We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #65 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our trip.”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We really enjoyed our trip. The room was great The beach, pool, lobby and grounds were beautiful. The food was okay and we were always able to find something we liked.
The beautiful resort and amazing staff made our vacation an enjoyable one!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irina_0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,257
    2,002
    988
    386
    294
See reviews for
2,425
2,674
98
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed at this resort for eights days at the end of March. I did email before I arrived to request an early check in since we were going to arrive at 11:30 in the morning. We were able to get into the room at 1:30, we were pleased. The time in between allowed us to book our a la cartes - had four for our stay, and then we had lunch at the buffet. The WiFi was slow in the lobby but satisfactory, worked on our netbook, cell phones and ebook reader.

Room was great, beside the two middle pools. We were on the second floor, but could not hear anything from outside, in the room, even though the tram ran down the walkway outside our building. The air conditioning worked great. Hot water all the time, but the tub/shower combination wall was only half the length of the tub, so a lot of water on the floor all the time. Plenty of towels for use and too also wipe up the water. Toiletries in the room included soaps, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, all with a lemon scent. Also had sets of shaving kits and toothbrush, toothpaste, plus vanity kit, comb, sewing kit and shower cap. Odd was that there was no lotion. There was a note you could check off to let housekeeping know what time they should come to clean. We never filled out, but except for one day, the room was always done by noon. Minibar had sodas, beer and water. When they noticed we were drinking the beer more often, there was more of that and less sodas.

A la cartes were excellent, enjoyed the Italian, Garden Grill (steakhouse), Gourmet and Dominican. Did not go away hungry from any of them. Buffet is a buffet and we are not that partial to them, but always found some interesting items. Breakfast/lunch buffet on the beach was good. It was nice the beach buffet was open until 6:30, for that late afternoon snack.

We were not impressed with the hours to find a cocktail. Pool bars shut down at 5:00, so unless one wanted to walk all the way to the lobby, hard to have a cocktail in the room before supper.

Usually could find a place to sit on the beach or by the pool. Some days did take a lot of searching on the beach, but then we would just drag the chairs we found to a more suitable location. The nice thing is that most of the loungers are being replaced, so comfy.

Getting around the huge resort wasn't that bad once you got used to all the walking. Trams are fairly efficient, but still managed to walk to our destination faster than waiting for the tram. Nice they are available.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again. We were very well treated.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JustAboutRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were there in the Royal Golden section from 3/20/2012 - 3/27/2012. The resort is very large. We arrived about 11 am and were taken to a conference room in the Tour Operators room. We were given a drink, keys, map and a bracelet. We were told to go have lunch and come back a while later to the Royal Golden Reception to see if our room was ready. It was about 1:30pm.

The room was clean and large. If you are looking for a face cloth on the resort, bring your own. Just sayin. The maid was always helpful and did a great job. I requested only Pepsi Light in the fridge and she came through. I tipped her well every day (leave on pillow or they can't take it.) I also brought a gift for her. If you leave a gift you must put on a piece of paper that it is a gift, what it is and your name and room number and sign it..so that way they are allowed to leave the resort with it. Some People make gift bags of cosmetics (from dollarama) and scarves and hair accessories..they are all greatly appreciated.

Buffet is large and clean. Food was okay , not great but you can always find something to eat. If you are the type of person that likes deserts you will be greatly disappointed. We did try 4 a la carts . The Garden Grill - steak house was not bad at all , I would suggest you order your meat half a degree down from what you like so that way it won't be over cooked. Le Gourmet was very disappointing. They give you very little to eat and it is not good. The Chef's recommendation menu sounded good but when going to order it they said no , not available. Mexican restaurant, best part was the buffet apps , the food on menu was sad...and no guacamole or salsa really .
The Japanese steak house was the best food we ate all week. It cannot compare to what we have at home but the MSG and Sodium gave it flavor. Enjoyed the deep fried ice cream.

The entertainment at night was real sad compared to other resorts. The only saving grace they had was they had brought in 2 shows through the week. The circus was really enjoyable and the Michael Jackson show was entertaining but go early...standing room only even though there is 2 shows a night. The theater is accessible for all the resorts.

Bring bug spray. Even though they smogged for mosquitos we were both eaten alive ..even in our room.

Our room was located right at the pool and beach entrance. Every morning we had to get up about 6:30 - 7am to reserve our chairs...they go really quick. Unfortunately people save chairs and don't sit in them all day, they do excursions or go to the beach and then come to the pool around 3:30am when the animation team comes around. Watch for people who have more than one chair, one for sun and one in the shade. Music is really loud at pool around 4 pm.

There are trams to get around the resort which are really helpful , especially after too much rum. The walk from the beach to the lobby is about 10 minutes..not bad to work off extra calories.

Had a day and a half of rain. No biggie.....lobby bar is great, staff is wonderful for out. If you want WiFi it is in lobby for free...recommend Banana Mama's...yum

Keep in mind too much coconut milk works as a laxative....don't ruin your holiday.

Room Tip: upgrade to Royal Golden for good location to beach and pool makes getting a place to sit easier and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crash3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was my first trip ever & at 40 yrs old, believe me, I have my pet peeves & I know what I like. I was absolutely in love with this place from day 1. Pls don't believe all the bad reviews, u cant go wrong with this resort. The food, the ppl, everything was awesome!!

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor or higher so u don't have any little critters ducking in ur room when the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have just returned from the GBP Punta Cana, our stay was from 03/23 to 03/30 2012 and we had a fabulous stress free Vacation thanks to the Staff, especially Andrea and Carmen (our housekeepers) and Manuel (the Bellhop) for their service above and beyond, which made our stay that much better! Muchas gracias su arduo trabajo se aprecia!
This resort is very large and can handle over 6500 guests at any given time between all of the properties, so if it is a more personal experience you are looking for find a smaller resort, that aside this resort brings alot of different cultures together, which is very nice.
Our room(building 36) was a little outdated, however still very comfortable, the food, while not North American standards for the beef, chicken and pork, was overall very good buffet style with fresh fruit and vegetables and always a very nice presentation of the dishes. We only got to try one a la carte, the Mexican, which was fair, nothing spectacular, Just a hint, as soon as you check in, get in line at the guest services desk in the lobby and book your 3 (maximum) right away, just watch your times if you plan excursions as some are a full day and may conflict with your reservations.
The beach and pools, though very crowded at the best of times, were very enjoyable and clean, however something should be done by the Hotel to prevent guests from having beach and pool chairs reserved with towels and belongings all over the Resort, I do not have an answer for this problem, I can tell you it is frustrating, but not the end of the world.
There are plenty of vendors around the Resort, most such as the ones on the beach are just trying to make a few bucks, however the ones in the courtyard shops are relentless, pushy and at times pirannah like. They can be haggled, however they do not make much money in life, so be fair, but also watch your exchange rates so you know how good the deal really is.
Must travel items: immodium whether you have a gentle stomach or not, band-aids (2 Usd for 10 band-aids in a courtyard shop), bactine or calamine lotion for bug bites(we were not affected but we met a couple who were badly bitten by something all over their legs...still not sure what) and sun block not sunscreen or you will burn.
If you are an internet hound or a business traveller, there is free wi-fi in the lobby, but we saw a sign to have it in your room as an option....for a mere $ 55 Usd for a week..a little rich, to each their own.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had an awesome time! The grounds and services were amazing. Their staff was great and eager to please. This resort never sleeps with things to do around the clock. *A little tipping goes a long way here, the staff works very hard. Be sure to tip a bit and I'm sure you'll find allot better service ;) We made a bunch of new friends and had a total blast!
Although they have ATM's our bank WELLS FARGO killed us with fee's @ $5.00 a pop each time we used our card, so you may wanna bring more cash! We will definatley consider another trip. "DO IT"!

Room Tip: A ground floor room close to the cart path makes it much easier to get around, come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I travelled to the resort the first week of March 2012 with a friend. This resort is very large with the Punta Cana and Bavaro sections making up the main area for most guests. The Esmerelda and Ambar sections are strictly for those guests and are off limits. It is a bit confusing at first where everything is but you get the hang of it after a day or so. We were Golden Section guests we flew Air Transat (booked with iTravel2000 and that was a mess (3 flight cancelations/changes) so we were not surprised to arrive at the airport, our bags were not priority as promised and when we got to the Transat Holiday’s rep he had no paperwork on us whatsoever. On the bus to the hotel we watched helplessly as he handed out packages and gold bands to the others on the bus.

We got to the hotel and were not told to go to the special Golden Section reservations room right at the front, we finally were directed there and waited for them to find our packages which after 15 minutes they did. Of course our rooms were not ready yet so we were told to go to the buffet and have a bite. When we returned our rooms were ready, we asked to pay for the safe as we read the reviews that you had to pay upfront and followed the directions. After paying and getting a lift to our rooms we found out our keys didn’t work. The bellman let us in and went to get us new keys. It took four hours and 6 trips from various bellmen, servicemen and finally the front desk manager for them to figure out that we needed keys that worked both in our front doors and were programed for the safe. This basically ate the entire first afternoon of our trip and we were really bummed to miss the beach time. We had dinner, enjoyed cocktails at the main lobby, watched a show and went to bed. The air conditioner stopped working and made horrible noises the entire night. It was so hot in our rooms we bailed at around 5:00 AM and went to the beach it was breezy and nice. We watched the sunrise which was a great treat and got to pick some great seats. The seat selections do happen very very early in the morning. We were up at 6:00 everyday but didn’t mind it because we loved watching the sunrises. We went to reception and informed them of the air conditioner problem and had breakfast. When I returned to the room around 9:00AM it was fixed. This was the end of all our issues on the trip.

Golden Section Room – Very spacious, clean. 2 Queen beds, a chest of drawers with 4 drawers, spacious closet with not many hangers. There is a table and two chairs in a sitting area with a day bed and also on the balcony. We were two buildings from the beach in building 21 and it was not noisy and very convenient. The service trucks around the resort have squeaky brakes but nothing bothered us or kept us up (except the air conditioner on the first night). Refrigerator was stocked daily with water, pop and beer. We also took the coffee packets and they were refilled daily as well. The room was very dark and poorly lit.

Beach - Yes the beach area is narrower than the beaches of the neighbouring resorts Majestic and RIU which have been brought up on other reviews. Personally I preferred it. We were sitting under a hut very close to the water and we like that. The rumours of reserving chairs early at the resort are absolutely true. Especially on the weekend when the resort appeared to be at capacity.

Service – Exceptional. Everyone was always smiling, happy to see us and always helpful. It didn’t matter if you tipped or not. I don’t understand anyone saying anything bad about the service.

A la cartes - we emailed the hotel in advance and booked these and were really lucky that all our choices and dates were reserved for us.

Shopping - There is a small mini mall at the front of the resort with stores and vendors. Some vendors on the beach as well. The hotel had a vendor night on the grounds as well and these vendors are sneaky and pushy and I didn't like the experience shopping with them. The lobby store had the best prices as did the stores in the Peublo Principe. The prices in the lobby shop were also cheaper than the duty free at the airport.

This is already a really long review, so I’ll leave by saying if you want to learn more feel free to send me a message and I’ll be happy to answer your questions. I will also be posting a very detailed review on my blog Dream Travel Magazine.

Room Tip: Golden section rooms are closest to the beach and a bit larger, they give you access to the entire r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DreamTravelMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
29.4 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
26.1 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,846 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,460 reviews
25.8 km away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,384 reviews
1.5 km away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing