We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Nearby Hotels
US$324
US$253
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$411
US$354
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$346
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$391
US$229
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$371
US$282
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$516
US$392
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$433
US$254
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$253
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$437
US$300
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$305
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,429)
Filter reviews
7,429 results
Traveller rating
3,441
2,143
1,078
425
342
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,441
2,143
1,078
425
342
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden grillroyal golden sectiona la cartehuge resortprivilege clubbbq restaurantel pescadorcloser to the beachair transatkaraoke barmain buffetmichael jackson showguest servicesdominican republicgreat resortrecommend this resortbavaro side
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 7,429 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travelled here for March Break with a group of 12. The resort grounds are very well cared for and the beach is amazing. The food was good but the wine they served was terrible and you could not find a good cup of coffee anywhere on this resort ( it tasted like instant coffee ) We all stayed in villa 10 and the only thing we found were the rooms had an awful smell to them. Maybe it is because of the humidity down there but it was terrible! The little beach bar made great drinks and there were lots of activities and shows to entertain you for the week. We invested in the Family Wi-Fi package but don`t waste your money as most of the times it didn`t work. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby so just use that. We went on the Bebe Catamaran and had a blast , it was so much fun ! Overall it was a good experience as long as your expectations aren`t too high!

Stayed: March 2018
4  Thank cmacHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros: Sunshine, hot weather, beautiful beach, check in staff was pleasant great pools within the building areas, enjoyed sitting in the Lobby Area watching the people come and go, nice surprise banner on the front door for my birthday and nice gift; enjoyed nighttime entertainment, Tania and Bily who worked in the Orquidea Main Restaurant were excellent! luggage pickup to return home was prompt when called. Cons: One server refused to wait on us, a server from another area waited on us (unsure what that was about), we were without a refrigerator for the first day and a half and the beverages were hot, although we did drink the water, we were without air conditioning the first day, was unsure of how to find out about activities for the day, had wrong wake up calls (twice) and had excursions scheduled for those days, we were locked out of our room the day BEFORE we were to check out which took over 2 hours to get that resolved; had to call for face towels as none were left one day, this was our first time so we knew nothing of how the shuttle service worked, could use a little american music in the lobby area, although the talent had beautiful voices; could use at least one bright light in the suite-lighting very dim.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank R8998BEbettyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Betty,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for highlighting our friendly staff and our good entertainment.

We will be more than happy to have you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro and continue providing the most memorable experiences whenever you wish to enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

You are welcome to contact us for any further assistance info.puntacana@bahia-principe.com


Kindest regards,
Adriana Peguero
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When you go to the beach here? If you’re on the adult side make sure you look for Bianca, waitress! Jeffry & Jency, waiters (be warned they’re twins! Took us 9 days to realize that!) and of course Miguel!! Miguel organizes the chairs, removes your trash and sweeps sand off your chair. Unbelievably nice people. They make a great banana, milk, chocolate blended with ice. They’ll throw in some rum if that’s your thing. It’s an all inclusive resort so you don’t have to tip. But we did because their service was so good. I don’t know if it’s because we tip or not but they always come back and stop by to see if we need anything. The line at the bar can get long so I definitely recommend befriending these folks. When you see Miguel make sure you say “Hola Coca Cola!” It’s kinda his signature phrase ;)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Daniel,

Thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff, especially all that you have mentioned, who will be very happy to learn that they were able to contribute in creating a great vacation for you.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

You are welcome to contact us for any further assistance info.puntacana@bahia-principe.com


Kindest regards,

Adriana Peguero
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place but the lobby bar sucks!!! Does not matter how much tip you give, they will forget within seconds. Takes forever for drinks!! Ramon, Joel and I think her name is Martha. You show no happiness and seems like you dont appriciate your job!! If you dont like your job as a bartender, and by the way we pay top dollar to be here, go take the floor mopper job!! Cant believe your attitudes. Your boss talked to you about it and you never changed. This job is not for you!! REALLY!!!

Food was excellent!!

Beach crowded like sardines.

We will not return here ever!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Dale1969canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

All feedback from our guests is valued, to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and be able to change any negative perception, demonstrating you the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

For a future assistance please contact info.puntacana@bahia-principe.com

Regards from the Caribbean,

Jasmin Reyes
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a huge resort which means you have access to lots of amenities. That is good. The food and service (expect for Portofino Italian Restaurant) is very good. That is also true for the buffets. The grounds are beautiful. The sand beach is lovely with lots of seating. The pool is very clean and an enjoyable place to relax. The shuttle service to get you around the property is necessary and well run. The entertainment at the pool is fun. Now for the glitches.
Our Room View: To begin with, our room was beautiful, very clean, comfortable and well appointed. The negative here was the view. We were in the Ambar Green on the side of the building that was on the opposite side of the pool. We had written a month in advance asking to be away from the construction noise and dust. We asked for a third floor room so that we could enjoy the view. (there are no elevators) After unpacking we looked out and saw that our view was of the two Royalton warehouses with a small garbage dump between them. (see pics) Workmen yelled the entire day. Delivery trucks arrived on a regular basis and the beep beep of the trucks backing up was a regular occurrence. On Tuesday the trucks were lined up so long that the smell of diesel meant that my partner could not use the balcony. It was suffocating. In the middle of the night the garbage truck would arrive and the compression would run while compacting the garbage for about 30 minutes. We were woken up several nights. Guests that get this room should be given a discount or free excursion. Opening the door for fresh air and sitting and enjoying the balcony is part of the experience that we could not use this trip. Check your view before you unpack would be my advice.
Illness: We sent an email in advance to reserve our a la Carte restaurants and our requests were honoured. I would suggest you do so. Favourite meals were at Sausalito Brazilian, Don Pedro French, both Japanese restaurants (one was a la carte and the other was the Tempanyaki show which is the cooking table) We enjoyed the steak at Garden Grill. At the Portofino restaurant we had a horrible experience. The man who took our order was rude, wouldn't let us have pasta as well as a main and asked for our room number which he wrote on our order. We still don't know why. This didn't happen any other time this visit. We ended up very sick that night and since we hadn't eaten much that day we can say fairly confidently that this was the meal that caused our problems. I would avoid this place at all costs.
Excursions: The location of this resort seems to mean that you will travel an unbelievable amount of time to get to excursion locations. We drove one hour one way to the Bebe Catamaran site and one and half hours one way to the Scooby Doo (see review Not a Repeat Experience on Trip Advisor). We asked before this second excursion and were told by the Bahia representative (Noel) that it would be a 15 minute drive so asking in advance won't help you much. Our Transat rep sent us to the wrong lobby for one excursion which meant that we missed our trip the first time and almost the second time as well. Gabriel needs to be more careful when filling out his forms. Double check your pick up location.
Entertainment: It took us days to find the entertainment board in the Bavaro lobby which lists the shows and show times. Go there the first day to plan your evenings. I don't know why this board isn't in all the lobbies.
While there are so many good things here at the Bahia, the four missteps made our trip just average overall. Avoiding excursions, the Portofino and the side of the Ambar Green building that faces the Royalton warehouses will make your holiday a better one than ours.

Room Tip: See above comments regarding room location
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltalk505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret your impressions the overall image of our company regarding our services and facilities. Please allow us to inform you, we take our customers observations very seriously and create reports based on the feedback to notify the management on what needs prioritizing and improvement.

Thank you for sharing your detailed review about every aspect of our Hotels operation that indeed will help to concentrate on creating a better experience for future clients.

For a future assistance please contact info.puntacana@bahia-principe.com

King regards,

Jasmin Reyes
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews