We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,153)
Filter reviews
6,153 results
Traveller rating
2,776
2,137
808
269
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,776
2,137
808
269
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean grill octopus quiet pool catalina building beata building vintage club a la carte restaurants carlos santana premium package main pool swim up bar ocean world dominican republic italian restaurant paradise island entertainment team evening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 6,153 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018

Just returned from my third family vacation at VH Gran. It was an absolutely amazing vacation. Eduardo at the reception is so friendly and does his best to answer all questions at check in and provide the key information. The food is by far the best I have had at many resorts I have visited. The taste and flavors sets this resort apart from the rest as I found many other places lack basic seasoning and spices, however attention is paid to the menu dishes, especially at the Octopus (I love spicy foods).

Raul at the buffet greets all guests in the morning for breakfast and lunch and sees to it that their needs are met. What an amazing and hard working man he is. I have to mention again the attention paid to cleanliness and hygiene at this resort. In the buffet, the reception hostess greets everyone with a spurt of alcohol to clean their hands upon entry to and leaving the restaurant. Hand Hygiene is the single most effective practice to prevent the spreading of illness. This resort is spotless!!! From the beach area to lawn area surrounding the resort.

I would like to sincerely extend a huge thank-you to Giraurie, Domingo, and Veronica at the Premium lounge (please forgive me if I have spelt your names incorrectly), and to all the other staff, including the waiters on the beach (Amabel) who went out of their way to do the little extras to ensure we were comfortable.

For me, the little things make mt vacation very enjoyable and relaxing and this resort does not fail to deliver each and every time. I will definitely be returning...also have to thank the beach staff for watering the sand a few times a day to ensure the sand did not interrupt our reading and napping time at the beach and the Housekeeping staff for their thoughtfulness and being so friendly and kind....thank you all so much!!! YOU ALL ROCK!! What a gem of a resort!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimberlykan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thank you for staying with us again. We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our hotel and our staff. We are glad that you and family loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing what they are doing. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Just arrived home from a fantastic, relaxing 2 week holiday, we travelled as a couple with our two girls aged 10 and 8.

I should start by saying that we changed our accomodation to Gran Ventana the day before travelling due to building work at the hotel we had originally booked. As someone who likes to do my research, I was apprehensive to say the least! I really needn't have worried.

The transfer was swift and comfortable, the bus even had WiFi.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by bellboys who promptly took charge of our luggage and directed us into reception. Here, we were all offered a lovely fruity iced drink whilst we checked in which was a really nice touch and much appreciated! The reception staff were helpful and efficient, after a few minutes we were off to our room. The printed map and hotel info were were given were useful, if a little faded due to being photocopied a few too many times.

We we given a top floor room on the passageway between the sea and the pool, the views both ways were wonderful.

Our luggage arrived a few minutes after us, which was great as the kids wanted to hit the pool straight away.

The room itself was functional. 2 double beds, a fridge, sufficient cupboard space, a TV. The air conditioning was effective, the ceiling fan did its job well, albeit a bit noisily. There's a safe in the wardrobe and about 10 hangers.

The bathroom was as you'd expect. There was a knack to making the shower work, but the water pressure was good.

So, to the main pool. I have to say this is the best designed pool I have seen. There are three circular sections, which meet at the swim up bar. Each section has a different depth, with one being really shallow and suitable for little ones, aquarobics etc; one being a bit deeper so you can stand and play volleyball or throw and catch a ball; the final section was deeper still and better for proper swimming. There are plenty of sunbeds, though parasols are limited. If we couldn't find an umbrella, we asked the pool/maintenance guy and he would get one for us so not a big issue. Music is played and the daytime entertainment is based round this pool.

The quiet pool across the road was just that. We went over a couple of times but it was too quiet for us. Only a handful of people were using it though I expect it would get a bit busier in peak season.

The public areas of the hotel are immaculately maintained and it is possibly the cleanest resort I have visited. Glasses are collected swiftly from around the pool area and it is not permitted to take food out of the restaurants. As such there were hardly any creepy crawlies around. The hotel gave us notice they were fumigating our room block one day during the holiday, I presume this is part of the regular maintenance schedule and is a preventative measure, which we thought to be a good thing.

Our room was cleaned to a high standard daily by Linda and her colleagues. The cleaning team did thoughtful things like lining up the kids teddies and checking with us if we were short of toiletries (with 3 girls in the room we ran out of shampoo far too quickly!)

The fridge guy topped up the room fridge daily with 2 beers, water and bottles of pop. Leave him a small tip in the fridge and he leaves you extra!

The main buffet restaurant serves all meals. We particularly liked that most hot food was offered in lidded, heated closhes. These were regularly refreshed or replaced to ensure freshness. During the course of our holiday it was noted by staff that the cold food was starting to attract mozzies. The next day this too was presented in covered dishes. All the food was freshly cooked. Breakfast highlights include the fresh smoothies made by the chef in the central bar area. Pick your fruit and he makes it up for you. The egg man did omlettes, fried eggs, and, if asked, fresh scrambled egg instead of the pre-prepared. Also, there is another chef who will slice meats for you. The bacon wasn't to our (British) taste, but that's just a regional thing. My girls loved the pancakes and chocolate sauce. Dinner included pizza and pasta stations, sometimes a carvery meat, every day a choice of chicken, meat and fish, veg and salad, soups etc. All tasty and well cooked. Sometimes there was a theme to add variety. We liked Wednesday turkey carvery and Tuesday prawns. Lunch was a parred down version of dinner.

The speciality restaurants were ace! The Ocean grill was available 6 days per week, and served simple grilled meats and fish. Enormous portions and well cooked. The only criticism would-be that the early sitting service was a bit fast. The Italian and Caribbean restaurants alternated days as it was low season. My girls liked the Italian best, lots of pastas and a few other choices. No pizza though, a bit of an oversight for an Italian! We didn't care for the Caribbean as much as the food combinations were a little unusual for us, though my husband enjoyed the octopus salad. A little disappointing none of the specialities served ice cream and fruit, one of our girls has a nut allergy so this is always her go-to dessert.

The entertainments team were hard working, full of fun and gave just the right amount of encouragement to get involved if you wanted, and left you alone if you didn't. During the day there was a good balance of silly games, sport, dance lessons etc. Everyone welcome to join in.

The evening entertainment was a story of two halves. The kids enjoyed mini disco, and the weekly kids talent show. The pre-entertainment at 830pm was enjoyable, a mix of games and karaoke type activities run by the entertainments team. The main event was scheduled at 930pm and the entertainments director should hang his head in shame. Most nights consisted of a dance show under various guises. Except most of the dancers couldn't dance the styles they were being asked to perform. Or in time with each other. We saw a male dancer run off the stage because he forgot the steps, a female dancer's dress half fall off, yawning and head scratching during routines (dancers and guests!). The troupe were poorly trained and clearly disinterested. Even worse than this were the shows performed on the days the dance troupe weren't there. Miss Gran Ventana. It had its place in the 1980s but nowadays really? It's simply not ok to ask unsuspecting young women to jump into sexual positions, dance sexy etc etc. I removed my children from this so called entertainment and did not attend Mr GV or Mr and Mrs. One contestants partner jumped up and untied the stranger on stage that she was expected to perform sexy poses on. He took the seat himself to save her blushes but it all felt very uncomfortable. A better ents director would get rid of this outdated rubbish and employ eg tribute acts, magic etc. Understand it's difficult to cater to an international crowd but there are better alternatives.

Moving on, what made our holiday was the staff. The restaurant staff, in particular at breakfast and lunch, were amazing. Raul the dining room boss (lovely jubbly), Hipolito and Denny, Rosa and Marleni in particular went over and above to make us enjoy our stay. They all made an effort with the kids and the service was excellent. In the bars, the staff were super helpful and looked after us well. And they were always so cheerful. Jose was our favourite barman, fist bumps all round.

We loved snorkelling in the sea each morning, sneak a bread roll out of the dining room to feed the fishes and you won't be disappointed with what you get to see. We even saw an octopus! The beach was really clean and well maintained. Snorkels and kayaks could be borrowed free of charge for an hour a day, though pedaloes and motorised sports were extra. Make sure to go to the beach in the morning as the wind whips up in the afternoon.

WiFi is available free of charge in the entertainment area however the signal was dreadful. We bit the bullet and paid for an upgraded service. This was 35USD for a week for one logon code (there is no discount for 2 weeks). You can use this on multiple devices, just not at the same time. Alternatively you can pay 10USD for one day or 3USD for an hour. You also need to pay for a lock for the safe, 16
USD for a week, 30USD for two weeks.

All in all we were very pleased with this resort. It's compact but friendly and warm. It felt safe for the kids to roam. If you want to party it's probably not for you, but for a relaxing family holiday it's good value for money and does exactly what it says on the tin. We would happily return if a UK airline chose to fly to Puerto Plata in the future. Excellente!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Gran Ventana and that you enjoyed our restaurants and your guest room as well as the resort. We will certainly pass your compliments onto the staff and very much look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Amazing resort for people of all ages. You come to the resort looking for fun and you leave with a family. Staff, food and entertainment is 10/10. The resort is quite small however, it was perfect for my friends and I.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelaccc2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Gran Ventana. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

I have been to Gran Ventana a few times in the past 2 years and it never disappoints. The staff is so welcoming and they make you feel like family. Elvin at the beach bar is so nice, a thank you to him for taking care of us with his amazing drinks.
Entertainment was lacking a bit during the day, but that may be because it's low season. However the entertainment team is great at interacting with guests. Thanks to Carlos Santana for keeping us entertained at all times! Overall, had a great week and would definitely return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

It brings us a lot of pride and joy to hear that you're an avid fan of our hotel. We appreciate your business, your loyalty, and your trust. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Just returned home from a 2 week stay at the Gran Ventana. Having never been to the Dominican before we never knew what to expect. Upon departure of the airport at a Puerto Plata, we were quickly approached by people wanting to take our bags to the bus which we refused, however, some wouldn’t take no for an answer as they we’re desperate for money. The bus journey to the airport is only 15 minutes which is brilliant after a 8 hour flight from Manchester. After the experience at the airport, we were apprehensive as to what it would be like at the hotel itself. However, the atmosphere in the hotel couldn’t be anymore different from the airport.

Room - The room we were in had recently been renovated and was lovely. The room itself was huge with a bed that could fit 10 people in. Bathroom was clean and Maids cleaned room daily and restocked with fresh clean towels, Mini-Bar was also restocked every day.

Hotel - the hotel itself is a small resort which meant it’s easy to get around. All the grounds on the hotel are well maintained and clean. We visited the Mall a few times but there isn’t much going on except a nice Italian which is good to take pizzas back to the hote. The pool could do with some work been done to it as the floor is very rough in places. The beach is lovely, however, you are constantly approached by people selling things.

Staff - The staff at the hotel are amazing. Shoutout to the entertainment team who are the funniest and best people you could ever meet (Sexy Luis 69, Carlos, Lola and Delfy), they never stop with the activities throughout the morning and afternoon, while making everything funny as you participate. They make a massive effort to remember your name and can not do enough for you. Another shoutout to Rosa and Raul in the restaurant. Always greeting you as you enter the buffet, having tables ready for you to sit at while constantly providing an excellent service. All staff amazing people.

Food - the food was nice, however, after 2 weeks things start to become a little repetitive but it’s hard to change food every day for 2 week.

The only negative of the holiday was on the weekends. The Dominicans arrived and they thought they could do anything they wanted. Kids would take inflatables in the pool without asking and not return them and adults were rude to staff. Soon as they went the atmosphere totally changed into a happier atmosphere. Overall, guests at the hotel were friendly and we met some great people while at the hotel.

Overall, the staff and hotel was amazing and I would recommend the hotel to anyone. It is a shame that Tui are pulling out of Puerto Plata, I just hope that another UK operator picks it back up again as it would be a shame to for the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JRamshaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHresorts, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with a feedback on your stay with us. Our hotel values put customer satisfaction as the top priority and we are committed to our customers. Its customers like you that make our job wonderful. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews