We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$570
US$284
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Palace(Bavaro)
US$346
US$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$463
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$296/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$258
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$631
US$454
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
US$415
US$230
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$365
US$281
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$202
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$225
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CHIC by Royalton Luxury Resorts(Uvero Alto)(Great Value!)
US$810
US$464
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10,439)
Filter reviews
10,439 results
Traveller rating
5,471
3,082
1,138
480
268
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,471
3,082
1,138
480
268
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini clubkids clubpetit clubhispaniola restaurantcircus teamchef de villagezen poolflying trapezecrazy signsthe white chocolate breadindigo barla cavecouscous teamtrident spacetennis teamtiara suitestiara section
Filter
Updating list...
2,319 - 2,324 of 10,439 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The grounds and beach are beautiful. The food is excellent. The club is less than 10 minutes from the airport. It is a wonderful place to spend time with kids and grand kids The only hassle is the airport arrival. The country is more organized for departures.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank DesertDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear DesertDarling,
Many thanks for writing a review about your experience at Club Med Punta Cana. We are so glad you enjoyed our beautiful location, our food, and more! Thanks again for sharing your feedback, as we appreciate all comments! We hope you come back with your family very soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2012

i personally liked the trapeze team the best, they were so nice. my mom didnt want to go but Henry (one of the trapeze people) taught her how to and she had great fun.

Everything else was fantastic. The food was amazing pool was great and all of the club med was the best. the cheff du village was very nice to us. (i am not sure if i said it right but i d care)

Room Tip: we stayed a little to far away from the Hispanola which is the food place. that was the closet main part to us. we stayed at azul. that is the farthest you should be.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear James H,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your vacation at our Punta Cana resort. It sounds like you and your mom had a great time trying out the trapeze. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our dining choices, our pools, and the overall Club Med experience. Thanks for all of your feedback and comments, and we hope to see you back very soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2012

After spending 72 hours waylaid in our nondescript room; dealing with an incompetent and rude staff my wife and I have sworn never to return to a Club Med again.

The place is huge; it is impersonal; it lacks warmth; it lacks cleanliness; and it sorely lacks any sense of professionalism.

When we arrived on a Monday, we were told our room wasn't ready; which was no big deal. A few minutes later, my wife double checked about our room status with the front desk and was told that our room was in fact ready. She was pointed in the general direction and told our bags would meet us there. No one offered to guide her to our room, so she set out on our own, carrying our six month old; so much for good first impressions.

My son and I bumped into her and we joined the search for the room. After wandering around aimlessly for a while, the fourth employee we asked for directions took pity on us and led us to the room. By that time our baby was developing a heat rash.

Things only got worse when we brought our baby to the day care. My wife gave explicit instructions on when to feed him and how much; she even filled out their chart. When we came back a few hours later to check-in, we could hear him screaming at the top of his lungs from 50 yards away. He hadn't been fed, and he was in a soiled diaper. When my wife took her concerns to the day care's manager, the manager became defensive; in her broken English she claimed they didn't understand our directions.

Apparently, it never occurred to anyone that when a baby poops, you change his diaper, and when he screams you give him a bottle. When my wife became visibly upset; the manager presented her with a gift for the baby -- a set of Disney characters; the outside of the container said in English and Spanish - not for kids under three; choking hazard.

The next day when we brought him back to the baby center; we explicitly asked for him to stay inside; his heat rash wasn't getting any better. That evening when I went to pick him up, they had him outside, in the heat.

Later that night, he started to projectile vomit. We brought him to the infirmary and were told he picked up some sort of intestinal bug in the day care center. That bug spread to our four year old; then to my wife; then to me. And the four of us spent the next three days in the room; the only time we left was for runs to the infirmary for more medicine.

It was during this phase of our vacation that Club Med’s policy to regulate room temperatures to 77 degrees became particularly hard to bear; picture four sick people; sweating profusely in a room that was about 500 square feet.

We spent over $900.00 in medical expenses; and made countless trips to the infirmary. Our four year old developed strep throat; he was diagnosed and put on meds by their doctor. Our six month old was completely dehydrated; he lost a pound and half during our hellish stay. His conditioned climaxed with a trip to emergency room when we returned to the States; he had to be put on an IV.

The staff; for the most part was rude. Their overall philosophy seemed to be that the guests were more of an inconvenience; than paying customers. In one instance a busboy with a cart of dishes started up a ramp; after seeing my wife had started to descend the same ramp with our baby in a stroller. She backed up; and he didn't even have the decency to say "gracias." I can't even tell you how many times we were forced off the walkways by some staff member driving one of the dozens of golf carts or service vehicles.

By the end of our stay; we couldn't wait to get out of there. We had a 3pm flight; but chose to go the airport 5 hours early; we figured waiting there would be more pleasant.

When we had a chance to bring our complaints to the chief of the village; he told us in his broken English - these things happen on family vacations.

My wife and her family have been going to Club Meds since 1976; in her words she felt like an old friend had let her down. Her loyalty to the brand apparently has gone
unappreciated. We just heard back from Club Med about our stay; they’ve offered to refund us a portion of the expense of the baby’s day care charges; they told us that since we have health insurance they won’t cover our medical bills; and in a feeble gesture to acknowledge how miserable our vacation was; they offered a $300.00 credit towards our next stay.

In sum; if you’re planning an all inclusive vacation; go anywhere other than Club Med Punta Cana; or save your money and stay home. How bad was it? When I asked my son what the highlight of his vacation was; he said ‘taking my shoes off at the airport.’ Even the TSA ranks higher in his mind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank rbdwwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Dear rbdwwd,
We sincerely apologize for your experience at our Punta Cana resort. Your feedback is very important to us, and we value your loyalty to Club Med over the years. We're truly sorry that this vacation did not meet all of your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review for us.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We returned from a one week stay at the "5 Trident" levels rooms in Punta Cana. I am taking my time to write this review because it is difficult for me to understand all the 5 star reviews. Perhaps the expectations are different for people from different countries and different parts of the US.

GOOD:
-Airport tranfers were by taxi and included with Trident rooms
-Ann at Trident reception was excellent. The hotel concierge was very rude and started yelling because his English was so poor he could not understand me. Perhaps if he yelled, I would suddenly learn French!
-The GO's were all nice and said hello when we passed. The other employees could care less.
-Trident room VIEWS were excellent, as were the beach and all the activitites throughout the day.
-The food for the most part was average to good (Friday night gala dinner featured lobster-got three lobsters for the family-one was good, one was boarderline bad, and one was rancid).

BAD:
-Lots of theft here so lock up your valuables up in the provided safe like we did.
-Kids club was a bad. Our child signed up for snorkling and kayaking. They did neither. Walked down to the beach, got their feet wet and came back. Also the people that run the kids clubs have such a heavy accent, it is hard for an English speaking child to understand them.
-Nothing much to see outside the resort and could be very dangerous in some parts.
-No free chairs after 8 AM around the main pool. Had to get up early to grab a chair aound the main pool. The Trident pool is very far from all the activities.

UGLY:
-Cleanliness of the room (Trident) was a major turnoff for us.
---Mold and mildew in the bathroom. Shower stall had months of soap scum, mold, and mildew. It was so disgusting that our entire family took showers with our flip flops on. The shower also did not drain properly (They fixed this after we complained).
---Bathroom glass cups had residual tooth paste in them from previous guests.
---Thick dust on the main lampshade, dust and dead insects on every ledge. Upholstery dirty and had foul odor. Area rugs filthy.

-Pool area.
---Trident pool reused the towels after the guest left provided they were dry.
---Main pool had cushions that were heavily stained with dirt, grease, sweat and food. The general surroundings around the main pool could use a good power wash.

-Restaurants
---Tables were never cleared off completely after a party left. Utensils, paper napkins and glasses were given a visual inspection and were reused as long as they visually looked clean. Same for the pitcher of water that sat at the center of the table.
---Unsupervised children all over the buffet. Adults and children taking items with their fingers and putting them back. Observed a girl eating a slice of watermelon so the juices would drip back on to the rest of the watermelon for the guests.
---Hispaniola: Birds and bird droppings at breakfast and lunch. Chair frames covered with bird droppings. "Chef" tasting food with a spoon and reusing the same spoon to taste it again.
---Samana: Visually cleaner than Hispaniola. No birds, but replaced with flies.
---Just pure lack of hygiene in both restaurants and lots of the guests as well.
---In both restaurants one person had to stay at the table while the others went up for seconds to keep the birds and flies away from our utensils.

Club Med Punta Cana does not remotely resemble a luxury vacation. Not even the Tridents. They fumigate the outside at least once or twice at night. So there are more bugs inside your room than ouside. The 1 inch opening at the botton of the front door will allow the bugs to come in. All sorts of interesting bugs and 2 inch roaches crawling around the room.

Lucky for us none of us got sick at the restaurants, but we were very vigilant. Sorry to say this will be our first and only visit to Club Med.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelAllOver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Dear TravelAllOver123,
We’re very sorry that your vacation at our Punta Cana resort did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide an enjoyable experience for all of our guests, and we’re sorry we didn’t achieve this for you. We truly value all of your feedback and insights, and we are address all of your concerns immediately. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Petit Club /Kids club was really great: facilities are perfect for all age kids/babies, people in charge are really great with kids on all level, so that part was a 10/10.

Resort was too big for us. 'Our' main issues were:
-We believe only 2 restaurants and 1 swimming is not enough when the village is full (which was our case).
At the restaurants, we felt too much like if we were at a canteen, it was packed.
-Same comment for the only swimming pool, overbooked - unless you woke up at 6am and put personal belongings on the best chairs, you 'were dead for the day'.
Beach was packed as well...
so difficult to relax and nap with so many people concentrated on thes 2 areas.
Even though we recognized the Petit Club is just 'heaven' for kids, we prefer the Club Med in Guadeloupe as smaller in terms of capacities.

Room Tip: 1st floor room have less A/C unit noise and look better
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mb o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Dear mb o,
We’re happy to learn that you loved our Petit Club and Kids Club! We’re so happy to provide a great vacation for the whole family. We’re very sorry that you felt our resort was too crowded to be able to relax. We take your insight seriously and will look into all of your concerns. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews