streets.
-- The people are ok, and maybe my expectations were high, because I have traveled a lot in Latin America and had a lot of good experiences. This was not one of them. In fact, it was pretty rotten.
-- Obviously I am not the only to feel this way -- two groups with reservations came, saw the place, then left. I wish I had.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perdidoenespacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santo Domingo hotels

Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

The staff was very helpful, polite and friendly. They were very patient with our minimal knowledge of Spanish and went above and beyond to help answer all of our questions.

The location was fabulous - right in the heart of the Zona Colonial. The interior pool was truly an oasis in an urban environment! Normally we don't spend a lot of time in the hotel when we are on vacation, but this time we looked forward to afternoon stops at the hotel for a quick dip in the pool or simply to regroup. It's convenient location to many historic spots made this possible. The hotel felt like it was part of the overall experience of being in the Zona Colonial and I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

Upon my arrival at Dona Elvira, in Dominican Republic, I felt as if I had entered a hotel in Port-au-Prince, that I had visited 2 years prior. The front desk staff was Haitian and the lively music playing in the background was Compas, not Merengue. The next moring while having breakfast, my wife decided to ask the friendly cooks a bit about Dominican cuisine and history, however the cooking staff was also Haitian. Our friend who is an art teacher, also noted that most of the paintings on the walls didn't have Dominican themes to them, but appeared Haitian.
The rooms were small but cozy. The hotel's architecture is traditional and was certainly indicative of Santo Domingo's history, which made up for any other sense lacking a Dominican ambiance.
If you have traveled to Santo Domingo before and are familiar with the local culture than Dona Elvira may be good for you. However, if it is your first visit to Dominican Rep., as it was for us, and would like to get a full sense of the culture than I would recommend another venue.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DetailedSurroundings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

A great little hotel. Quiet, clean, but the rooms are rather small and for 110$US a night, I thought is was slightly overpriced. Still, very nice hotel, good breakfast, clean pool and very centrally located.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

This is a fantastic place to stay in - beautiful, safe and clean. I had originally booked the room with the steep staircase but after I told them that I am pregnant and the stairs are too steep, they upgraded me to a different room (without an extra charge). Everyone has been great and helpful. Its almost like a home away from home. Breakfast is plentiful and they are happy to get you more food if you request it. Highly recommend this place - its great!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginieBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Hotel Villa Colonial
#16 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#38 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#10 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#23 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Elvira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Elvira

Property: Hotel Dona Elvira
Address: 207 Padre Billini | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Dona Elvira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large lobby and spacious dining rooms await visitors, crowned by 20 feet high ceilings featuring original mahogany beans encased in massive colonial walls. Cool off from shopping and musueum jaunts with a relaxing dip in the pool and jacuzzi. Drink a cocktail in the private garden patio under a century old mango tree. Fifteen rooms and suites equipped with the latest amenities welcome the modern traveler, on business or leisure. Walking distance around Hotel Dona Elvira, discover the delightful historical ambiance and stately beauty of the Zona Colonial of Santo Domingo with its landmarks, sidewalk cafes, elegant restaurants, night clubs and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Dona Elvira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Elvira Hotel
Dona Elvira Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing