We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradisus, Paradise......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Ranked #26 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 December 2010

As I do for every vacation down south I always do at least 3 months of research as to which resort we should go to. We are 5 star resort only......because my husband is very picky about the food. We originally booked our reservation at the Majestic Elegance but 2 days after we booked we received a phone call saying they overbooked the resort. We had to choose something fast so we decided on Paradisus. Once it was booked I was started to read really bad reviews and I was discouraged. A few people at my workplace had been to a few paradisus chains in the south and nothing but great experiences. As they told me "you make the best out of your own vacation". When we arrived at the Paradisus everything was fast considering we arrived at m idnight. when we walked into our room it smelt as if it had been cleaned and not used in several months we spent 1 night and the next morning we upgraded from the deluxe junior suite to the reserve. A few hundred more but did it ever make a difference in our vacation. The food was great especially the italian and japanese restaurant. As far as those people giving bad reviews on the staff is not what we experienced. The staff was amazing we felt so much at home that we were sad to leave a few that we had gotten to know really well. The downfall to this resort which is very unfortunate and really upset me is how much they bother you out of your vacation time to come and join there time share club. It waste alot of our time and also quite a few people that we met were approached and upset about it. Just tell them you are not interested, that 's it......
Other than that we had a great time, gorgeous beach lots of fun!!!! We miss it already!!!
The upgrade to the reserve is well worth it!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hola009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,159 - 8,165 of 13,099 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2010

My family and I are big fans of Paradisus, having stayed at the Paradisus in Cancun and in Costa Rica. We always look for a Paradisus when planning a vacation.

Needless to say, we went with very high expectations to Punta Cana. Whereas this resort lived up to its reputation, there are the small little things that make you wonder about the management.

We were disappointed with the nightly entertainment - it was sporadic at best - and about 25 minutes in length. It seems that they put on a show just because they had to.

The staff is very friendly, specially in the restaurants. The service at the pool was brilliant. Because we went just before the high season, the choice of restaurants was very limited.

I must make a special mention of Maria at Guest Services. This young lady goes out of her way to fill any requests that you may have. We wanted a late check-out, because our pick-up was for 5:00 PM. She tried very hard to have us stay in the same room, but it seems that they needed our room for the day of check-out. So she arranged another room for us, and had someone come over to move our luggage - all at no extra cost !!!!!

However, when checking out, our bill included a charge of $50 for late check-out. We had to raise our voices with the staff at reception, and after a few frantic calls, they waived the charge. A bit of a let down right at the end of our lovely vacation.

In other reviews, people have rightfully mentioned that you will be pounded by guys trying to sell you a time share. Easy little trick to get them to leave you alone - rather than saying that we were from Canada (which we are), I told them that we are from a third world country (I changed the country every day), and they simply leave you alone - assuming that you cannot afford a time share.

If I were to compare this resort to other Paradisus resorts, I would say that it is at the bottom of the list - but hey - you get what you pay for.

I think the attention to detail is lacking - and that is what sets a five star resort apart from the rest..

I am in the hospitality industry (I am the distributor for FRETTE Fine Linen in Canada), so I know what to look for in a hotel. At Paradisus Punta Cana, the service is good, the food quality is above average, the wine selection is excellent. However, the majority of the staff have a rather care free attitude towards customer service.

A small word of advice - make friends with Maria at the Guest Services Desk - she will go out of her way to correct things that go wrong during your vacation - I have never seen anyone work so hard.

In the grander scheme of things, Paradisus Punta Cana should be your choice if you choose Dominican Republic as your destination. At the airport, we heard a lot of people complain about the horrible food and terrible service in other so called 5 star resorts.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeepakinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARADISUSPuntaCana1, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2010

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Paradisus Punta Cana Resort for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion.
With great concern I read the comments you refer to us, we regret very much that we have not impressed with some of our services and I would like to assure you that your recommendations were taken with our maximum interest and that the managers of the various departments involved have been informed of the particular observations and the appropriate measures will be taken.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Truly paradise, location was beautiful, water serene, grounds were awe inspiring & very tropical exactly what I was hoping to see. The lobby is something to see with it's water gardens and open air feeling. Our room was very spacious and luxurious and that was just the "garden room". The staff goes above and beyond to make sure that your stay is everything you dreamed it would be. As for the food there's something for everyone, Chinese, Italian, French, American and it was so good. I have recommended the Paradidus to friends who also loved it as much as we did and like us will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellidesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARADISUSPuntaCana1, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2010

Dear Guest,
We are grateful for your comments; it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal of provides quality service beyond our guest’s expectations.
We are looking forward to have the opportunity to serve you here at our Paradisus Punta Cana Resort "your home away from home" in the Caribbean.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We have been chilling for 9 days at this resort and we loved it. We had a junior suite in "the Reserve" and it was perfect and very Zen. The layout of the resort is spacious with big beautiful gardens and even a mangrove area. The beach is beautiful too, though not secluded. You can tell from the look of the faces of the people that walk by that they are impressed by what they see. (And you'll conclude the same if you walk down the beach and compare with the other resorts). Zero complaints about the service. The different restaurants offer a great variety of food. We tried almost all of them. Pick your own fresh fish for lunch at the beach restaurant and they'll grill it for you! Delicious! Some of the restaurants offer very good food in tastefully designed decor. (For excellent food one has to go to a michelin star place near you). We even enjoyed lovely champagne blanc de blancs at the beach (cremant in fact, just as good but from the loire region next to the champagne region). Thats how all inclusive it gets here! For an all inclusive resort, this place is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Huubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARADISUSPuntaCana1, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2010

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our thanks for your valuable comments, we must say that we experience a great satisfaction when we receive so many memorable remarks from our valuable guests; it gives us the approval and the energy to keep going all the way long and becomes a reward to us since our main purpose is to fulfill and most of all exceed our guests needs and wishes.
We truly appreciate you have chosen our Resort. It would be an honor for us to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of 11 days at this resort. Our stay was just before the high season and the resort was not full to capacity. Great for us. No reservations needed for any of the restaurants. No line-ups at the bars to get a drink. Lots of seating available in the lobbies and no problem getting lounge chairs at the pool or beach. Service was great. We had very attentive staff wait on us.
Not all restaurants were open, as mentioned in other posts, but again, it was not high season. Approx 4 different restaurants were open every day. You just had to check at the lobby or ask one of the staff at the breakfast buffet which ones were available that evening. No big deal.
The food was good at the A La Carte restaurants. Buffets, well what can I say, they are just like any other buffet, same food available on most days with the odd change up.
The beach was fantastic. In our opinion, the best beach area of all the nearby resorts.
If you love playing in the waves then this is the time to go. ( beginning of Dec ). It's a bit windy and the waves are larger.
Pool was well maintained and had a very nice clean area surrounding it.
The grounds were beautiful and well kept. You always see the gardeners out and about.
The room we had was an average Gardenview with Jacuzzi tub. It was roomy and had all the amenities. No complaints. Cleaning service did a good job.
We had a great location for our bungalow. It was close to the main restaurant area and beach.
We had a big storm pass over one day and it poured rain for approx. 6 hours straight. What an experience! Thunder and lightning. Amazing ! We found an umbrella in our room and ventured out for dinner. We had to roll up our pant legs and carry our shoes and wade to the lobby and restaurant.
The roads were flooded with approx. 8 inches of water and the Lobbies and Casino areas were also flooded. We sat at the bar as the bartenders were wearing rubber boots or bare feet to serve us. Always with a smile on their face. It may not sound appealing but it was actually quite fun ! It's what you make of the situation. The next day the weather was fantastic and hot. Apparently the area only gets approx 7 days a year when it rains that much.
Check in and out was easy. Staff was helpful and friendly and spoke good English.
We had a great time ! Well done !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NVE81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARADISUSPuntaCana1, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for let us know about your recent stay. At the Paradisus Punta Cana we have the commitment to provide quality service beyond our guest’s expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of excellence in service.
Once more, thank you for your valuable comments. We are looking forward to have the opportunity to serve you here at our Paradisus Punta Cana Resort "your home away from home" in the Caribbean.


Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Like many others we were a little nervous about all the reviews but were VERY happy when we pulled up to the Paradisus and checked in! The hotel is beautiful! We were staying in the Reserve and were brought over to that check in area to check in. I was a little disapointed because we had informed them it was our honeymoon and signed up for a honeymoon package, and there was a big sign with all the names of the newlyweds on it welcoming them.. but our name wasn't on it.. oh well.. not that big of a deal. We were given a welcome drink right away and sat down to discuss our room and layout of the hotel.. they were very patient at answering all of our questions about the resort.

Our room was a one bedroom suite in the reserve, pool view.. AMAZING!!! We had a living room, dining room, huge balcony, giant jacuzzi tub and bathroom.. and the room looked brand new and was decorated very modernly. I would highly recommend staying in the Reserve as opposed to the "regular area" of the hotel.

They had lots of fun activites that were included which was great!! The only thing they dont mention on the website is the rock climbing wall and some other fun activities are only available for use one day a week and only for like a 3 hour period (at least during the 7 days we where there because we kept getting told it was their off season). So unfortunatly we didn't really get to try much of that out. Also although they say they have 11 restaurants.. only 2 are open for lunch(the same exact 2 EVERY DAY, italian place and buffett), and 4 or 5 for dinner on a rotation. Also they dont have 11 DIFFERENT restaurants.. 3 of the restaurants, The Grill, La Palapa, and Luna, are actually all the same restaurant.. tricky.

Now to the food... The food was really the only bad part of the trip.. we arent picky eaters but the food really wasn't good. It was below average. The lunch buffett was horrible. We were disapointed because we were told Gabi would be open for lunch and we would have access since we are in the Reserve, but when we checked in, we were told because it was off season, Gabi was closed for lunch. Odd... because when I made the reservation they knew it would be off season then. Also both me and my husband got sick from the food.. from day 1 through day 7, we had stomach issues from the food. Not fun when you are on your honeymoon. When I went into gift shop they had a huge shelf filled with (very expensive) bottles of pepto.. so apparently this is a very popular item in the shop since they devote such a large shelf to it. Interesting...

But besides the food this place really was amazing. The service was outstanding! The staff really goes out of their way to make you happy and they work really hard. We always tipped the staff, but unfortunatly saw a lot of people that didnt. To all those that complain about them not speaking English... obviously they dont speak English!!! You are in the DR !!! You should be happy they even try to learn some English... we should try to learn their language when we go to THEIR country.

We really loved the beaches here and the comfy chairs! Our cocktail server on the beach was GREAT!!! It was a little breezy this time of year, but it was nice.. it kept it from getting too hot.

I would recommend this hotel, it was beautiful and we had a lot of fun!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeymoontrip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARADISUSPuntaCana1, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Paradisus Punta Cana staff, I would like to thank you for the kind remarks you have written about our facilities and the treatment you received during your vacation at our Hotel, in our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion.
We are looking forward to have the opportunity to serve you here at our Paradisus Punta Cana Resort.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

This was the best vacation ever! We met my best friend and her husband and family there for her 40th birthday. We upgraded to the Royal Service and it was worth every penny. Personal attention, waiters on the beach bringing drinks to us, perfect location to the beach.... I do not have one complaint. The staff was friendly and courteous and went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. The landscaping was beautiful, the food was good and the weather was PERFECT.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
22.9 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,936 reviews
26.5 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
62.0 km away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
4.0 km away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
4.4 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $341 - $839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumptuous gallery of luxury suites and an exclusive garden villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own casino, an incredible spa for kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 royal service suites and 4 ambassador ocean view suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront garden villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing