We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Puerto Plata”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Iberostar Puerto Plata”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

March 28-April 4/ 12
This was our first time to Puerto Plata, and just loved it!! Been to Punta Cana 8 times so will do a bit of comparison..
First of all, resort needs a bit of uplift but still is great.. Food was good,the same as Punta Cana, buffets, beach resto were the same for lunch everyday, but always something we liked. Chicken, fries, rice, salad bar, pasta bar, grill, soup, and many more. Workers were great, very friendly, always smiling, singing. They sure work long hours..
Beach at our resort was beautiful....water a lot warmer than Punta Cana..Beach is not as busy as Punta Cana. No parasailing, no banana boat, and not a lot of people walking it. We did the market, workers there were much better than Punta Cana.. not as pushy and they don't try to rip you off!! 1/2 a head of brades-$25.00, one hour massage $20.00...cheap,cheap..
They pretty much all speak spanish, french , english.
Would definetly go back to the Iberostar...
Cheers!!

Room Tip: We were in room 9111 facing the pool, renovated room. Great location..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest Lynnecanada,
We want to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada for your first visit to Puerto Plata and for writing your experience. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Maria Berbel, we want to express how glad we are to read that you had a relaxing visit to our hotel premises.
It is always a pleasure to read that your enjoyed the variety of our gastronomy and the service provided by our staff members. Those are very important aspects of our guiding principle in Iberostar.
We are already waiting for your next visit, please feel free to contact us again before coming.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,164
    1,888
    639
    199
    99
See reviews for
2,291
2,729
156
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,249)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth,Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We visited the iberostar from the 22/3 - 4/4 . This was our 3rd visit to this hotel and it was fabulous. The minute we arrived at reception to check in, Mario from guest services approached us and recognised us straight away, which was so lovely he even remebered we come here in March as it is our wedding anniversary and he remembered it being the 31st, not many places make you feel that special. During our stay he organised a welcome back gift which was a basket of fruit and bottle of rum in room, he also arranged for a romantic dinner, which was fab, he also arranged for a bottle of champagne on ice delivered to our room for the day of our anniversary, all great wee surprises. If you are celebrating something special speak to Mario he is so lovely. We had a lovely room over looking the pool, the rooms are large and the maids keeping them extremely clean, the mini bar is a plus with water, soft drinks and beer. The beach is beautiful although when you are walking along beach to the other hotels there are parts which are not so clean as they are public areas. There is seaweed at certain times of day but this is cleaned up by staff, this happens at all the beaches in the area, the beaches are still beautiful and great for a dip. The food at this hotel is fab there is something for everyone and you can eat all day everyday. We went on a trip to Paradise Island which we did the first time we visited it was a great day, speedboat out to island then snorkling which was the best snorkling we have done, then speedboat through mangroves then pack to this breathtaking beach for lunch which was delicious. This hotel is the whole package the staff are what really makes your holiday everyone speaks and smiles at you we would like to say a special thank you to Jose, Felipe, Wiliam and Pablo at the lobby bar where we sat most evenings, they were so hard working and great company we had some really fun nights with them especially Jose. Also Raysa who works in lobby bar selling cigars, she is such a pretty girl and enjoys chatting which helps her with her english, If you like smoking cigars look out for Raysa. This is a great hotel with fabulous grounds, you will not be disappointed go and enjoy everything it has to offer. Thank you all for another truely great holiday. xx

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raejuliagoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest raejuliagoody,
First at all, we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada again to celebrate your wedding anniversary; and for taking time to write us some comments about your stay among us. Thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel premises.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Maria Berbel, and her entire staff members, we want to express how glad we are to read that you had for a third time a wonderful wedding anniversary. We are really pleased to read that the friendliness and best service provided by our staff members ensured you a memorable occasion. Thank you for highlighting the names of some employees that left you a good mark (e.g. Mario, Guest Service, Jose Felipe, Wiliam, Pablo y Raysa, from our bars and restaurants). They are thankful for your greetings and lovely words.
We are already looking forward to see you in our facilities, please feel free to contact us again before, so we can assist you.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Iberostar Costa Dorada. This was the best all-inclusive hotel we have stayed at. The food was excellent, with a huge range of choice. We tried both the Brazilian and the Seafood restaurants as well as the main buffet restaurant. The gardens around the hotel are beautiful and the flamingos and turtles in the reception area are a nice touch. The beach was nice with lovely sand - there is a lot of seaweed that is brought up by the tide, but the hotel staff are out early every morning clearing it away. The rooms are large and comfortable, with nice extras like a coffee machine with real coffee! The cleaning staff were friendly and efficient.
Our First Choice rep advised us against booking excursions with the local people who walk along the beach - fortunately we ignored this advice and arranged a trip to Puerta Plata with Julio, who picked us up in his jeep and took us to the cable car, the waited for us for over an hour whilst we went up. He then took us to the fort and to the amber museum, as well as the shopping area in the centre of town. Julio is a delightful character and he did not try to rush us or push us to buy from his friends' shops! You can contact him at julioa.ciriaco@hotmail.com or at 8092052004 - he also organises great fishing tours.
With First Choice, we booked the Paradise island tour, which was a great day out, but they should tell people that there is a long drive involved. The snorkeling made that worth it, however, because the fish are stunningly beautiful. Drinking Cuba Libra on the yacht in the sunshine was a joy!
We also visited Ocean World, where we swam with dolphins and had a sea lion encounter. I'm not sure which was better, because both experiences were delightful! I booked that online directly with Ocean World before leaving home and I got a better price than First Choice were offering on the spot. The photographers at Ocean World took about 100 photos and a video of our visit; we paid $100 dollars for this, which is expensive, but it did make a nice souvenir.
The Iberostar hotel is not within walking distance of Puerto Plata town, which is a few miles away. Taxi fares offered at reception are ridiculously expensive at $50, but if you just venture outside the hotel gates onto the road outside, guys on scooters stop and ask if you want a ride into town. I'm told that this only costs about 30 pesos ($1), but I didn't take them up on the offer and I don't know how safe they are. Health and Safety seems to be unheard of in the Dominican Republic - driving standards are "interesting" to say the least!
It is not worth changing money into pesos. Everyone is happy with dollars. Pounds and euros are less welcome, so I'd advise people to get a stack of $1 bills before travelling. Using larger denominations is likely to result in you getting change in pesos, which you can't change back later.
Tipping is important - the salaries are very low and people at the hotel work hard. Giving a few dollars to bar staff, maids and porters makes a big difference for them. It is not expected, but it is really appreciated. The entertainment staff were very enthusiastic and they put on some good shows. We don't usually enjoy evening entertainments at hotels, but I must say that the Dominican Night show was excellent. There were lots of daytime activities like archery and beach volley ball.
A few words of Spanish are greatly appreciated; the hotel staff were all friendly and cheerful. Whilst on the beach we were approached several times by locals trying to get us to visit their shops, buy excursions or have massages. None of these people were in any way aggressive and they accepted "No thanks" with a smile. Many are Haitians, so if you speak French, that is your opportunity to practice it!
Hotel occupancy rates seem to be low - the hotel seemed half empty most of the time we were there, although there was a large influx of people on Good Friday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Mr. Mike,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at the Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel. In the name of Mrs. María Berbel, Hotel Manager, we want to thank you for choosing our hotel facilities and premises for your holiday.
We are very pleased to read that you have had an excellent experience during your visit. It is nice to acknowledge that you enjoyed the cleanness and beauty of our grounds, the variety of our food and the friendliness of our staff members. In Iberostar those aspects are very important and are part of our guiding principles.
We are already willing to welcome you back, please contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was our first visit to the Dominican Republic and we were very impressed with the Iberostar Costa Dorada. We had a fantastic time and couldn’t fault anything at all about the hotel. It is definitely 5 star. We also loved visiting places outside the hotel on a few trips as it’s good to get out and see the real Dominican lifestyle. I have tried to review things in the order we experienced them.

Airport - Puerto Plata airport is very small but it was quick to get through. Just remember that your entry tax needs to be in US$ and not in Dominican Pesos. Although you are told numerous times, there were still people trying to pay in Pesos, which means you have to go and try to exchange cash and re-join the queue. We were also treated to a complimentary Brugal rum (first of many on this holiday) and a band playing merengue music.

Transfer with First Choice - This was plain sailing and our resort rep Dindo kept us amused on the short 20 min drive to the hotel. You also get to see they way Dominicans drive, which is a bit a free for all, but they are used to it.

Check in at hotel - Upon arrival we were greeted by the hotel staff and immediately given our All Inclusive wrist bands and a pack with our room keys in etc.. I am not sure how but they knew my name even though I didn’t tell them. After completing the usual check in forms with the helpful and polite reception staff, we made our way to the room and were quickly followed by the bell boy and our luggage.

Room - We had emailed in advance and asked for an upper floor room near the beach and that is exactly what we got. The room was large with a huge double bed, plasma screen TV, safe ($2 per day), mini bar, A/C and all the usual amenities you would expect. There was a small balcony overlooking the pool area but we didn’t use that. The room was cleaned and the mini bar re-stocked every day, even though it says every other day. The voltage is 110v so just remember that the electrical power is lower than in the UK.

Restaurants - There is a main buffet restaurant that serves 3 meals a day which had excellent food, especially Dominican night when lobster was cooked in front of you. There was always something nice to eat and chefs cooking fresh fish, omelettes at breakfast etc.. Table service was also great and our waiter Robert would greet us with a big smile and hand shake every meal time as we tended to sit in the same area. The pool restaurant was also good but we tended to use the main buffet. The only problem is that the food is that nice you put the weight on! There are 3 other restaurants - Brazilian, Mexican and International/Seafood. All were excellent but our favourite was the International/Seafood.

Bars - The lobby bar had all the international drinks you could possibly want, if you ask for them. Service was fast and efficient, especially if you tip the staff, that way they remember your order and serve you straight away. There were also flamingos and turtles in ponds next to the bar so you could sip on your drink with a beautiful view (you can also feed them). The pool bar/restaurant is also very good with staff working very hard to serve customers. The beach bar was ok but the staff there didn’t seem as happy as the other staff, even when tipped. There is also a theatre bar which we only used a couple of times but service was also great there. There is also a Disco but we only used that once.

Beach - The beach was beautiful with white sand and palm trees. Plenty of sun loungers available with shade made out of palm leaves. There was some seaweed but the beach was regularly cleaned and raked by the ground staff. Special mention to Tomas who was working hard all day cleaning leaves and finding sun loungers for people, but always had a big smile and a ‘hola’ for everyone. We also had 2 beach parties each week at noon, where the entertainment team would set up a stage and play live merengue music, while the chefs prepared massive paella dishes with lobster and seafood or barbeque. Drinks were also flowing while the entertainment team would get you up dancing.

Pool - The pool area was very large and the pool itself was free form, with areas for water polo, volleyball and other swim areas. There was also a whirl pool in the middle but it wasn’t great. The pool could also be a bit cold at times but you get used to it. Just mind the steps when you get in. They have 2 steps, then you are in 5 foot of water. There were plenty of loungers available and shade if you want it.

Hotel grounds - Were magnificent with people tending the gardens and trees all day. Lots of flowers, tress, grass areas, pools, fountains etc. The courtyard area was also very nice and great to sit out at night, if it wasn’t raining (it tended to be hot and sunny in the day and rain at night).

Entertainment - There was always something going on in the day. You can be as active as you want and the team will leave you if you don’t want to take part. There is the usual darts, archery, water aerobics etc., but they also put on some shows round the pool, such as a fake shot gun wedding under the gazebo which was hilarious. The evening entertainment was also very good with the live band, and shows such as Lion King and Dominican night. All very good.

Guests - We met lots of nice people while we were there and some had been multiple times before, so shows you how nice the hotel is. The only thing I would say is that there were a lot of French Canadians who were rude to the staff. No please or thank you, or queuing come to that matter. It was if they had no respect for the staff. It doesn’t cost you anything to be nice to the staff who are working hard to make your holiday nice, and a few tips here and there shows you appreciate the service.

Outside activities - The Whitewater rafting trip was great, but not for the faint hearted. Once you are on the raft it is 2 hours down the rapids with no way to get off. We also enjoyed the Bravisimmo show (but don’t bother with the meal), the Outback Safari, the Puerto Plata city tour with cable car and the 151 Fiesta night. All great times but I would recommend booking with your holiday rep, rather than the beach vendors as at least you are fully insured.

Special thanks to the following people - Dindo the First Choice Rep, who is always ready to help with the slightest problem (e.g. our iron stopped working and was replaced in minutes), Tomas on the beach, Robert and Anna in the main buffet restaurant, and the entertainment team of Chucky (who had a great Birmingham accent), Cappuccino, Sexy Face, Lap Top, GG and all the others whose names we can’t remember! (sorry), our room maid (1220) but thanks to all the staff for making it a great holiday. It is great to see that most staff were always polite and looked happy in their work.

All in all we had a great time in this lovely hotel and would definitely go back. Just remember that it is a pretty poor country but I was amazed how happy and polite everyone appears to be, inside and outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: Block 1 was in a quiet location. I would ask for an upper floor but remember there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dikthegeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear guest dikthegeeza,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada as the destination for your first visit to the Dominican Republic and for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Ms. Maria Berbel and her team, I would like to express how glad we are to read that you enjoyed such as wonderful stay thanks to the friendliness of our staff members. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure our guests to enjoy being “a star in vacations”. We are happy to read that from your check in until your check out your experience was wonderful. Robert, Ana at the buffet, and the Star Friends are happy to know they left a nice impression on you.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please feel free to contact us before your next visit.
With best regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was our first trip internationally so we don't really have anything to compare this hotel with. We booked our trip through West Jet Vacations and airport transfer to the resort was effortless.

The check in was excellent and we were even upgraded to an Ocean View Room in building 5 for free. Please note there were very few people around for the first couple of days of our trip.

The grounds are beautiful, very well kept. The gardeners and maintanence staff could always be seen working their hardest painting, gardening, cleaning. The open architecture at the resort is beautiful, especially at night while raining.

The beach is much nicer than anticapated after reading the reviews on here. There is quite a bit of sea weed but the staff worked hard every morning to remove what they could. It is no trouble to find a place to swim without any sea weed and there is a nice block of coral with many fish around it right in front of the beach. The water is a little murky but still no trouble to enjoy.

Never had any issues getting a seat at the beach or pool. Speaking of the pool, they emptied it and painted it on our last day there. It is beautiful and large enough that it was never crowded. Too bad there was not a slide though.

The drinks were ok. Beer selection is limited to Presidente on tap. The drinks seemed to differ at every bar. The best bar was the bar at the reception area by far. I am horrible with names but just about every bar tender was friendly and would even remember what we were drinking. There is no swim up bar and that sucked. Kind of a long walk to get a drink if sitting at the far end of the pool. There was also very little to no service from waitresses. They basically cleaned your table but if you wanted a drink you had to go get it yourself....even after tipping the waitress.

The food was good, not great. There was always a wide variety at the buffet. The snak bar near the pool was a great touch. Always had burgers, hotdogs, nachos, fries, soft serve ice cream, popcorn. We ate at the Brazilian and Mexican a la carte's.....found the food just as good if not better at the buffet. The pasta bar at the buffet was great.
Special mention to our waiter at the buffet...Nelson....he was amazing. He always went above and beyond to ensure that we had everything we wanted or needed. Would refill our drinks, and get absolutly anything we wanted. Looked forward to his smile and service everyday.

The room we stayed at was on the third floor of building 5000. It was old and in need of some tlc but for the amount of time you spend in your room we really didn't mind. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean.....that is all that was really required of us. Maid did a great job everyday and refilled our fridge daily.

The biggest thing this resort has going for itself....the ENTERTAINMENT. The "Animation" team are amazing. I have never in my life seen a group of people work so hard to put a smile on your face. They seem to always be working. They start at 9:30 in the morning putting off events all over the resort and they can still be seen working past midnight in the disco getting people out to dance. Specials thanks to Gigi, Cappuchino, and Sexy Face. You guys are amazing and really turn this resort from ordinary to amazing. The singers and dance team are also amazing and put off a world class show everynight.

Biggest concern for me at the resort was access to internet / wifi.....very expensive and as a supposed 5 star resort should be offering this free of charge. Also, ensure that you set up an international long distance plan on your cell phone. We used the credit card service that is listed on the hotel room phone and we got raped....nearly $100.00 for 15 minutes.

Be sure to take part in some of the excursions. We did 3. Ocean world (swam with the dolpins and sharks....amazing), Paradise Island (Beautiful but a long drive....the guide was awesome though and really taught us a lot about the country) and Boogey Ride (great fun but very dirty).

So, as first timers this would be my conclusion. The service (except bar waitresses) was amazing. Entertainment again amazing. Social scene after 11:00 PM null and void. Resort propery was beautiful. Food is good but not great. Drinks are ok, but again not great.

Would not call this a 5 star but definatly a 4!!

Room Tip: Buiding 5000 or 6000 for ocean view, but pool view rooms looked just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSymesNewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear guest GSymesNewf,
First at all I would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your first trip abroad, for choosing our hotel Iberostar Costa Dorada and for posting your experience at Tripadvisor.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Maria Berbel and her team; I would like to express how glad we are to read that you had experienced a wonderful vacation despite the fact that we could not fulfill all your expectations regarding the variety of drinks and beverages. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest through the friendliness of our staff and the quality of our gastronomy.
We hope to see you again in our premises; please contact us before your next vacation.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My girlfriend and I just returned from a week at Iberostar and we both really enjoyed this place. We are in our early 40's but there were people of all ages at the resort and they did a fantastic job of catering to all age groups. There is also a very diverse nationality of the guests... German, British, Dominican, Canadian, Argentinian, and yup, even a few Americans. The nationality mix give the resort a very international feel.

This past Christmas we traveled to Punta Cana and stayed at the Bahia Principe. I would have to say that the Iberostar resort is on par with the Bahia except on a smaller scale. The biggest advantage of being smaller is that if you make friends with other guest... you will actually bump into them again during your stay. And it's not a km walk/tram ride from the lobby to the beach. The Bahia was located on Bravaro beach (one of the nicest beaches I've ever been on) Although Dorada beach is very nice and well maintained by Iberostar and Go Live... It's not as nice as Bravaro beach.

The food was top notch. There was a little bit of everything to choose from (it was all excellent) and since we were only there for 7 days the buffet never got boring. I advise checking out the Brazilian restaurant because the meat is stellar.

The entertainment staff was fantastic. All of them work very hard to make things fun. A special comment of excellence goes to Gigi who's happy enthusiasm really made our trip memorable.

All of the staff... house keeping, to gardeners, front desk, cooks, waiting staff, bar tenders, etc.. were friendly and accommodating. Always had a smile and willing to go the extra mile. The people make or break a resort and Iberostar has great staff.

The rooms were very well maintained and clean. Mini bar was always well stocked with water beer and pop.

I think this resort was a great value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jupi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Mr. Jupi,
We would like to thank you for writing a review about your stay at the Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel and for choosing our premises for your holidays.
In the name of Mrs. Maria Berbel, Hotel Manager, and her team, I want to express our satisfaction to read that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your visit to our hotel due to the friendliness of our staff members, the cleanness of our grounds and the variety of our gastronomy. In Iberostar those are part of our guiding principles. I am glad to read that our entertainers as well as waiters, bartenders, receptionist, among many others, did a remarkable work giving you a personalized treatment.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please feel free to contact us before your next visit,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I have recently returned home from Costa Dorada, after spending 3 weeks at this fabulous resort. This was our 7th visit to this hotel and will definately not be our last.

From the moment Mario, from guest services greeted us on arrival to the moment we left, we were made to feel very special.
The staff at this resort are very professional, polite and welcoming, you will never see them without a smile on their faces.
There has been an ongoing renovation of the rooms with redecoration and an upgrade to flat screen tv's (why this was ever a problem with some guests is beyond me) This has given them a light, fresh feel
The food was as good as ever, lots of choice catering for many tastes and nationalities. Be prepared to pile on some pounds.
Having said that there have been some minor cut backs in this area as prawns/shrimp were a regular in the buffet restaurant and now you rarely see them.
The gardens are always immaculate, the flowers and plants are beautiful and the lawned areas well kept.
The hotel beach does get quite a bit of seaweed near the waters edge, hey its the sea thats were it comes from and there is not alot, apart from their clean up operation during the day, the hotel staff can do to stop this from happenning.
There is a wide choice of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks available here including premium brands such as Gordons gin and Johnie Walker whiskey. You do have to ask for these specifically but there is never a problem with the bar staff if this is what you would prefer.
All in all this is a wonderful and welcoming resort and has our hearts won over completely
Thank you again Costa dorada

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rossy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest Rossy3,
First at all, we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada again as your destination for your vacation, thanks for your loyalty towards our hotel and for taking time to write some comments about your stay among us.
In the name of the Hotel Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel Manager, Maria Berbel, we want to express how glad we are to read that you had an excellent seventh but not last visit to our hotel beautiful premises and facilities. In Iberostar we are committed to upkeep our grounds, to provide the best service and to serve a wide range of beverages and dishes. We are pleased to read that we could accomplish our commitments with you. We appreciate your motivating comments and we are thankful for your words.
We are already looking forward to see you in our facilities for an eighth time, please feel free to contact us again before, so we can assist you.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
2.1 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.0 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
2.0 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
2.0 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
13.1 km away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Property: Iberostar Costa Dorada
Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Visit Us Inc., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing