We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Punta Cana
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stay at Club Med Jan 2012...and we are booked for next Feb 2013, so clearly we really liked it but I woudl recommend the following to management:
- paint the rusted poles in the Mini club pool
- clean placemats in restaurant or use paper ones for breakfast and lunch when turn over is high
-ensure HVAC is working well
-stock bar fridges with beer
-ensure coffee is hot
-enforce early morning towel placers at the pool who don't show up until noon
-have another food option from 2-6 pm beside the pool bar

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank henney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear henney88,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly value all of your insights and recommendations, and will pass them along to the management team. We’re happy you had such a great time on your vacation in January and can’t wait to see you in February of 2013! Thank you again for this feedback, as it is very important to us!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,916 - 1,922 of 8,960 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

The grounds and beach are beautiful. The food is excellent. The club is less than 10 minutes from the airport. It is a wonderful place to spend time with kids and grand kids The only hassle is the airport arrival. The country is more organized for departures.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank DesertDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear DesertDarling,
Many thanks for writing a review about your experience at Club Med Punta Cana. We are so glad you enjoyed our beautiful location, our food, and more! Thanks again for sharing your feedback, as we appreciate all comments! We hope you come back with your family very soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

i personally liked the trapeze team the best, they were so nice. my mom didnt want to go but Henry (one of the trapeze people) taught her how to and she had great fun.

Everything else was fantastic. The food was amazing pool was great and all of the club med was the best. the cheff du village was very nice to us. (i am not sure if i said it right but i d care)

Room Tip: we stayed a little to far away from the Hispanola which is the food place. that was the closet main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear James H,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your vacation at our Punta Cana resort. It sounds like you and your mom had a great time trying out the trapeze. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our dining choices, our pools, and the overall Club Med experience. Thanks for all of your feedback and comments, and we hope to see you back very soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After spending 72 hours waylaid in our nondescript room; dealing with an incompetent and rude staff my wife and I have sworn never to return to a Club Med again.

The place is huge; it is impersonal; it lacks warmth; it lacks cleanliness; and it sorely lacks any sense of professionalism.

When we arrived on a Monday, we were told our room wasn't ready; which was no big deal. A few minutes later, my wife double checked about our room status with the front desk and was told that our room was in fact ready. She was pointed in the general direction and told our bags would meet us there. No one offered to guide her to our room, so she set out on our own, carrying our six month old; so much for good first impressions.

My son and I bumped into her and we joined the search for the room. After wandering around aimlessly for a while, the fourth employee we asked for directions took pity on us and led us to the room. By that time our baby was developing a heat rash.

Things only got worse when we brought our baby to the day care. My wife gave explicit instructions on when to feed him and how much; she even filled out their chart. When we came back a few hours later to check-in, we could hear him screaming at the top of his lungs from 50 yards away. He hadn't been fed, and he was in a soiled diaper. When my wife took her concerns to the day care's manager, the manager became defensive; in her broken English she claimed they didn't understand our directions.

Apparently, it never occurred to anyone that when a baby poops, you change his diaper, and when he screams you give him a bottle. When my wife became visibly upset; the manager presented her with a gift for the baby -- a set of Disney characters; the outside of the container said in English and Spanish - not for kids under three; choking hazard.

The next day when we brought him back to the baby center; we explicitly asked for him to stay inside; his heat rash wasn't getting any better. That evening when I went to pick him up, they had him outside, in the heat.

Later that night, he started to projectile vomit. We brought him to the infirmary and were told he picked up some sort of intestinal bug in the day care center. That bug spread to our four year old; then to my wife; then to me. And the four of us spent the next three days in the room; the only time we left was for runs to the infirmary for more medicine.

It was during this phase of our vacation that Club Med’s policy to regulate room temperatures to 77 degrees became particularly hard to bear; picture four sick people; sweating profusely in a room that was about 500 square feet.

We spent over $900.00 in medical expenses; and made countless trips to the infirmary. Our four year old developed strep throat; he was diagnosed and put on meds by their doctor. Our six month old was completely dehydrated; he lost a pound and half during our hellish stay. His conditioned climaxed with a trip to emergency room when we returned to the States; he had to be put on an IV.

The staff; for the most part was rude. Their overall philosophy seemed to be that the guests were more of an inconvenience; than paying customers. In one instance a busboy with a cart of dishes started up a ramp; after seeing my wife had started to descend the same ramp with our baby in a stroller. She backed up; and he didn't even have the decency to say "gracias." I can't even tell you how many times we were forced off the walkways by some staff member driving one of the dozens of golf carts or service vehicles.


By the end of our stay; we couldn't wait to get out of there. We had a 3pm flight; but chose to go the airport 5 hours early; we figured waiting there would be more pleasant.

When we had a chance to bring our complaints to the chief of the village; he told us in his broken English - these things happen on family vacations.

My wife and her family have been going to Club Meds since 1976; in her words she felt like an old friend had let her down. Her loyalty to the brand apparently has gone
unappreciated. We just heard back from Club Med about our stay; they’ve offered to refund us a portion of the expense of the baby’s day care charges; they told us that since we have health insurance they won’t cover our medical bills; and in a feeble gesture to acknowledge how miserable our vacation was; they offered a $300.00 credit towards our next stay.

In sum; if you’re planning an all inclusive vacation; go anywhere other than Club Med Punta Cana; or save your money and stay home. How bad was it? When I asked my son what the highlight of his vacation was; he said ‘taking my shoes off at the airport.’ Even the TSA ranks higher in his mind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank rbdwwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear rbdwwd,
We sincerely apologize for your experience at our Punta Cana resort. Your feedback is very important to us, and we value your loyalty to Club Med over the years. We're truly sorry that this vacation did not meet all of your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review for us.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We returned from a one week stay at the "5 Trident" levels rooms in Punta Cana. I am taking my time to write this review because it is difficult for me to understand all the 5 star reviews. Perhaps the expectations are different for people from different countries and different parts of the US.

GOOD:
-Airport tranfers were by taxi and included with Trident rooms
-Ann at Trident reception was excellent. The hotel concierge was very rude and started yelling because his English was so poor he could not understand me. Perhaps if he yelled, I would suddenly learn French!
-The GO's were all nice and said hello when we passed. The other employees could care less.
-Trident room VIEWS were excellent, as were the beach and all the activitites throughout the day.
-The food for the most part was average to good (Friday night gala dinner featured lobster-got three lobsters for the family-one was good, one was boarderline bad, and one was rancid).

BAD:
-Lots of theft here so lock up your valuables up in the provided safe like we did.
-Kids club was a bad. Our child signed up for snorkling and kayaking. They did neither. Walked down to the beach, got their feet wet and came back. Also the people that run the kids clubs have such a heavy accent, it is hard for an English speaking child to understand them.
-Nothing much to see outside the resort and could be very dangerous in some parts.
-No free chairs after 8 AM around the main pool. Had to get up early to grab a chair aound the main pool. The Trident pool is very far from all the activities.

UGLY:
-Cleanliness of the room (Trident) was a major turnoff for us.
---Mold and mildew in the bathroom. Shower stall had months of soap scum, mold, and mildew. It was so disgusting that our entire family took showers with our flip flops on. The shower also did not drain properly (They fixed this after we complained).
---Bathroom glass cups had residual tooth paste in them from previous guests.
---Thick dust on the main lampshade, dust and dead insects on every ledge. Upholstery dirty and had foul odor. Area rugs filthy.

-Pool area.
---Trident pool reused the towels after the guest left provided they were dry.
---Main pool had cushions that were heavily stained with dirt, grease, sweat and food. The general surroundings around the main pool could use a good power wash.

-Restaurants
---Tables were never cleared off completely after a party left. Utensils, paper napkins and glasses were given a visual inspection and were reused as long as they visually looked clean. Same for the pitcher of water that sat at the center of the table.
---Unsupervised children all over the buffet. Adults and children taking items with their fingers and putting them back. Observed a girl eating a slice of watermelon so the juices would drip back on to the rest of the watermelon for the guests.
---Hispaniola: Birds and bird droppings at breakfast and lunch. Chair frames covered with bird droppings. "Chef" tasting food with a spoon and reusing the same spoon to taste it again.
---Samana: Visually cleaner than Hispaniola. No birds, but replaced with flies.
---Just pure lack of hygiene in both restaurants and lots of the guests as well.
---In both restaurants one person had to stay at the table while the others went up for seconds to keep the birds and flies away from our utensils.

Club Med Punta Cana does not remotely resemble a luxury vacation. Not even the Tridents. They fumigate the outside at least once or twice at night. So there are more bugs inside your room than ouside. The 1 inch opening at the botton of the front door will allow the bugs to come in. All sorts of interesting bugs and 2 inch roaches crawling around the room.

Lucky for us none of us got sick at the restaurants, but we were very vigilant. Sorry to say this will be our first and only visit to Club Med.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelAllOver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear TravelAllOver123,
We’re very sorry that your vacation at our Punta Cana resort did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide an enjoyable experience for all of our guests, and we’re sorry we didn’t achieve this for you. We truly value all of your feedback and insights, and we are address all of your concerns immediately. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Petit Club /Kids club was really great: facilities are perfect for all age kids/babies, people in charge are really great with kids on all level, so that part was a 10/10.

Resort was too big for us. 'Our' main issues were:
-We believe only 2 restaurants and 1 swimming is not enough when the village is full (which was our case).
At the restaurants, we felt too much like if we were at a canteen, it was packed.
-Same comment for the only swimming pool, overbooked - unless you woke up at 6am and put personal belongings on the best chairs, you 'were dead for the day'.
Beach was packed as well...
so difficult to relax and nap with so many people concentrated on thes 2 areas.
Even though we recognized the Petit Club is just 'heaven' for kids, we prefer the Club Med in Guadeloupe as smaller in terms of capacities.

Room Tip: 1st floor room have less A/C unit noise and look better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mb o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear mb o,
We’re happy to learn that you loved our Petit Club and Kids Club! We’re so happy to provide a great vacation for the whole family. We’re very sorry that you felt our resort was too crowded to be able to relax. We take your insight seriously and will look into all of your concerns. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had an excellent week, for the most part. The Mini Club was excellent for our 8-year-old daughter, especially the show. We enjoyed the windsurfing and sailing. Food was better than we expected, with good variety.

However, there was one problem. The photo service, Showtime Pictures, suffered a hard drive crash, and almost all of our vacation photos were lost. They didn't want to help me at first, but after I complained repeatedly, they were able to save just a few of our pictures.

Other than Showtime Pictures, the customer service at Club Med was quite good. We had an excellent week overall, and we will probably return in the future.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
Thank CaymanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear CaymanT,
We’re happy to hear your overall experience at our Punta Cana resort was great! It sounds like you had a a lot of fun trying all of our fun water sports, like sailing and windsurfing. We apologize, however, that your pictures were lost. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.0 km away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
3.7 km away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
9.7 km away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#8 of 112 in Punta Cana
430 reviews
19.7 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
15.9 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $380 - $1,388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing