We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good.”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

All inclusive was very good and my family enjoy the beach the food way better than last year .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,382
    1,890
    711
    249
    144
See reviews for
1,475
2,050
77
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

All inclusive package. Hotel amenities excellent. Food - everything you could wish for and all fresh and delicious. Facilities great all clean and all staff very friendly and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed the 2 weeks. Atmosphere overall was great and everyone just there to have fun in the sun! Trips not to be missed - Ocean World (shows 1st class and snorkelling fantastic), Mega Trucks, Catamaran and city tour with cable car. What lovely people and what a great holiday. Meringue dancing and latino music - a dream holiday!

Room Tip: Our party had rooms on the ground and 3rd floors - all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

what a fab holiday its such a beautiful place everything about this holiday was brill,i would deffo recommend this holiday, accommodation needs a little update but the beach is only minutes away from the complex food was lovely and the staff cant do enough to help,i have very fair skin and burn easily so i would recommend getting P20 suncream its the best cream for this type of holiday even my partner used it its well worth buying it.we are going to book for next year.LOVED IT.

Room Tip: ask for sea view room overlooking the pool is very noisy we had to change rooms for this reason.buy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I spend a great time in may at Gran Ventana Beach resort. Stayed with my wife and I highly recommend couples to choose this hotel , is by far the most upscale all inclusive in the area not only for the great attentive and amicable service but also for the outstanding food for an all inclusive at Sapore di mare, Octopus gourmet or their ocean grill beach restaurant
Not to forget that that you may have access to the Spa of their super deluxe boutique property next door the Casa Colonial for a discounted rate and is worth the experience.
The destination of Piuerto Plata has a lot to offer, we went of the hotel and experience the area. visited Cabarte outstanding surf beach full of restaurants and also the beautiful and well appointed city of Puerto Plata, they did a great job since my last visit, clean safe, with great restaurants and is worth a visit!

Room Tip: junior suite saona building spacious quite, just great and worth all the money. King size beds are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My family and I (13 of us ranging from 1 to 65) stayed at this Hotel from 05/05 - 19/05. The weather was gorgeous and the hotel only a quarter full due to the time of year. The clienteI all came across as being nice, friendly people and thus the atmosphere was great. I can only describe this holiday as amazing. The hotel was fabulous, food delicious and staff simply out of this world. I am well travelled and have to say that the staff were the most professional, hard working, accomodating, funny and delightful of those I have ever come across. This hotel provides excellent value for money so whilst the food is not michelin star standard and the rooms are not luxurious you cannot expect it to be as such because it doesn't claim to be. You get a higher standard than what you pay for however. The rooms I saw were very clean and in good working order, the grounds brilliantly maintained, the food cooked well with enough choice to suit all, the staff always smiling and ready to assist in anyway you need and the entertainment brilliant. The shows aren't west end standard but the Entertainment Team are just fantastic. They became like family in just two short weeks. We miss them terribly already. I really cannot praise this Hotel enough. I highly recommend it and the fact that my niece and nephew cried when we left is testament to just how great it is. I could go on and on about various aspects of the hotel but in short I cannot fault it. Amazing!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SussexPitbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

First off let me say everything other then the service at the front desk hotel was amazing.

When I went on here for reviews I took them with a grain of salt.
But they are correct. I travel about 35% of the year. And the front desk at this hotel is by far one of the worst.
They are rude.
They do not care about what the customer requests and pays for.
They don't try to amend situations.
I had a pretty big group and a few rooms something went wrong in all of them.
I Asked a few times to speak with a manager not once could one be troubled to help fix the situation. It was one of the worst encounters I have had with front desk associates. For that I say don't waste your time trying to deal with them they don't care nor will they help.
But the biggest mistake they made is thinking no one in my group spoke spAnish fluently and the comments they made about my group and wrote in there log we're in uncalled for. Horrible service rude workers.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Letsgo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This was our 10th time to dominican republic in the last 25 years.It was the first time we had been to the gran ventena .Went on 26/4 to 13/5 .Check in at hotel very quick.Room excellent overlooking pool.Beach clean .Food in buffet good .Went to octupus and grill restaurants exellent.Service at bars excellent never had to wait for a drink (had plenty).weather good in the day rained really hard most nights but ok in day.Quite pool Jacky behind bar really cheerfull and good.All staff very friendly and nothing to much trouble.A lot of hotels are shut down on Playa Dorado.Hotel exchange rate 55 pesos to the £ .One of the shops selling trips was givng 59 pesos to the pound.advertise at 55 but if you ask they will give you more.Overall excellent. Would defiently go again.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stonewallpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
2.0 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,512 reviews
0.4 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.3 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing