We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,690)
Filter reviews
10,690 results
Traveller rating
5,594
3,143
1,169
502
282
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,594
3,143
1,169
502
282
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini club kids club petit club hispaniola restaurant circus team chef de village zen pool flying trapeze crazy signs the white chocolate bread indigo bar la cave couscous team trident space tiara suites tennis team tiara section
Filter
Updating list...
2,384 - 2,389 of 10,690 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is the second time we go to Club Med with my wife. The first time was in Ixtapa a few years ago with 1 infant. This time, we came with our 2 kids, 7yrs old and 4 yrs old to look for relaxation for us and fun for the kids. Both Clubs are wonderfull and so relaxing for us... we work hard all year long and need this type of break with the kids being taken care of while we can enjoy all amities. Club med is unique to provide such experience. We will go back again for sure. Here are some tricks to enjoy the best you can of this great family vacation:

- Arrival at the airport: Painful on Saturdays, as European and American flights arrive pretty much at the same time... Expect at least an hour at Customs. Honestly, they need to fix this. After a long trip, this is not what you want to experience... If you have 3 kids, ask to go in front of the line. It works. Otherwise, forget about it. Try to avoid Saturday arrival, that's all. No need to take Club Med transportation in advance. There are plenty of official taxi drivers waiting for you in the luggage area. An official taxi would cost you $20 to get to the Club. Club Med charges $70-$80 and you have to wait for others in the bus, and you don't have the privacy & flexibility.

- Arrival at Club Med: After only a 10mn drive from the airport, you arrive at the resort and the room allocation is already made for you... no need to wait long fro check-in... very well done. Bravo the GOs! The "Chef du Village", Barcq, greets you and makes you feel at home. He is great and you can trust he will do everything possible to accomodate you along the way. In terms of rooms, if you have kids, choose the buildings next to the Kids Club, because you will go there often (drop, pick up kids, once, 2 or 3 times a day sometimes!). Our favorite building is Mariposa as it is right in front of the Kids Club and the Hisponiola restaurant, the best of the 2 restaurants available there as it is on the shore. Wifi was available in this building at $50/week (works in he whole resort). What's great about Mariposa (or any buildings nearby) is that you go to bfast with kids to Hispaniola, drop the kids to the mini club and then go back to the room to change before planning your day at the pool or the beach, the two main attractions... it takes you 10-15mn to do all this! Wifi is not great, honestly, it needs to be improved. Now that everyone has iPad or other tablets to read... it's really nice to have a good wi-fi everywhere in the resort.

Restaurants - Food is good, especially for an all-inclusive. They really try hard to make an effort on food. Just remember, it's Punta Cana, a resort area in the middle of the Carribeans... so it's not a 3-star Michelin, but one of the best in the area. Ask people who went ot Hard Rock or other resorts there... The French touch makes a difference. The local fish is really excellent.

Mini-Club - Mini-Club is basically like a day-camp for the kids, with a lot of attention from the animators. You can drop the kids at 8.45am and pick them up at 5.30pm, then drop them again at 7pm to 9pm for diner and a show. You can also pick up the kids during the day and drop them anytime in the activities... so convenient. All that is included in the package. What's extra is the Pyjama club after 9pm until 1pm. It's $30 per kid. I want to say a great thank you to all the GOs of the mini-clubs. They love the kids, are close to them and really do an amazing job at making this experience so memorable for the kids. Plus they accomodate all your demands and are so sweet. Thank you so much, can't wait to see you all next year!

Pool - This is the ridiculous part. Great Pool, but can't find a long chair unless you drop your stuff at 7am.... Club Med needs to do something about this. A lot of people drop their stuff at 7am and never even show up during the day... ridiculous. can't the Club Med do something about this?? For example, Impose a 1 hour limit for empty chairs. If no one shows up within an hour, the Gos remove the towels and belongings to lost and found. Just have one GO walk around the pool to time the empty chairs...

Beach - really beautiful pink/white sand... tall palm trees... lot of space between the chairs... beautiful water. Of course, some algae but not that bothersome. We loved the BBQ that is done sometimes near the bar area... so convenient and yummy.

Activities - Soccer, Tennis, Boating, Windsurf, Archery, Beach Volley, yogga on the beach, massage, and of course, the aqua-gym with Tony. Great energy. Great job all the GOs!

Return - Same comment as before, just ask the reception for a cab. It's only $20 and really convenient. Expect a long wait at the airport (45mn) on Sarturdays... Customs are not well organized. We found all the airport shopping expensive and pretty much tourist traps, what would you expect though?

Overall, wonderful experience. Will certainly go back, at least once a year. We loved the GOs, the flexbility, the beauty of the site, the food, the kids activities, the calm environment and energy at the same time. Great job and thank you again.

Overall, a wonderful experience

Room Tip: If you have kids, the best buldings are the Mariposa and the Colon. Others are good too, but try to avoid being too far from kids club. Call a week in advance to ask for these buidlings. We were in room 374, on the 2nd floor. The room was the standard room, and it was really good with a door separation between our room and the kids, A/C, a terasse, refrigirator, TV, Wifi access. View was average but who cares... you never in the room but to sleep.... Really good for the price.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Steven_NY,
We sincerely appreciate this great review of Club Med Punta Cana! It sounds like you took advantage of all that our resort has to offer. We’re pleased to hear that you loved our friendly staff, our kid’s programs, and our beautiful location. We’re sorry to hear that you had difficulty finding a spot to relax by our pool, but we take all of your insights and comments seriously, and will look into your recommendations immediately. We can’t wait to see you again next year!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I just returned from a week long trip to Punta Cana Club Med with my husband and 13 year old son . We all had an awesome time and can't wait to go back ! The Ramp's teen club was great ! My son loved it . The team was fsntastic especially Jose , Audrey and Wanny ! We loved the beach and they also had a great staff especially Carlos ! The food was excellent ! My only comment is that better organization is needed in table clearing and in seating guests when they come in . The rooms were ok and kept clean by a lovely staff especially Lidia . My comment here is that the rooms and buildings could be in better condition. Overall , Barq and his staff were great. They really cared if we had fun and spoke to us several times ! Hands up for this super vacation resort !

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliemomcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear LeslieMom,
Thank you for taking time to review our Punta Cana resort! We’re so happy that you and your family enjoyed everything Club Med has to offer! It sounds like you had a great time relaxing on our beautiful beaches, and interacting with our friendly staff! We truly value your recommendations and we can’t wait to see you on your next trip to Punta Cana!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I really liked punta cana because of the beach, the delicious food and many other things. Just be sure you like young kids because there's a lot of that there !
Also, do not travel in anyway whit aircanada because they are never ready at time and they can creat some stupid scedduel !

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Max R,
We truly appreciate you writing a review about your stay at our Punta Cana resort! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful beaches, and our delicious food. We’re sorry to hear that your flight did not meet all of your expectations, but we truly value your feedback and hope you return soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Vacation at Club med was amazing. One week felt better than reality, and left me dreading returning home. It was pretty much more than I'd hoped for, and left me stress free from high school work loads and 6 am mornings. Every day was productive, but my favorite places to be were the archery range and beach. I learned archery and windsurfing there, but it wouldn't be possible without the amazing G.O.s. Tony, Cyndie, and Jessi made learning archery easy, even back when I was doing it wrong. They were all extremely nice and talented and helped me get some bulls eyes by the end of the week. The Beach was also great, and I loved kayaking out to see the sunken ship every day. Miguel, Ivan, and Ronnie were awesome for helping me at the beach and making my stay fun. I loved learning windsurfing there too from Brit, who was an amazing teacher. The ramp was also one of my favorite places to go, with whom Vanessa made so much fun. It It was probably the busiest I've ever been, but I loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the entrance
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear David K,
Many thanks for reviewing our resort! We’re thrilled you had such an incredible time with us! It’s great to hear our GO staff was friendly when teaching you archery and helping you at the beach. We’re thrilled your vacation with us was the stress reliever you needed. Thanks again for reviewing our resort. We wish you safe travels and hope you’ll visit again soon!
Best,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Returned from our trip 2 weeks ago. Travelled with a 3 and 1 year old. We booked at the last minute by phone and were told due to high demand they could only accommodate us by having us stay in one room for 2 days then another room for the remainder of the week. Because of the high reviews we decided to go for it. The room was a club room - very small and tired, in general need of updating. Our 1 year old developed a fever on the day after we arrived. The nurse was very helpful and even though the infirmary on site was not open she gave us ibuprofen, trusting that we would pay for it later. We approached the concierge regarding our room change to see if they would allow us to stay in the same room. They refused. Instead they told us we would have to check out of our room by 11 am and not be able to move into the other room until 3pm! They knew our son was unwell and required a lunch time nap. Even though they did suggest that we could moved into a room right at the edge of the complex requiring a 7-10 min walk each way and every time we wanted to access our room from the pool/ restaurant areas, they had no empathy and no interest to help us. We spoke to multiple people and asked to speak to the manager who refused and would only communicate via the front desk personnel. We were not allowed a late check out because apparently the people due to move into our room were arriving early that morning and they had agreed to a late check out for the people staying in the other room. That was very inconsistent and unfair towards us, especially given our sick child. In the end we spoke to the cleaner who was very accommodating and extremely nice (Pricilla). She told us when the other room was cleaned so that the transition was smooth and wasn't too disruptive for the children. The second room was a delux club and though it had the same furniture and was also in need of reno, it was much more spacious. We paid for wifi access in our room - it never worked. In fact the Internet was only accessible in the lobby/ reception area and was offline for a day. The pool area was great, the beach was fantastic and the restaurants were good. There was lots of choice but the quality of the food was not that great. The hours of opening are also quite late for a resort that is family orientated. We will not be going there again.

Room Tip: Go for the delux club if you have more than one child.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanadianFamily843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear CanadianFamily843,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review. While we’re glad you and your family enjoyed our pool, beach and restaurants, we are terribly sorry to learn that our resort was not accommodating to your needs. We constantly strive to create a friendly and supportive environment, and we assure you the service you experienced is not up to Club Med's high standards. We greatly value your insights, and we are looking into your concerns immediately. Thank you again for taking the time to review our resort. We wish you safe travels.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews