We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“11th visit to Punta Cana-The Royal Suites Turquesa has been the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nova Scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“11th visit to Punta Cana-The Royal Suites Turquesa has been the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Royal Suites from March 11-24th. Each year we travel with another couple and choose a different resort for new experiences. This has been our best trip with the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar, Dreams Punta Cana, and Dreams Palm Beach close seconds. The Gran Palladium complex is very large and as Royal Suites guests we had access to all - not a problem getting around as there was never a wait for transportation to the other sections. We did, however, generally prefer staying in the Royal Suites section. Everything was always very clean.

The staff are all wonderful - pleasant, polite, and very helpful. Tipping and/or small gifts are appreciated by all - particularly the gardners, people who sort the re-cylclables, and staff cleaning the public washrooms so please remember them as well. Oscar, our Butler was fantastic - spoke five languages - he made all our dinner reservations and when we had a small problem with the hair dryer in the room - he had a replacement one there in minutes. We were told that 60% of the Domincian economy comes from tourism and how much they appreciate the travellers.

The restaurants were very nicely decorated and always had a nice selection including those of us who are fussy - always had vegetarian options - We liked the Italian and French the best. It was never more than a five minute wait to access one of the computers in the main lobby which had wifi for those who brought laptops. There is a spa (Renova) - I used the gym regularly as part of a physio routine for health reasons. I generally went mid afternoon and it was never busy at that time - equipment was very modern.

The rooms closest to the beach were in need of an update and had a musty smell. They did however have an oceanview from some of these rooms. We opted for one of the newer buildings #5 and very quiet). Room was beautiful - very updated, no smell and everything you could need in the room - maximum five minute walk to the beach. No need to bring shampoo, conditioner, soap, body lotion, etc as it was all there. They also had travel toothbrushes, toothpaste, bath robes and a hairbrush in the room.

Note: The beverage selection is rated lower as I only like Gran Marnier and they did not have this (both Dreams did and the Ambar made it available when I had commented on it)

Hats off to the management and staff of The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium!

Hope to see you next year!

The Langlois'

Room Tip: Building closest to the beach are older, in need of some updates, and had a slight musty smell. Cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NiceNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,514
    970
    427
    196
    118
See reviews for
526
3,629
66
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have travelled the world and are very fussy. With this in mind it speaks volumes that we have now been to this resort twice in the past two years. The value for money is second to none, from the quality of alcoholic beverages available to the restaurants to choose from and the amazing staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at The Royal Suites Turquesa for 7 nights beginning March 24th. Overall, great location, beautiful room, fabulous food at all the restaurants and very relaxing. If you are looking for a deluxe hotel in Punta Cana with no kids, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lady_Travel_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We arrived and found that either the travel agent, sunwing or the resort screwed up the room we requested. We asked for a room close to the beach. We ended uo at the building the furthest away from the beach.
The lobby is small and in previous reviews the check in is slow.
The new section (delux ) with the swim up rooms is isolated. No more then 8 to 10 people per day sharing three pools.
Being in this section, make sure you bring your walking shoes.
When in this section, you have to travel through the lobby both ways to be on the beach.
I will make further comments in the days to come.
If you like FIVE Star Resorts follow my comments.
You will not class this as a 5 star.
The 5 Star Guy

Room Tip: ask for the older side, close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We returned from The Royal Suites Turquesa on March 19, 2012. We were looking for something quiet and relaxing. We found it there although it's a huge place all together. It's a great place: great accommodation, food and especially service. In RST you receive royal treatment! We were very happy especially with our swim up room.
We had wonderful vacations there and I would recommed it with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms further from lobby seem to be more quiet and newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Colborne, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed the week of March 11/12 at The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium in Punta Cana. We booked through WestJet Vacations flying out of Hamilton, Ontario, but made reservations with VIP Travel Services for private transfers from the Punta Cana airport to the resort and back again. When we arrived in Punta Cana,at least 6 other planes that had arrived at the same time. It was an absolute zoo inside the airport terminal waiting to clear customs; it took almost an hour and a half. Once we finally cleared customs, our bags had already been taken off the carousel, our name was posted at the VIP Trave Services booth and we were in the van and at the resort in about 20 minutes.

During check-in, which was quick, we asked if there was a possibility to upgrade to a swim-up suite. The desk clerk said there was one available and had the bellman take us to see if we like it and we did, with no question. Getting the swim-up suite was the best thing we could have done, it was perfect having your own part of the pool, and we had the afternoon sun as well. The resort is beautiful and very well groomed and the suites are very spacious and clean, we stayed in building 57 in the new section. We ate at the 2 restaurants exclusive to RST (the Gourmet and Chanterelle), as well as a dinner at each of (the Brazilian restaurant), Mare Nostrum (the Mediterranean), La Parrilla Streakhouse and Trattoria (Italian), very new restaurants. All the meals were good, but we wouldn’t say they were excellent (we are used to cruise fare). The meal at Trattoria was the most disappointing, but the T-Bone steak at the Steakhouse, the Sirloin at the Gourmet and the Chateau Brion at Chanterelle were all excellent. We ate all our breakfasts at the Gourmet, which were all good; there was lots of fresh fruit to choose from and lots of other variety.

Overall we loved the resort and our stay there and will likely stay there again, but will definitely want another swim-up suite. I do have a couple of items of constructive criticism and they by no means overshadowed our stay. First, the butlers need to be better informed. The internet access in the suites went down the morning of our 4th day and they didn’t know why. It wasn’t until I called the front desk and they passed me over to the butler supervisor that I found out there was a serious WIFI problem in the new section and they didn’t know how long it would be before it was fixed. The butlers should have been informed right away. Second, I tried using the WIFI in the lobby, but it had a low signal and was very intermittent. The resort needs to invest in a better internet service. Lastly, the pools need to be regularly topped up so that they can be filtered. The level of our pool was about 5 inches below the filter outlets and so a lot of debris, like leaves, cigarette ashes and bugs, were floating on the surface (not at our end of the pool, thanks to the wind). If the level of the pool was a couple inches above the filter outlets, the debris wouldn’t have been an issue.

Again, overall this is a great resort and we would definitely recommend it, and we have also told our travel agent to recommend it to her customers.

Room Tip: Swim-up suites inthe new section are the best in buildings 55-58 (57-58 being the quitest).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank J&Atravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Royal Suites have beauitful gardens, a good beach with ample sun cots, a good mix of sun and shade on the beach and great beach service. There tend to be many locals cruising through trying to sell you adventure packages, but once you say no they stay away.
The suites, although a hike from the beach, are fantastic with comfortable king size beds, large balconies and a nice sitting area in the room. The bathrooms are nicely done, but do not offer a lot of privacy if you are shy. The mini bars are serviced every day as is your room and there is a nightly turn down service which is a nice touch. The wifi never worked in our room,but a trip to the lobby allowed us to do emails etc. The butler service is laughable so go to the front desk for assistance. If you are lucky enough to deal with Maximo he will look after you.Outside each building there are several nice pools that are only for our use with lots of cots on the deck in sun and shade. There are bars and towel service close by so it was a nice place to go in the afternoon after the beach and to avoid the crowds in the main pool. One of our major disappointments was the food at the buffets - it was always cold whether it be eggs or pancakes in the morning or hot entres at lunch. Lots of variety, but cold. The a la carte restaurants were good, but the French and Japanese were outstanding. Because you are at the Royal Suites you can have lobster at every restaurant at no extra charge and I took advantage of this and was impressed with the quality. Any steaks I had, especially the chateaubriand at the French restaurant, were very good. At all the restaurants they really try to present your meal choices in a five star manner and for the most part pulled it off.
Night life is for the most part nonexistent. The casino was pathetic with more than half the slots out of order and maybe two tables going. Nightly entertainment started at 10;00pm and by then we were heading back to our suite. The Palladium resort is huge and it was well worth it to take the train ride to see the other sections and visit the shops.
At the bars I was not impressed with the various mixed drinks - all were made with pre-made, very sweet syrups so were not enjoyable.
Tipping your maid and mini bar person resulted in better service which is expected based on the pay levels. We also took colouring books and crayons, and mini candy bars we left for the maid, mini bar person and night staff that was graciously acknowledged and appreciated by the staff when we met them during the week. I found the staff very friendly and went out of their way to help.
I would not call the Royal Suites a five star experience, but it was a nice place to get away to escape the cold, I have visited several other resorts in Punta Cana at the four and five star level, but would probably not return to the Royal Suites. .

Room Tip: Definitely spend the extra money for the suites because of the quality of the rooms and the large, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.9 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
24.5 km away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#4 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,159 reviews
1.9 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
1.9 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
6.4 km away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

Property: The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Turquesa is an exclusive VIP area of 140 luxurious rooms located within the Grand Palladium Resort in Punta Cana. Featuring private facilities and personalized service, the area includes an exclusive restaurant, concierge service and free Internet in the private lobby, air conditioned bar serving premium International beverages, exclusive pool with built-in Jacuzzis and bar service to the sun beds by the pool and at the beach, and much more. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Turquesa By Palladium Hotel Punta Cana
Royal Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing