We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Algotels
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Meomeg
quebec
Thank god we are back!!
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 4, 2006
We arrived at playa naco saturday the 18th instead of friday the 17th. Thank god we have lost a day!!! First, our room was out of air conditionning, the toilet not flushing and not lights!! The smell of the room is terrible. My clothes still smell!!! We were supposed to have a balcony and a fridge but nothing. No bottle of water (you have to buy it at the store) We were 3 in the room and we have only 2 towels. Have to ask every day to have more. We ask to have another room and we got it the next day after many many times speaking with the manager... The food = the buffet horrible!! exepted for the breakfast. We go to the italian, the grill and it was good. Everyday the same food in the buffet. The snackbar was ok for the pizza but you dont eat pizza every day!!! I Was very hungry this week. The staff not smiling = no tips!! The bar close at 00h00 so go outside at playa dorada at Roadway, great discotheque but you will have to pay for your drink. Our disco was closed all the week. No internet services. The entertainement very poor... the same show at the beach every night. The pool was ok but a little cold. The great point was we were on the beach and the beach was ok. Lots of dominicans selling things!! Everything are the same, at the beach, at puerto plata ... painting, jewelery, etc. Take a walk at the end of the beach and go there to buy your stuff less expensive. I have pay 899$ can. and it's expensive for this place. But playa dorada it's a great place. Go on the beach and talk to Nelson for activities. At the hotel you will pay 75$ or more US and with him half the price for the same place.
Date of stay: February 2006
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
C$218
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$220
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$175
  • Trip.com
0.6 km from Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
C$566
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$538
  • Agoda.com
    C$400
  • Expedia.com
    C$537
0.7 km from Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$288
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$288
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$215
  • Priceline
    C$288
0.1 km from Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Hotel
C$610
C$332
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    C$610
  • Booking.com
    C$386
  • Trip.com
    C$359
5.2 km from Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
C$363
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • travelup.com
    C$278
  • Official Site
    C$345
0.2 km from Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$289
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$256
  • Expedia.com
    C$279
14.5 km from Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Free parking
Pool
Beach
Booking.com
C$142
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$171
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$124
  • Priceline
    C$171
0.5 km from Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$207
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$153
  • Hotels.com
    C$288
  • Vio.com
10.3 km from Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviews (1,444)
Filter reviews
1,444 results
Traveller rating
282
413
273
177
299
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
282
413
273
177
299
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
853 - 858 of 1,444 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2006

Hi everyone,

First you gotta keep in mind that we went to Playa Naco because of the low price first and not because we really chose it. This is a place for value customers.The place is really great. The gardens are awesome ( like most of the places, but still really great ), the beach is better than I thought, 4 tennis courts which is nice. The only thing I didnt like was the room with no balcony and toilet not flushing but GO RIGHT AFTER YOUR CHECK IN and they will give you another one. The meal was good, my favorite was the maxican restaurant but it depend on your taste. The room service is awesome ( really clean ) but they dont speak a single word of english so learn your spanish or you WON'T have facial towel lol.

So to resume:

Pros: Nice Garden and pool. Great food ( restaurant and buffet). Nice tennis and golf. 2 casinos at 5 mins of walk for the gambler. Beach is B+. Nice gym and coffee.

Cons: Service is not always the best. No chair or towel if you are too late at the beach. Some people have problem with their room. No more bars open after 12AM. Should be 2AM or something.

Recommandation:
- Do the Outback Safari and be sure you go to the waterfall if you want an extreme experience. Sliding and jumping in 20" waterfall. Don't buy it from your representative. Be sure you don't pay more than 40$ per person on the beach.
- Bring a big termos because glasses are small.
- Bring alot of $US$ or activate the cash advance on your visa to be able to have US and not monopoly money ( Pesos ).
- Go one night to the Alfresco restaurant juste 2 mins walk to the hotel. Its expensive but you will eat the best seafood in your entire LIFE.
-Bring your cellphone if you want to call while your stay, it will be cheaper than their phones.
- Tip a guy named " Danny " at the buffet. He is very kind and will give you the best service. See the pictures below to reconize him.

Date of stay: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank PhilLandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 3, 2006

This place is a dump. It is dirty, the food, accomodations and service are bad. We never knew if we were going to have hot water for showers. We refused to stay in the first rooms they gave us, and the rooms we stayed in weren't much better. One choice of beer and that was on tap, very cheap liquor and wine. The bartenders thought nothing of using a dirty glass for your beer or drink. They were always running out of clean glasses. Bar closed at midnight. Disco is closed. Always ran out of beach towels. We had to find the maids after they cleaned our roonm because they were always forgetting to give us new towels or wash clothes. The towel dispensers in the the public bathrooms were always empty. The hot water faucets in the public bathrooms are turned off. The restaurant is open air and birds were landing on the food. There was a cat that had free reign in the restaurant.

We would have left if we had a way.

Date of stay: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daydream8153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 2, 2006

I am writting this review on behalf of those middle class people who have saved their hard earned money to go on a relaxing vacation,as my husband and our friends did (all in our late thirty's)in late February. Unfortunately we went during reading week which was a BIG mistake, most of,but not all of these young people were very annoying,drunk and very disrespectful of the other patrons trying to enjoy their holiday! Unfortunatly the resort did nothing to try to keep them under control.
Even if it had not been reading week there were a lot of problems with this resort,I am comparing it to other places we have been for the same amount of money,so please do yourselves a favor and look around!
Our room did not have a blowdryer, fridge,bottled water(you had to buy that at the bar,unbelievable but true),we had hot water 2 out of 7 days and only because my husband lost it at the desk after being promised 4 times that it would be rectified. One day our room didn't even get cleaned not to mention we had a hand towel and bath mat only once during our stay the rest of our time just 2 bath towels. We had to get the very loud leak in the tub fixed and after they fixed it they left the sopping wet mat (the only one we had) on the floor. The bathroom mirror had so many black marks on it it was hard to see through and the counter top was also very marked up so even though it seemed clean it just never looked like it was.
So many vendors on the beach it got tiring telling them no after awhile, but that wasn't as bad as the employees actually asking you for a tip, this has never happened to us before and seemed very low class.
The food really wasn't very good compared to the other places we have been and one was Cuba. If you like shell food you will do O.K. because almost everything at the buffet has some in it. The beach bar has pizza, burgers,chicken etc. but it gets tiring after awhile. The drinks are good but make sure to bring your own cups because the ones at the bar are so tiny,also the latest bar closes at 12:00 so be prepareed for that.
The entertainment consists of people volunteering to go on stage and being embarressed which is fine once but not every night! They did have dancers one night and they were really good,BRAVO!
In conclusion if Tammy at Sunwing is your rep be careful, she told us (and others on our flight because it was leaving so late) that we could stay in a room for $20, it was actually $45 also she doesnt tell you about the things that are right there like shopping just around the corner or at the end of the beach but wants you to take a tour to go shopping( the stuff is the same everywhere) trust me we did it all.
On the up side we did a great 4 wheeler trip for half a day, but talk to Nelson on the beach (if you have already booked)for any trips he is cheaper than the tour company's and has the same trips.
In conclusion thank goodness we went with good fun friends to make the most out of this trip but you can pay the same and get a much better and much higher class trip than the Playa Naco,we know because we have done it. Unfortunately its the resort that makes the place and therefore we will not be returning to the D.R. but will go back to Cuba or Mexico or maybe even try Jamaica.
I believe a vacation should be just that, not the aggrevations we had at Playa Naco...shop around!
If we were to rate this resort in comparisons to others it would be a stretch to give it a 3...we hope this helps all future vacationers OLA!

Date of stay: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wishwewereback
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 2, 2006

Currently staying here at Playo Terible. I am very tollerant and have traveled all over the world (Antigua, Bermuda, St. Thomas, St. Croix, France, Germany, Italy, etc)

The food is very very poor, the beach smells (lost of decaying seaweed), after an all day storm the sewers backed up and we walked thru 6 inches of (you guessed it). Our roof leaked...

Worst of all the resort literally gives no information for other areas to see other than their tours which are extremely inflated.

We are eating at a resturant next door (Hemmingways) and all have Montazuma's revenge.

Demographics of visitors here 80% Canadian, 10% from the US and 10% others. Everyone is trying to make the best of it.

The one highlight is that the Dominican people are truly lovely!

Date of stay: March 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bellacruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 1, 2006

Where do I start...

Room: 2-story loft... how amazing is that? Unless you are a bit tipsy and have to climb them to your bed late at night! Even the 1-story rooms we saw were Ridiculously large!!

Food: I've never had an easier time booking A La Carte restaurants. They have 3, all amazing food... but watch the vino tintos you'll walk in sober and stumble out... but that's a good thing! Buffet was good, even food on the beach for 2nd and 3rd lunches!

Staff: I've never met a nicer bunch of people! You'll never be asked for a tip. Never heard one rude thing ever. I was greeted by a nice "Hola" or "Ooookaaaay" everytime!

Pool: No Pool bar, but from my experiences with those, they can get messy. In any case it's large! I'm more of a beach guy anyways!

Beach: This is no cancun or punta cana... but it's nice nontheless, with a nice view of a mountain! Sun will beat upon you nicely!

Nightlife: This is no cancun again, but you'll have a blast if you want to get out of the resort. There are a few bars and clubs very closeby (walking distance) that will keep you entertained to the morning hours!

Roommate: He was okay... sometimes crossed the middle line in the bed, but I can't fault the resort for my friend Jon :P

I have so many memories and the place just made them so much better! It was great meeting everyone! Love you guys so much! Many roadtrips to follow... hope to see all of you again soon!

Date of stay: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerryToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews