We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Casa Colonial is a true gem of a hotel with more of a private club feel than hotel. We were treated like old, dear friends from the minute we arrived at the front gate of this charming spot nestled secretly among the all-inclusives at Playa Dorado. CC is a delight in every aspect but the caring, attentive staff deserves special recognition--they seemed to know everyone's room number and even remembered little but important things. The rooms are large, the beach is beautiful and the pool deck with infinity edges and hot tubs overlooking the ocean are spectacular and inviting.
Casa Colonial offers two types of dining: outstanding casual offerings for breakfast and lunch with great service which can be had in their restaurant, on the pool deck, on the beach or seemingly anywhere. During the evening they open their elegant Lucia Restaurant which reinforces the private club-like atmosphere with a quiet setting offering fine international cuisine with stylish service. The wine list, while extensive, is a bit pricey.
Overall this hotel/resort could compete successfully against pricier and better known competitors.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnemirow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

Like previous posters have said, this property and its staff are unique to Playa Dorado. I can't say enough positives about the facility and grounds...like a little Eden oasis, filled with songbirds, the soothing sounds of running water, and blooming orchids draping from every tree. Just beautiful. The rooms were large and comfy (we had a tropical superior, garden view) with Frette sheets and towels. Housekeeping was unobtrusive and thorough..providing turndown service as well as a daily clean. The front desk staff and everyone..I mean everyone...went out of their way to greet us and make sure that we had everything we needed. Frankly, I'm not sure why the owners decided to put this gem in the middle of an all inclusive enclave, as the hotel is clearly different from its neighbors. The beach was blah. We live in the Turks and Caicos, so our expectations are high...and found it to be littered and seaweedy. But that's not the hotel's fault. My husband tried a massage and was very pleased and I hung out on the rooftop pool which was spotless and well designed.

The restaurant, Lucia, was one of the best I have EVER eaten in. We ate there for 5 nights and were astounded by the chef's inventive cuisine. By any standard, it was great...by Caribbean standards, it was phenomenal.

Bottom line: If you are looking for an intimate, boutique hotel with a fabulous restaurant, this is the place. I just wish it were in a better location (not surrounded by all inclusives), on a better beach...but once you are inside the grounds, it is magical.

Room Tip: I would choose 2nd or 3rd floor...tropical view of the grounds and lagoon were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Thank goodness I found this place! It's a haven of tranquility in a slew of mid-end all-inclusives. If your idea of a holiday is NOT to just unwind and relax I'd recommend this place. Upscale, respectful and the food is wonderful along with a great spa. The pool on the roof is simply fabulous as is the bar!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveboats2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Last year I was looking to book a romantic trip to the Dominican Republic with my partner so we did some research on where to stay. We were looking for a resort that was beautiful, on the beach and had delicious restaurants and spa treatments. Casa Colonial Beach & Spa absolutely met all of our qualifications, so we booked our flight!
We absolutely fell in love with the gorgeous colonial architecture and the sandy beaches of Playa Dorada.
From the moment we arrived we were treated as if we were royalty. The staff was always very attentive and friendly, making sure we had everything we needed.
We had romantic brunches on our balcony, dinner for two on the beach and relaxed by the pool and beach for the rest of the day.
While my partner was out golfing during the afternoon I stayed behind and had the hot stone massage and salt and gem exfoliation which were both wonderful! You can even book to have your spa treatment in the gazebo in front of the water.
We stayed in the deluxe ocean view suite which I highly recommend. It had a spacious balcony, roman style bathtub and even has 24- hour room service which is always a big plus!
We also went to Lucia's which is their best restaurant for dinner. The quality of the food was superb, most likely due to their award winning chef!!
Overall, we absolutely loved our 5 night stay in Casa Colonial and would highly recommend it for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hotel was beautiful, and the staff was very accommodating. The food at Lucia restaurant was excellent, with a lot of options. However, if you were to try to dine outside of the hotel, there was actually very little to chose from.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor (third floor), and I just asked for a quiet room. However, when we were ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We went to Casa Colonial for 3 nights for our anniversary after some research thru internet. The choice was 100% correct. It really was perfect choice from the staff,to the hotel ambiance, facilities, beach, the food and the other guest.

The property was top shape, Beatiful, Elegant, Peacefull, Relaxing with marmol wall to wall. The pool and rofftop Hot Jacuzzi was real different and private open 24hr.

Casa Colonial food was A LA Carta prepare by Chef Pablo from Barcelona Spain and his staff. We had the opportunity to meet him and follow his recomendations, the Shrimp Carpacho was excellent, the ceviche , the angus meat, the lobster and the desserts not to forget the breakfast "mangu". All very tastefull and well presented on the dish.

We also rent a car and drive around to Cabarrete and Sosua nearby beaches, beautiful places very noisy and full of activities. Driving was Crazy although not worst than other places we have been.

The spa facilities and gym was as perfect with very professional massagist.

This Boutique Hotel is one of a Kind.

Dr Ricardo Fontanet

Room Tip: We had ocean view. We walk around and all 50 rooms looks very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky-Cari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

What a place that is. I would say, one of a kind in Puerto Plata, the Punta Cana of the 80s and early 90s. The attention that my wife, my daughter and myself got since we reach was fantastic. The room, the restaurants, the service were five stars. Congratulations to the Garcia family for such a wonderful place in my beloved Dominican Republic. People like Karen at the main office, Juan and Agustin at the pool bar and Francisco at breakfast time make proud to be a Dominican. Hope to see you soon guys.

Room Tip: Junior suite facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinez s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,146 reviews
0.2 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
2.1 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,576 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
2.3 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $243 - $854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colonial Beach & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exotic north coast of the Dominican Republic and directly on the crystal water, Casa Colonial Beach & Spa is the ultimate, world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Casa Colonial Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Casa Colonial Beach And Spa
Hotel Casa Colonial Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing