We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Been to Dominican many times and travel yearly. It was a smaller resort than were used to but it was great! The food was great, we really enjoyed the lunch at the restarant by the beach. The staff is very friendly. There is the Orange Market we walked to lots to buy down there but the prices are just as good at the mall at the front of the resort. ( Not as much jewelery at the mall) The beach at the resort in nice because of the reefs lots of people snorkling but farther down there is a strong undertow anyone with young kids should be careful. Woould go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lyn36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,867 - 2,873 of 5,557 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

We just got back from our third visit to this resort. For the price ($1,000 a person), it's an amazing bargain. Staff are wonderful. Food and drink is very good. Great walks around the resort and beach. It's close to the airport! The rooms are being upgraded. A brand new flat screen TV with cable was in our room and while we were there small upgrades were going on. They charge for wifi which is not acceptable these days. That has to change. Advice -walk over to the nearby little plaza and beside Pizza Hut there is free wifi.

Room Tip: If you don't like to party late, ask for a room away from the main pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GuinnessBoy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Well, this is my first review and I will be honest.

Rooms are big and in good condition. Rooms kept well and room staff clean them everyday. Towels changed every day too. In general I can say that I liked room we stayed in. Clean and nice. Bed was huge! However bathroom was a bit out of date.
Food was great. Lots of variety. Although I didnt like any of restaurants. I preferred to go to buffet. As I said lots of variety for every taste. Especially I liked to visit buffet in the evening as chefs were cooking nice variety of meats. My girlfriend is vegeterian and she was satisfied with food for all our stay. We stayed for 12 days.
Resort has few bars. One pool bar. One bar next to beach so you dont have to walk far away if you getting tan on the beach. Drinks were nice. Also big variety for every taste. Cocktails, straight shots, beer, iced water. Whatever you want. Bartenders are very polite and smiley.
Beach itself is very clean and well maintained. No rubbish.
In general we have enjoyed our stay in resort and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Beata building and i can say at nights it was a bit loud. Music pumping until 2-3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Viktor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Beautiful smaller resort, wonderful people, delicious food!! Beautiful well kept beach, beautiful sunrises...very clean rooms! Did I say EXCELLENT food, something for everyone and a large variety, A la cartes(3) all delicious!!! Outback safari and Paradise island excursions well worth the cost!

Very friendly and courteous staff,some the maids didnt speak english.... if their was a language barrier, shame on us for not learning a the language!!!

Ihave to say the beds were pretty comfy...slept at least 7-8 hours/night!!

The main pool was the hub of action, swim up bar, activities going on , music, kids club off to the side with their own little pool, there is a quiet pool with its own bar for those prefering a a more peaceful atmosphere..
We spent our days at the beach.....taking in the beauty of the ocean....I know some complain about the beach vendors....but they are just trying to make a living, we did buy from them n everyday they would stop by just to make sure we didnt NEED anything else lol, and have a chat...very nice folks, no need to be rude, just say no THANK you, they will leave you alone.

As for the night life, they did have nightly entertainment, usually over by 10-1030...for us that was fine, we were up at 6am walking the beach and catching the beautiful sunrises, so by that time we were ready for bed

I read many reviews before going and now that I have been , i cant believe the trivial complaints I have read , such as no water pressure or outdated rooms...they dont speak english!! For goodness sakes, you are visiting a beautiful country,...enjoy it, take an excursions , learn about the country, the people, enjoy the experience.....


had more pics but couldnt get them to load....:(

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jocelyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We just got back from our holiday from Feb 5-12/12. This resort is beautiful! My husband and I have travelled to many 5* resorts through DR and Mexico and found that this hotel was comparable if not better then some of the 5 * we've stayed at. The rooms were clean and well kept. The food at the buffet had alot of variety to choose from. There was always a different selection every night. The 3 a la cartes were wonderful. I wish they would let you book them more than 3 times! The service was great for the most part. Sometimes you had to wait for coffee in the morning, but the resort was booked up when we were there.

The one thing we did notice is that you don't get service at the pool or beach so you have to get up and get your own drinks. This is better for me because I need to get off my butt anyway! The beach is gorgeous and you can walk barefoot for miles. The water is torquoise and clear. One thing to note: the beach vendors are little overwhelming at times, but once you said no, we found most didn't bother you again. They did come back the next day and ask you again though. The entertainment was good. They had a beach party one night, which we loved! We didn't do any tours, but spoke to Caesar everday. If you want someone genuine-book with him. Also Gregory the horse man-was a riot. He made us laugh everyday! Overall loved this vacation and looking forward to returning next Febraury for sure!!!! Cheers!

Room Tip: Of note: we stayed in the Saona building, which had great sea views. I would recommend requesting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sunlover0667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is our fifth year going to the Dominican and our third time in Puerto Plata. We truly enjoy this country and the people. This is our first VH hotel and our first stay at the Gran Ventana. We liked how close it was to the airport. When we arrived, only two of the three rooms were ready and they separated one of the rooms. We were on a family vacation so staying together was important for us.

We stayed by the "quiet pool" and find out later what a godsend it is to stay there. All the rooms were suites and quite spacious. The only thing about the rooms was that they did not have dressers to put the clothes in. No closets, just a few small drawers.

The staff there was generally very friendly especially the bartenders. They made us feel like family and we reciprocated the affection. The a la carte restaurants we really nice. We really enjoyed the Italian one. The service was always stupendous and the food was decent for the Dominican.

The hotel does seem to wind down at around 10pm and there is no disco on the premise. If adults are looking for late night entertainment they will need to head into the square.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LEEHUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was our first vacation so we have nuthign to compare it too. so here goes...
Travel rep at hotel was not friendly at all and did not answer our questions, and if she did it was bs!!!!!
Service was great when we arrived had drinks waiting. Bell hop took us right to our room.
Rooms are very outdated.. I am talking about being stuck in the 80's.. Beds were hard but its okay, i like them that way. had no hot water first night but was fixed in the am. AC worked great.. actually woke up freezing. One thing to note is that nuthign dried, being on the patio or hanging everything was damp.
Pools.. main pool was busy, swim up service was okay. the quiet pool is definetly the place to be if your not on the beach. and its bartender was great.
Food.. Its was everything i could have asked for. I tried everything, and didnt have an issuse of beign bored at all. They had pork chicken, beef. lots of rice, and lots of vegys. Alacarte were okay but different form everyday food i was used too. The grill was the best alacarte, recomend the surf and turf.
Beach was the nicest in the playa dorada complex hands down. no garbage, no weeds, everythign is exteremely well kept. you did have to wake up early to get a hut. The vendors are outta this world, i havent seen anything like this before... a non stop berrage of people wanting you to buy something. no one bugged us for a timeshare.

Overall we would go back, and bring our kids. there was nuthing to do after 10pm. no existent night life, unless u left the resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazyeye_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,131 reviews
0.4 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,945 reviews
2.0 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,402 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $138 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Dorada, a gated oceanfront community on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, is home to Gran Ventana Beach Resort, one of the country’s friendliest, most welcoming hotels. Located directly on the beach, our Puerto Plata beach resort boasts three pools, a kids club and an airy, cool and fresh lobby. We also offer a superb, all-inclusive value for families, couples and group vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing