We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,771)
Filter reviews
10,772 results
Traveller rating
5,637
3,169
1,176
508
282
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,637
3,169
1,176
508
282
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini club kids club petit club hispaniola restaurant circus team chef de village zen pool flying trapeze crazy signs indigo bar la cave trident space tiara suites tennis team tiara section land sports french speaking
Filter
Updating list...
2,401 - 2,406 of 10,772 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We just returned from a week at Club Med Punta Cana and by far, the best part of the vacation was witnessing the joy our children felt at every moment. Our kids are 9, 7, and 2. By the end of our week, our 2-year-old wanted to marry his Petit Club GO, Nadege, and we would have happily agreed if our son had been just a little older. Nadege went far above and beyond, showering the kids with so much love and attention--she is really something special. Our son loved Lauren and Emmanuel in Petit Club too--they really stood out for their energy, terrific attitudes and dependability.

For us adults it was fun and relaxing too, but there are some drawbacks to the Punta Cana resort--the puzzling lack of umbrellas at the beach, the lack of designated non-smoking areas, the truly low-quality evening shows (but the kids loved participating, so we were fine with that), and the insulting prices at the boutique. The beach and the sunsets are gorgeous here. There are a lot of young families with happy kids--in fact, we didn't meet anyone on vacation who didn't have kids with them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear globalestate
Wow! It sounds like your children made some unforgettable memories at our resort! We’re so happy to hear how much fun they had at our kid’s clubs! We’re sorry you experienced some trouble finding lounge chairs on our beaches, but we take your comments and feedback very seriously, and will make sure to look into your concerns immediately. We would like to thank you for choosing to come to Club Med for your family vacation and hope you come back soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2012

First experience with Club Med and second time at an all inclusive. All in all experience was very good. Great location, great atmosphere, friendly staff, good food...
However at arrival and after a 12 hour trip, we had to wait quite a long time to get our room, which was not very pleasant. I complained and they tried to speed it up. We were assigned a room a bit far from the swimming pool, the beach and the reception and, traveling with a two year old and a five year old it was not what I expected. I complained once again and managed to get a room exactly where I wanted but only to be available 48 hours later (I have to thank Joel at reception for that). Once we moved and settled in the new room, vacation really started and we could relax and enjoy ourselves.
The GOS do a very good job mainly considering that they work from 8.00 AM to 12.00 AM and are absolutely fantastic with the children (special thanks to Martin, Nadesh, Lauren at the Petit Club).
We did not try the excursion provided but rented out a boat a couple of hours to see the coast and go snorkeling. We liked it but the prices are completely mad. They are fixed by Club Med and either you take it or leave it.
The local employees are nice and friendly, specially at the beach bar/resto Altagracia with her beautiful smile and kindness. Also Leo at the same spot was wonderful: friendly, efficient, super!
Thanks a lot to everyone!

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor for the humidity and don't expect too much. If traveling with kids need to be located between the reception and the Restaurant La Hispaniola, don't accept going further! But even though the rooms are not top, you dont spend much inside and the beds are quite comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgantonpacheco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear pgantonpacheco,
We’re happy to hear that you had a great first experience with Club Med at our Punta Cana resort! Thank you for being understanding and allowing our staff to accommodate your requests in a a timely manner. It sounds like your children had a great time at our kid’s programs. Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience at our resort, as we truly value all of your comments and opinions. We hope you come back and visit soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is the second time we go to Club Med with my wife. The first time was in Ixtapa a few years ago with 1 infant. This time, we came with our 2 kids, 7yrs old and 4 yrs old to look for relaxation for us and fun for the kids. Both Clubs are wonderfull and so relaxing for us... we work hard all year long and need this type of break with the kids being taken care of while we can enjoy all amities. Club med is unique to provide such experience. We will go back again for sure. Here are some tricks to enjoy the best you can of this great family vacation:

- Arrival at the airport: Painful on Saturdays, as European and American flights arrive pretty much at the same time... Expect at least an hour at Customs. Honestly, they need to fix this. After a long trip, this is not what you want to experience... If you have 3 kids, ask to go in front of the line. It works. Otherwise, forget about it. Try to avoid Saturday arrival, that's all. No need to take Club Med transportation in advance. There are plenty of official taxi drivers waiting for you in the luggage area. An official taxi would cost you $20 to get to the Club. Club Med charges $70-$80 and you have to wait for others in the bus, and you don't have the privacy & flexibility.

- Arrival at Club Med: After only a 10mn drive from the airport, you arrive at the resort and the room allocation is already made for you... no need to wait long fro check-in... very well done. Bravo the GOs! The "Chef du Village", Barcq, greets you and makes you feel at home. He is great and you can trust he will do everything possible to accomodate you along the way. In terms of rooms, if you have kids, choose the buildings next to the Kids Club, because you will go there often (drop, pick up kids, once, 2 or 3 times a day sometimes!). Our favorite building is Mariposa as it is right in front of the Kids Club and the Hisponiola restaurant, the best of the 2 restaurants available there as it is on the shore. Wifi was available in this building at $50/week (works in he whole resort). What's great about Mariposa (or any buildings nearby) is that you go to bfast with kids to Hispaniola, drop the kids to the mini club and then go back to the room to change before planning your day at the pool or the beach, the two main attractions... it takes you 10-15mn to do all this! Wifi is not great, honestly, it needs to be improved. Now that everyone has iPad or other tablets to read... it's really nice to have a good wi-fi everywhere in the resort.

Restaurants - Food is good, especially for an all-inclusive. They really try hard to make an effort on food. Just remember, it's Punta Cana, a resort area in the middle of the Carribeans... so it's not a 3-star Michelin, but one of the best in the area. Ask people who went ot Hard Rock or other resorts there... The French touch makes a difference. The local fish is really excellent.

Mini-Club - Mini-Club is basically like a day-camp for the kids, with a lot of attention from the animators. You can drop the kids at 8.45am and pick them up at 5.30pm, then drop them again at 7pm to 9pm for diner and a show. You can also pick up the kids during the day and drop them anytime in the activities... so convenient. All that is included in the package. What's extra is the Pyjama club after 9pm until 1pm. It's $30 per kid. I want to say a great thank you to all the GOs of the mini-clubs. They love the kids, are close to them and really do an amazing job at making this experience so memorable for the kids. Plus they accomodate all your demands and are so sweet. Thank you so much, can't wait to see you all next year!

Pool - This is the ridiculous part. Great Pool, but can't find a long chair unless you drop your stuff at 7am.... Club Med needs to do something about this. A lot of people drop their stuff at 7am and never even show up during the day... ridiculous. can't the Club Med do something about this?? For example, Impose a 1 hour limit for empty chairs. If no one shows up within an hour, the Gos remove the towels and belongings to lost and found. Just have one GO walk around the pool to time the empty chairs...

Beach - really beautiful pink/white sand... tall palm trees... lot of space between the chairs... beautiful water. Of course, some algae but not that bothersome. We loved the BBQ that is done sometimes near the bar area... so convenient and yummy.

Activities - Soccer, Tennis, Boating, Windsurf, Archery, Beach Volley, yogga on the beach, massage, and of course, the aqua-gym with Tony. Great energy. Great job all the GOs!

Return - Same comment as before, just ask the reception for a cab. It's only $20 and really convenient. Expect a long wait at the airport (45mn) on Sarturdays... Customs are not well organized. We found all the airport shopping expensive and pretty much tourist traps, what would you expect though?

Overall, wonderful experience. Will certainly go back, at least once a year. We loved the GOs, the flexbility, the beauty of the site, the food, the kids activities, the calm environment and energy at the same time. Great job and thank you again.

Overall, a wonderful experience

Room Tip: If you have kids, the best buldings are the Mariposa and the Colon. Others are good too, but try to avoid being too far from kids club. Call a week in advance to ask for these buidlings. We were in room 374, on the 2nd floor. The room was the standard room, and it was really good with a door separation between our room and the kids, A/C, a terasse, refrigirator, TV, Wifi access. View was average but who cares... you never in the room but to sleep.... Really good for the price.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Steven_NY,
We sincerely appreciate this great review of Club Med Punta Cana! It sounds like you took advantage of all that our resort has to offer. We’re pleased to hear that you loved our friendly staff, our kid’s programs, and our beautiful location. We’re sorry to hear that you had difficulty finding a spot to relax by our pool, but we take all of your insights and comments seriously, and will look into your recommendations immediately. We can’t wait to see you again next year!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I just returned from a week long trip to Punta Cana Club Med with my husband and 13 year old son . We all had an awesome time and can't wait to go back ! The Ramp's teen club was great ! My son loved it . The team was fsntastic especially Jose , Audrey and Wanny ! We loved the beach and they also had a great staff especially Carlos ! The food was excellent ! My only comment is that better organization is needed in table clearing and in seating guests when they come in . The rooms were ok and kept clean by a lovely staff especially Lidia . My comment here is that the rooms and buildings could be in better condition. Overall , Barq and his staff were great. They really cared if we had fun and spoke to us several times ! Hands up for this super vacation resort !

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliemomcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear LeslieMom,
Thank you for taking time to review our Punta Cana resort! We’re so happy that you and your family enjoyed everything Club Med has to offer! It sounds like you had a great time relaxing on our beautiful beaches, and interacting with our friendly staff! We truly value your recommendations and we can’t wait to see you on your next trip to Punta Cana!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I really liked punta cana because of the beach, the delicious food and many other things. Just be sure you like young kids because there's a lot of that there !
Also, do not travel in anyway whit aircanada because they are never ready at time and they can creat some stupid scedduel !

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Max R,
We truly appreciate you writing a review about your stay at our Punta Cana resort! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful beaches, and our delicious food. We’re sorry to hear that your flight did not meet all of your expectations, but we truly value your feedback and hope you return soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews