We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For What We Spent; Be STERN w/ Timeshare Ppl”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good For What We Spent; Be STERN w/ Timeshare Ppl”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Got back today from a 5 day visit to Blue Bay. I will try to break this up best I can......

My boyfriend arrived at POP bright and early and easily got a cab to Blue Bay for 35 total. The ride was easy and QUICK. After grabbing a cab we realized how silly it would have been to go such a short distance in a bus or airport van!

Check in was very easy as we arrived by 11am. We were told to have a seat in the lobby. The gentleman came over with freshly scented cool cloths and our package with an explanation as to our stay at BB. However check-in was at 3pm so our room was not ready. No big deal we went into our luggage, changed, and got our pool bag ready. Our baggage was watched while we started at the pool.

Right before we went to the pool we went by guest services (where you make your restaurant reservations) and requested times. We were offered seafood and oriental restaurants the two last nights of our stay at 9pm which was fine with us. We recieved our slips for dinner and were on our way to the pool.

The pool was great. We never had to get up super early to get the same exact lounge chairs at the main pool. We simply dropped our towels off around 9 on the way to breakfast. Never had an issue.

Back to our first day, around 3pm we went to the front desk to see If our room was ready. We were told it was. We were lead to a room right near the stage. (we requested a king bed). When we entered we saw two queen sized beds pushed together?? We were a bit confused as to how this even made sense. It took up almost all free space in the room and we would both end up on one of the beds because otherwise we would be sleeping in the crease in the middle? It would have been fine if it was just one queen bed. We don't normally make a fuss over something like that but it was a bit Annoying\pointless so we told the front desk and they had us moved within a half hour to a second floor room right by the main pool with a king bed, lots of space and basic. PERFECT room, much much better. Yes we paid for a safe (took a while to figure out since directions were all en Espanol).

Room service was great once they figured out we switched rooms. Towels were always fresh, as long as we left pool towels we got fresh new ones in return. They even delivered water and MORE towels later in the day a few times at our door.

Food at the buffet was basic but doable, breakfast was the best, then lunch, then dinner in my opinion. We arrived on a sunday and the buffets got better as the days went on. We ate there the first two days all three meals and needed a break once our restaurant reservations started so that was nice. Seafood and oriental restaurants were really nice and a bit more special which was appreciated. We had the fried chicken at the beach bar one day which was tasty!!

At night we went to dinner then Watched the shows and hung out at the beach bar after fir some more cocktails. We really liked the ambiance of the beach bar at night. The shows were always entertaining, everyone works really hard. Both my boyfriend and I work/live in Manhattan and were really impressed with the shows.

The staff.........STAFF.....was fantastic, meaning; animation crew, service, bartenders, cleaning crew, restaurant staff etc. Everyone was very friendly and we did tip, especially bartenders and we were treated extra special with the better rum.

(this is where the problem ensued) We did not appreciate being approached by timeshare people ON the resort who acted like they were all friendly only to the next day guilt you into going to a "presentation" after we said we were not interested. One tried to befriend us and said that if we want to do excursions to let him know (at the beach) we said ok but we won't. The next day he guilted us by saying this is how he makes money and would appreciate if we went to this "presentation" just to listen for his sake. So, we went. No one ever said it was for timeshares before OR during. They made it seem like iit was for customer reviews of their stay. We basically had an absurd 30 mins in the little house on the bridge to the beach and were pretty sure we were insulted in Spanish to our faces and asked what we paid for the trip? Absurd. We never made it to the slideshow because We stayed tough and left lol. After that we weren't hassled anymore but we felt a bit stalked by these people before. It really stressed us out because this is our VACATION and we get enough stress in our every day lives. I never saw yellow shirts on these guys...... they had white collared shirts with hats and khaki pants). I think it said blue bay on their shirts. You don't know any better than to talk to them especially if it's your first day bc they look like regular workers. But VERY FIRMLY say NO or else you will be constantly be annoyed.

Overall (Aside from that) it was a good stay....relaxing. I would say its a relaxing couples resort. Not for singles, not a party atmosphere. VERY clean. Adults only = huge plus. It rained a lot on our stay and there is not much to do when this happens.Beds were very hard as were pillows.

We feel as thought we got our $1500 for 2 people for 5 days hotel and flights worth. Won't be back because we want to go to other destinations, and just weren't overwhelmed......But it was an enjoyable 3/5 stars.

Room Tip: Beware of sales pitches on premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KFNY85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,253
    1,399
    583
    256
    182
See reviews for
492
3,127
193
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was our third year in a row at Blue Bay and again we loved it .Food was great (my husband thought it was better this year) .We have no complaints about this resort at all . WE HAVE FOUND A PLACE THAT SUITS ALL OF OUR NEEDS AND WILL GO BACK AGAIN NEXT YEAR .I have read some bad reviews on here and I guess some are legit and some not. For us it is the perfect vacation.

Room Tip: I prefer a room overlooking the pool / diningroom .Some people find it a bit noisy there but it gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mmmlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nova scotia, canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My wife and I spent 2 weeks at BlueBay.We really enjoyed our time there mainly because of the fantastic staff employed at the resort.From the front desk staff,dining room staff,to the bartenders and wait staff, this group would be the envy of any hotel operator here in Canada.The resort is relatively small which was a selling point for us.We are not fans of mega resorts where it's easy to get lost in the crowd.There is an intimacy at BlueBay which is hard to find elsewhere.
Granted, this is not a luxury resort but it suited our needs to a tee.The rooms are a decent size, very clean but could use a bit of upgrading.The grounds are very well tended to and there was always someone clipping or raking and generally making sure things looked as they should. The beach was superb.There were plenty of shelters to offer shade and the beach was raked every morning.The security guard,Vergilio, met everyone as they arrived on the beach and got them lounge chairs every day.He's the hardest working man I ever met.
The beach vendors were there every day, as well.We got to know 2 personally. Cheapy Willie sold local crafts and Luis was arranging tours and excursions.These 2 gentlemen are 2 of the finest people I ever had the pleasure of meeting.Do yourself a favour and chat with them when you're there.If you're not interested in buying anything, a simple "no thank you" is all it takes and they do not become offended.The same applies to the folks selling time shares.This is how these people support their families so refuse if you must but , please be nice to them. Another honourable mention goes to Pablo, the beach bartender, who actually went out on the beach and took drink orders from the guests and served them with a smile.
In the evenings we enjoyed the entertainment provided by the animation staff and the company of 2 of the sweetest waitresses there, Yaneli and Lucy, both absolute delights,
We enjoyed Puerto Plata because it was the first time we could leave the resort and go for a walk and feel safe doing it.The area is a resort area for tourists and has 24 hour security.There's a small shopping area very close to BlueBay and that provided a nice evening walk for my wife and me. Also, there is a very nice looking golf course across the street from the resort itself.
So,if you're looking for a nice, relatively quiet resort, I recommend BlueBay. If you're looking for a large, luxury resort with lots of people, keep looking. Oh, the rooms by the spa, in buildings 6,7 and 8 are the quietest for those who like to get to bed early.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here for two weeks back in March 2011 and absolutely loved it. I have never felt so relaxed after a holiday as i did with this one. You just had to walk 10 minutes around the coast to be in your own tropical paradise. The food was lovely and the staff and locals friendly. A friend told me about this resort and i am glad i booked it. If it wasn't for the fact that we like to see the world we would definately go back. We travelled to Puerto Plata via cab and took the cable car to the top of the mountain and were met with spectacular views and a tropical garden with a rather large statue of Jesus overseeing all. We also went on a monster truck tour that took us into the hills and to see the real Dominican way of life, rode a horse through the countryside like a cowboy, drove the buggies all over and stopped to meet the locals and gave out sweets, biscuits, pencils and paper to the children. We took a catamaran trip and snorkeled. We strolled down the beach until we came to a little beach bar/restaurant called Elvis and stopped to have a beer or 3 under the palms, listening to the waves and chatting with the locals about life. We went back on our last day and gave them all our clothes, sunglasses, etc as this is all very much appreciated. I had my nails done hands and feet with massage on the beach and bought loads of bits and gifts. Beach guys and girls were all friendly. The hotel has an in house entertainment crew but if you want to be left alone you can. The restaurants are lovely, but we particularly enjoyed the seafood restaurant on the beach as we were spoilt rotten. Thankyou to Bluebay and staff for such a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: We were given a smoking room at first so asked to be moved, as we do not smoke and this was done imm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spenny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Myself and my partner decided this would be an ideal place to celebrate our joint 40th birthdays which we had a few weeks before and thought as this was our first ever holiday without the children, we'd try an adults only hotel, hoping for some peace and quiet. This was the only disappoinment with this hotel due to middle-aged Canadian holidaymakers seemingly trying to turn it into an 18-30 experience. We couldn't use the two main pools as it was impossible to relax with the amount of noise coming from them and numerous nights we were woken up at 4am and 5am by drunken screaming, shouting and banging of doors. We hoped that when they went after 2 days of our stay that this would improve but they were only replaced by a party even more hell bent on causing mayhem. We witnessed a near fight in the restaurant one evening and once we returned home, we learned from people we met over there, that there was a full blown fight in the entertainment area on the night we left.
We did however find a quiet pool area (albeit a very small pool) that was ideal for us which was tucked away round the back. This was an ideal chill out zone and would recommend this to anybody wanting peace and quiet.
The food was all good, with a good selection on offer at breakfast, lunch, evening and if that wasn't enough at night in the beach bar as well. The staff were all excellent, with in particular Carlos the waiter in the restaurant in the evening being an absolute star!
The rooms were pretty basic which was fine as we only wanted to be in them to get changed and to sleep but everywhere was very clean.
Other people we spoke to there had the same concerns as us in regards to the noise with one guy saying he thought he'd walked into a swingers party the first time he saw the main pool area.
We didn't encounter too much in the way of time share pushers and on the beach once we said you weren't interested in anything, we were left well alone.
Overall the hotel and holiday were very good. We met other couples over there and hope we will be friends for life with them and have many good memories from Blue Bay. If it wasn't for some of the other unsavoury guests there, it would have had 5 stars rather than 4.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room tucked away round the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We read all the reviews on trip advisor and made an executive decision that this offered the best value for money option for our holiday. We booked 2 weeks in Novemeber 2011 via Thomas Cook and I can safely say we were very very pleasantly surprised.

Firstly the hotel: it was clean, it had good facilities, it was a lot better looking than some of the hotels we saw (went on a couple of trips and so picked up people from other hotels on the journey and were able to be a bit nosy!)

The pool: there are 3 pools. All are very clean and pretty well maintained. The sun loungers weren't the most comfortable I've ever sat on but they were good enough. The big double beds were lovely....but if it had rained they tended to fill with water which didn't drain away.The main pool has the pool bar and was always buzzing but never crowded. The second pool was next to it and was normally empty apart from the daily Pool Volleyball which got very competitive! great fun even if you just watch! The 3rd pool is in a quieter area by the spa. We didn't go there much as we enjoyed the hustle and bustle of the main pool, but others said it was nice.

The Beach: Get there early if you want to get an umbrella....this was the only problem, as the sun is hot and the rain is heavy! The beds are more comfy on the beach....take a little money to tip the nice guy who runs and gets you one. The sea can get a bit churned up when there has been a storm or wind, but it is only sea weed and other than that, it is very clean.There is a nice bar there and often the barman will come and bring drinks to you on the beach when he isn't too busy. To be honest he comes over whether you tip him or not, but we always gave him a little to say thank you. There is also a beach cafe- this serves damn good burgers and fried chicken. It's not always the healthiest but it was a good treat and was a change of scenery from the buffet.

The rooms: Yes, they are basic but they are very clean and ours was well maintained. We did have a room which was next to the pool area and the music was a bit noisy at night when we wanted an early night, but it was always over by 11pm, and you can request a quiet room.

The staff: the staff were a real highlight for us. From the sunbed guy to the manager, everyone was well presented, polite, friendly and would go out of their way to help you. I read lots of reviews about how you have to tip people to get anything etc.....we have to be honest and say that we didn't tip anyone during our stay apart from the sunbed guy and the guy who bought us drinks. We chose to wait until the last day and give something to the people who we really felt had made our holiday fantastic....the lady who makes the fresh smoothies every morning, the guy who made us omelettes every day and most importantly the animation crew who were the absolute hightlight of our holiday. Mayo, George, James Bond, Coca Cola, Teddy and Commando were all fantastic. From morning til night they were full of energy and enthusiasm. They brought the whole place together with their hilarious antics....and their competitive volleyball matches.
If you wanted to join in with stuff you could, if you didn't you just had to say no. There were plenty of ways to join in as well.....you didn't have to get involved in cocktail making. For example there was a lovely Canadian lady who somehow ended up refereeing all our volleyball matches, and there was a briliiantly competitive couple who entered every single competition- and won most of them! Our highlight has to be Teddy doing water aerobics in torrential rain...still wearing his pink sunglasses....and of course James Bond and his fantastic dressing up box.
George and Mayo were 2 of the nicest guys you could meet- they were friendly and genuine and I really loved the chats we had with them about their family and their lives.

The food: Surprisingly good. The buffet was a liitle repetitive and there were some interesting desserts, but overall, for an all inclusive, it was excellent. The fresh pasta dishes and the omelettes were exceptionally good. The a la carte restaurants were awful...don't bother. Whilst they were a nice change of scenery, they were all pretty grim and most of us finished our meals there and went straight to the buffet.

The trips: do some trips.....we climbed the waterfalls which was challenging, but fantastic. We also took a long trip the capital. Not many people do this, but we booked an awesome trip through the guy in the reception area and it was well worth the early start. Really showed us a new side of Dominican Republic.

Will you get hassled.....yes. A little. The yellow shirt time share guys will try and get you to chat and go to their presentation on the first couple of days you are there. just say no...clearly and walk away. They get the message very quickly. On the beach....you will get offered all sorts of jewellry, braiding, massages etc. If you want to buy, buy....why not? These guys have to make a living. Yes, they do make a lot of noise, but you sort of get used to it in the background, and actually I quite enjoyed watching them going about their daily business. Look our for Cheapy Willy....he's famous! "What about me!?"

Would I go again? 100%. In fact we are booking to go again in 2013 right now.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fifib01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent 2 weeks at this hotel and had a great time. The rooms are pretty standard so don't expect luxury - not a problem if you don't plan to spend much time there. Hotel facilities are great! entertainment all day and night if you want it. we started the day with a bike ride or yoga on the beach, followed by water aerobics and volleyball and then the evening entertainment which was different every night.

For an all inclusive, the food was decent. You get a good selection of food each night and the restaurants break it up. The staff are great! so fun and include everyone. The beach isn't great; lots of seaweed and dirt but not the end of the world for us.

In terms of excursions, we did the following:

Waterfalls:45 USD pp - booked at the plaza
Paradise island: 55USD pp - booked at the plaza (not worth it if you have been to some of the islands in thailand but ok for a trip if you want)
Ocean world Royal dolphin swim (1hour): 199USD each - only worth it if you love dolphins
Horse riding: 40USD pp - booked through hotel
Bravissimo: 59USD for both - not really worth it, show is only an hour long

We met a lot of people who have visited this hotel previously which shows they must be doing something right!

Hope this helps :)

Room Tip: Get a room away from the entertainment centre! anything in block 6, 7 and 8 is good i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seema V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.5 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,060 reviews
2.2 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,784 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,478 reviews
2.0 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,252 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Property: BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing