We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Inclusive 5 star Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Be Live Collection Marien
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Awesome people, beautiful resort and will be returning. Our room we had was exactly like the picture. The a la carte restaurants were delicious. Staff was friendly and all so very helpful. I would not hesitate to go back here over and over again. 5 star all the way.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank cfelix2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 4,092 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

When a resort cannot replace water stained and dried, wrinkled paper advertisements in a room; or matches where one of the rows of matches were used; it speaks volumes as to what image they are sending.

What followed was an unwatchable tv on the fritz, stained towels, stained bathroom counter, and dried floss stuck on the wall where the trash can was. This is the attention to detail of a 2* hotel. It gets 3* in my opinion for the full service, meaning 24 hour available food. Period.

Mosquitoes. This is Zika territory. It's expected that at a so called luxury resort, the confines of the guest rooms ought to be sealed well enough to not expect more than the odd mosquito getting in. Not here. In a 24 hour period I killed 9 in the room.

White wine served while not expected to be great wine for an all inclusive should not be spoiled wine. The glass I tried to finish at lunch likely came from a bottle opened the previous day which in the humidity of the Caribbean made it spoil and turpentine-like.

Tablecloths as mentioned by another review are stained and filthy when sitting down at the buffet.

The tiny cheap soft plastic cups used for drinks is a minor nuisance, but again reflects a less than 4* resort.

I'm sure that this is a resort of two levels in two different seasons. One of better service during high season, and one of reduced staffing, and therefore, reduced service, during low season. This was hurricane season and was clearly low season. Thank goodness Hurricane Irma forced us to evacuate after one night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ceboya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We just spent 7 days at the Be Live Marien in Puerto Plato and it was an awesome vacation.
The staff was amazing and made sure e everything was perfect. Everyone had a smile every time you met them.
We were there when hurricane Irma went thru and the staff made sure we were safe and looked after and had everything we needed.
There was some damage and it took the staff a day to clean everything up so that it was perfect again the next day.
Our room was large and always made up with fresh towels and a restocked beer fridge.
Special staff was Melvin and German at the pool bar who looked after us amazingly!! Nancy at housekeeping was the most amazing woman ever! She was sweet and kind and had a heart of gold.
The entertainment staff who are Chocolate.spaguetis.vladimir.cesar.luis David were funny and kept everything lively and everyone busy if you wanted to be.
The reception, restaurants and all who work there are happy, friendly and made you feel welcome.
We will definitely be back and would advise anyone to come here!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank clcfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

To start off I've been coming to this resort every year since 2014, and is a phenomenal resort. The service here is like no other and the "animación group" is very good to their guests, such as chocolate, mr. mosquito, Vladimir, and ceaser, and espaghatti. I hope to come back next year

Stayed: September 2017
3  Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Cesar Perez was awesome !! Along with the rest of the staff here ! Awesome time . The show was great as well ! Everyone's so kind here ! The drinks were great ! The food was awesome and we traveled during a hurricane! They made sure everyone was safe and still entertained and well fed !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We were in room 8209. As we walked in. We smelled the stench of mouldy air! Disgusting. Room cleanliness was good. AC. Great. Buffet and pool were very nice. I recommend this place. But be sure that you can get a room without the mouldy smell.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Just returned on Sunday after 2 weeks. first impressions not good. My wife paid for an upgraded room, which had no hot water, a toilet that would not flush and a broken marble surround to the sink. we asked them to fix the toilet which they did not manage to do and were told that the hot water temperature was normal.we lost the first day of the holiday while waiting for another room to become available.
After first being offered a room in front of the towel station which we refused as it was very noisy, we were moved to another room on the top floor at the rear of the block which was ok but even the plug in the bath did not work and it took 3 days of asking at reception and eventually getting our rep to speak to them before it was fixed.
The biggest problem with this resort is service or the lack of it. In the main restaurant it is difficult to attract attention of a waiting staff to order drinks, table clearance is erratic, sometimes plates are removed before you finish other times plates are left on the tables while you are eating dessert. tablecloths are not changed from one service to the next, i noticed the same stains on a tablecloth at breakfast that were there at dinner the night before. On the whole the food is not bad in the main restaurant, however the service and food at the 3 A la carte restaurants was very good and quite theatrical in the Brazilian restaurant.
There is no service at all around the pool and no staff collecting empty drinks which are just soft plastic single use cups. As a scuba diver i was dismayed at this as most of this plastic eventually ends up in the sea. surely it would be more cost effective to use reusable plastic cups that can be washed and generally don't end up blowing all round the resort.
There were plenty of sunbeds but not enough shade, all parasols were built in, non movable and you had to be out early in the morning to claim one.
My Wife likes using the Spa but found that it was over $100 dollars for a massage, she did have a manicure and pedicure and was left waiting for 25 minutes by the therapist who was late, the quality of the treatment was average.
Our Maid was very good but the make up of the room was erratic, sometimes the room was still not made up by late afternoon and on several occasions we had to go and ask for towels.
The weekends the place is like Butlins for the locals the main restaurant is a riot with not enough staff so you are best to book the restaurants for a civilised experience.
My daughter and i are both experienced scuba divers, i booked our diving with Dressel Divers located on the beach in the Iberostar hotel next door, if you like watersports i would recommend them as they had plenty of staff and really looked after us well during all our diving days. they also hire kayaks and catamarans as well as snorkelling trips and diving courses.
The hotel rates itself 5 Star, Thomson rate it 4 Star i would say 3 star with a few 4 star attributes (A La carte Restaurants)
We have a benchmark and compare our holidays to the service and value for money that we receive whenever we go to Egypt, which is second to none.
This resort does not come close in either category. for what we payed for this holiday we could of had 2 14 day holidays in Egypt.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
1.7 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,196 reviews
2.1 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,624 reviews
2.2 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.2 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,518 reviews
1.8 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Collection Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Marien

Address: Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $115 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Collection Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Collection Marien is an all-inclusive 5-star resort in Puerto Plata, located in the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. With a privileged location synonymous of beautiful settings and its heavenly beaches, it is a perfect place to spend a relaxing vacation whether it is for a romantic getaway or for a family fun adventure. The resort features a spa, nearby golf course for guests and event facilities ideal for hosting special events. This complex is located 1 hour from Santiago de Los Caballeros, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata, known for its rum factories and 30 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Be Live Collection Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing