We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Outback Adventures tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Outback Adventures
from US$89.00
More Info
from US$79.00
More Info
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,108 results
Traveller rating
935
128
31
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
935
128
31
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boogie boarding local school fried chicken our tour guide body boarding local home family home secluded beach free massage eddy murphy dominican republic school visit sugar cane dominican house a typical dominican home pineapple wine coffee beans
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 1,108 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I did this excursion and loved it. We had ‘Eddy Murphy’ as our tour guide and Ramon for our driver/bartender. We couldn’t have asked for anyone better! Ramon’s driving skills was superb and he was a great bartender. Eddy’s knowledge of the Dominican culture was free spoken and easy to understand. The plantation we were taken to was amazing to see. Along the way a local lady was making fresh cassava and Eddy stopped the truck just to buy some so we could try it. It was delicious. The local school was really cool to see. If you can bring some school supplies for them they really appreciate it. At the end of the day we had a tradition Dominican dinner that was delicious. We would highly recommend this excursion if you would like to get out of he resorts and see what Dominican really has to offer.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Destination759888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger K, General Manager at Outback Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Hi there. Thank you for this great review and recommendation. We are proud of our crew and the lengths they will go to exceed our guests expectations.We will certainly pass on your compliments to Eddie and Ramon. We hope to see you here again soon enjoying the great things and adventures that Puerto Plata has to offer. Best wishes from the Outback Adventure team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We went during half term so the school was not open however still managed to go in and experience it All, our guides were Manny and daniel where by far the most entertaining and informative guide! Huge credit to Manny and Daniel! We love you!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Billie-Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger K, General Manager at Outback Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Hi Billy-Jo. Thank you so much for the thumbs up. We will happily pass on your compliments and love to Manny and Daniel. Best wishes from the entire Outback Adventure team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

This was one of our highlights the Outback tours are great fun , our tour guide was Eddy and he just made the day brilliant. The Outback Adventures do so much for the community and put so much back into the community it is a tour that I would highly recommend to do and if you can get on the truck with Eddy Murphy you will have the best day just ask for Eddy Murphy you won’t regret it .

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank eddieg943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger K, General Manager at Outback Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hi Eddie G. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. Our community is our home and we remain committed to donate, assist and support it in any way we can. Thank you for the shout-out. We will also be happy to pass on your compliments to Eddie. Best wishes...:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Booked this tour on recommendations.

Was nice to see about more of the island and body boarding was fun. Just seemed abit of a money spinner all day. Felt quite uncomfortable visiting the school. School had WiFi and the teacher was on Facebook so seemed very staged. No doubt a poor country. But the countinal asking of money was getting abit much to buy stuff was abit much.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger K, General Manager at Outback Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hi Daniel. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am not sure which school you visited...but judging by the Wifi observation it was probably the larger city-type school. We make a stop here if the country roads to our small elementary school are damaged by rains...which I believe was the case. Although this particular school gives you a good idea of a larger local government funded school, the smaller countryside school resembles the older day school houses. Outback adventures helps provide for these 2 schools' elementary sections and other community support projects... a good portion of the proceeds come from our sales of logo items and merchandise. We do promote these sales at certain points on our tours and we try to be very subtle about it. If you found it overbearing, I apologize. Perhaps your guide over-extended himself and we will address this at our next staff get-together. Once again, thank you for your time and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

This tour was the most fun part of the trip! This tour provided better fun than the resort and I spent way more money for!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Cocovaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger K, General Manager at Outback Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Hi Cocovaca. Thank you for this kind review. Cultural tours can be fun eh? We are so happy that you came with us and had a great time. Cheers ! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews