We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a visit!!!”
Review of TRS Turquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRS Turquesa Hotel
Ranked #47 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Upon arrival we found 2 small issues with our room which were dealt with quickly after reporting, however we did feel the front desk staff could have been more sympathetic to our complaints rather than making us feel we were wasting their time (an apology would have been nice). Having said this we had a lovely holiday, the food was very good, we would definately recomment the Le Chanterelle. The beach was fantastic, the usual problem with guests reserving sun beds and not using them but you get this everywhere. The staff overall were excellent, ok their English was sometimes limited but so is our Spanish and they were always willing to try and understand so just be patient and you will be rewarded. The 'butler' service was more of a Concierge service but was very good - Thanks to Dominica (our butler for room 5626) she was excellent. We went on an excursion to Santo Domingo which we would recommend highly if you want to see the history of this lovely country, but be warned it is a long journey!! Overall we would certainly reccommend this hotel and hope to return someday soon. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

PS DO NOT MISS THE CIRCUS SHOW - EXCELLENT!!!

Room Tip: If you want to be near the beach do not select the swim up suites, however it is only a short walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Netviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,032 - 3,038 of 6,684 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

Excellent choice for a quiet adults-only getaway, with access to amenities for 3 other resorts on the property when feeling like a little more action.

The rooms and grounds are 5 star. Make sure and book a swim-up suite. We had suite 5807 in building 58, which is a newer section, and would definitely ask for the same suite if we return. It had the most private pool area, but was furthest from the beach if walking is a problem.

Food and service was a little irregular (4 star) and is the only reason our overall rating wasn't a 5.

Food is generally good and there are 2 a la carte restaurants exclusively for Royal guests, with no reservations required. The Royal Gourmet was a disappointment (2 star) with the worst lobster we've ever had - we left and got a better meal at the buffet. Le Chanterelle, on the other hand, is more upscale and we ate several excellent dinners there (5 star) with no disappointments.

If you wish to try the other a la carte restaurants in the complex, we recommend booking ahead through your butler on arrival or you will be facing line-ups. Royal guests may make reservations at these other restaurants, but not many seats are allocated so book early.

The Brazilian restaurant (Rodizio) serves courses from large skewers and is recommended for meat lovers - it was a nice change up (4 stars). Portions at Mare Nostrum were a little on the small side (3 stars), and while the lobster looked better (extra charge), we were turned off by our experience at the Royal Gourmet and didn't want to chance it.

Room service is a challenge if you only speak English. We called several times for tonic water and club soda, which were supposed to be stocked daily in our fridge, and eventually received some tonic (not really a biggie as the pool bar is only steps away). Wine in the in-room wine cooler is extra charge, but you can order quite acceptable house wine from room service at no charge. We received excellent maid service for a modest daily tip of $2-$3. Each building has a dedicated butler, which is really just an onsite concierge, and ours was quite pleasant and helpful.

There are two theatres on the complex, but the quality of the entertainment offering is pretty lame - better fare was found in the Palace lobby bar.

Bring sufficient US cash as getting more is a real challenge. There is an on-site ATM that dispenses DRP, but no on-site currency exchange. Reception will break down larger bills for you, but only in the same currency.

Do some checking before booking an excursion - most are several hours drive away. We booked Bavaro Runners and thoroughly enjoyed the day seeing and learning more about the country.

Overall, a great vacation experience at a superior resort!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GrumpieGrampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Royal Suites from March 11-24th. Each year we travel with another couple and choose a different resort for new experiences. This has been our best trip with the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar, Dreams Punta Cana, and Dreams Palm Beach close seconds. The Gran Palladium complex is very large and as Royal Suites guests we had access to all - not a problem getting around as there was never a wait for transportation to the other sections. We did, however, generally prefer staying in the Royal Suites section. Everything was always very clean.

The staff are all wonderful - pleasant, polite, and very helpful. Tipping and/or small gifts are appreciated by all - particularly the gardners, people who sort the re-cylclables, and staff cleaning the public washrooms so please remember them as well. Oscar, our Butler was fantastic - spoke five languages - he made all our dinner reservations and when we had a small problem with the hair dryer in the room - he had a replacement one there in minutes. We were told that 60% of the Domincian economy comes from tourism and how much they appreciate the travellers.

The restaurants were very nicely decorated and always had a nice selection including those of us who are fussy - always had vegetarian options - We liked the Italian and French the best. It was never more than a five minute wait to access one of the computers in the main lobby which had wifi for those who brought laptops. There is a spa (Renova) - I used the gym regularly as part of a physio routine for health reasons. I generally went mid afternoon and it was never busy at that time - equipment was very modern.

The rooms closest to the beach were in need of an update and had a musty smell. They did however have an oceanview from some of these rooms. We opted for one of the newer buildings #5 and very quiet). Room was beautiful - very updated, no smell and everything you could need in the room - maximum five minute walk to the beach. No need to bring shampoo, conditioner, soap, body lotion, etc as it was all there. They also had travel toothbrushes, toothpaste, bath robes and a hairbrush in the room.

Note: The beverage selection is rated lower as I only like Gran Marnier and they did not have this (both Dreams did and the Ambar made it available when I had commented on it)

Hats off to the management and staff of The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium!

Hope to see you next year!

The Langlois'

Room Tip: Building closest to the beach are older, in need of some updates, and had a slight musty smell. Cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NiceNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have travelled the world and are very fussy. With this in mind it speaks volumes that we have now been to this resort twice in the past two years. The value for money is second to none, from the quality of alcoholic beverages available to the restaurants to choose from and the amazing staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charlie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at The Royal Suites Turquesa for 7 nights beginning March 24th. Overall, great location, beautiful room, fabulous food at all the restaurants and very relaxing. If you are looking for a deluxe hotel in Punta Cana with no kids, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lady_Travel_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We arrived and found that either the travel agent, sunwing or the resort screwed up the room we requested. We asked for a room close to the beach. We ended uo at the building the furthest away from the beach.
The lobby is small and in previous reviews the check in is slow.
The new section (delux ) with the swim up rooms is isolated. No more then 8 to 10 people per day sharing three pools.
Being in this section, make sure you bring your walking shoes.
When in this section, you have to travel through the lobby both ways to be on the beach.
I will make further comments in the days to come.
If you like FIVE Star Resorts follow my comments.
You will not class this as a 5 star.
The 5 Star Guy

Room Tip: ask for the older side, close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We returned from The Royal Suites Turquesa on March 19, 2012. We were looking for something quiet and relaxing. We found it there although it's a huge place all together. It's a great place: great accommodation, food and especially service. In RST you receive royal treatment! We were very happy especially with our swim up room.
We had wonderful vacations there and I would recommed it with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms further from lobby seem to be more quiet and newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.9 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.2 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
0.9 km away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
1.8 km away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,211 reviews
21.0 km away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRS Turquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRS Turquesa Hotel

Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro, Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic (Formerly The Royal Suites Turquesa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $294 - $749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRS Turquesa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Suites Turquesa is an exclusive VIP area of 372 luxurious rooms located within the Grand Palladium Resort in Punta Cana. Featuring private facilities and personalised service, the area includes an exclusive restaurant, concierge service and free Internet in the private lobby, air conditioned bar serving premium International beverages, exclusive pool with built-in Jacuzzis and bar service to the sun beds by the pool and at the beach, and much more. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRS Turquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Turquesa By Palladium Hotel Punta Cana
Royal Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing