We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Bavaro Palace(Bavaro)
US$345
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$631
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$258
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$378
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$441
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$480
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
US$393
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$297
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$365
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (10,426)
Filter reviews
10,427 results
Traveller rating
5,463
3,082
1,136
478
268
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,463
3,082
1,136
478
268
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini clubkids clubpetit clubhispaniola restaurantcircus teamchef de villagezen poolflying trapezecrazy signsthe white chocolate breadindigo barla cavecouscous teamtrident spacetennis teamtiara suitestiara section
Filter
Updating list...
2,311 - 2,316 of 10,427 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Just returned from a week with my family of 5 and three other families, a total of 18 of us. Great vacation for us and the kids. Lots to do for adults and kids, ages range from 11 to 16. The village is big, and it felt like it was spread out but the reality is nothing is more than about a 5 minute walk. Food was awesome with a great variey of options for the pickiest to the most adventurous! We spend most of our time at the winsurfing/sailing beach, great Go's Brittney, Kevin, Fabrice, Ivan. I highly recommend water shoes, lots of coral and sharp reefs. All of the kids, 10 of them leaned to windsuff while they were here! The windsurfing equipment is a little hammered, but I can see why, lots of beginners thrashing around. Also played lots of tennis, greated everyday by Jessie, and clinics with Ramon (quite a character, in a good way!) I have read a couple of negative reviews and I have to say they coudn't be more wrong. Club Med is about having fun and enjoying the surrondings, if you want to be pampered go to the Four Seasons!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank willvt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear willvt1,
We’re so happy to hear you had a great time vacationing at our Punta Cana resort with your family. It is so awesome that you all enjoyed learning how to windsurf, and we bet you are all pros now! It makes us happy that you had a great time participating in all of our activities! Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Come back and see us soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were at the Punta Cana Village from March 17 to 24, 2012. As we arrived, we were welcomed by many GOs. Julien from Public Relation and Marie-Pascale from reception took care of us as we arrived. Marie-Pascale showed us different accommodation while waiting for our luggage to be brought to our room. We were very impressed with their professionalism and enthusiasm. The whole week over there was paradise. Food was more than excellent and very well presented. There were choices for everyone’s liking. And the desserts … wow!!! You need to try the chocolate bread. Thanks to Leo, Mike, Jonathan, Elisa, Joannie, the wine waiter, and all the team from the kitchens for making our meals’ time a gustative experience. Though we didn’t have any children, we had the chance to discuss with Alban, Audrey and Vanessa who were taking care of the children & teenagers during the day and also at night for the teenagers. They were explaining their days with the kids with passion. Your children would have the best time ever. Rooms were well cleaned and the staff cleaning our room was very friendly. We had the chance to talk to Pascale who is in charge of all the staff doing the rooms, and once again you detect a real professionalism. We really enjoyed every moment, taking the time to try all kinds of sports. Thanks to Kevin, Jessie, Kim, Tony, Marisa and Lenny for passing on their energy to us. After a fulfilled day, it was nice to relax at the bar and discuss with the personnel. We had the chance to meet Mauricio, Tim and Julia. All were so friendly. We are probably forgetting some names but really, each and everyone of the GOs were great. At last, we would like to thank the Chef of the Village, Bark, who was taking the time to discuss with the guess and making sure we were all enjoying ourselves. His dedication is definitely contagious to all his personnel. We could have summarized our vacation as “beautiful weather, excellent food and great time” but we thought it was important to thank all the people who made the difference.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreeGatineau_Qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear AndreeGatineua_Qc,
Wow! It sounds like you had an unforgettable vacation at our Punta Cana resort! We’re so happy you enjoyed all aspects of our resort! It sounds like you really took advantage of all we have to offer, from our sports activities to enjoying a drink at our bars. We thank you so much for your comments and taking the time to write a review. We hope you come back to visit us again very soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We are a family of four with two kids 10 and 13. We stayed for a week in the Tiara suites. Fantastic views from the suites, excellent service all around. Kids had lots to do with Passworld, trapeze, archery, tennis, snorkeling, kayaking. They spent quite a bit of time in the Tiara pool. All of the staff from the Tiara concierges and managers down to the GE's were friendly and always helpful. We ate most of our meals in the Hispaniola, food variety and quality was excellent. Yes there are a few birds around but its nothing to get fussed over, people. The wine and beer weren't too bad either. Personally we like the buffet approach, never had problems getting a table, never had to wait long for anything. There is so much to do here I can't imagine how anyone could get bored. We did not partake in many of the shows or crazy signs events. Its very close to the airport, ie a 10 min cab ride. Overall, superb vacation.

Room Tip: Stay in the Tiara suites. There are more than enough lounge chairs for all guests, and the views are the best on the resort. There is a separate bar for Tiara guests, and there are reservation priveleges on the Hispaniola terrace for dinner.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CDNtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear CDNtraveller66,
Thank you for writing a review for us! We’re so happy to hear you had a great time at our Punta Cana resort with your family. It sounds like you had fun trying out all of our great activities like kayaking, trapezing, and relaxing by the pool. We’re glad that your kids enjoyed all of the programming! Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments. Safe travels, and come back to see us soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Having returned yesterday from a relaxing and invigorating week at Club Med Punta Cana, I recommend this property to anyone looking for the ideal vacation. The tropical setting, beautiful landscaping and spacious guest rooms and public spaces are only the beginning.
What makes this Club Med memorable is the wonderful people who do everything possible to make every guest feel like a VIP.
I send out special compliments to the following Gentils Organisateurs for memorable service:
Barq, Chef de Village, who finds a way to make a large resort feel intimate and welcoming
Chokry, Hotel Manager, who treats guests like family with his ready smile and kind words
Ruben, Executive Chef, whose sumptuous buffets are well-presented and delicious
Farid, Maitre Patissier, whose desserts remind guests why the French are renowned for classic recipes
Sylvia, whose oceanside yoga and pilates classes are offered with expertise, grace, and charm
Rafik, who brings new meaning to the term "Guest Relations"
Elisa, who prepares crepes and serves desserts to each guest by name
The short order chef from Indonesia who cooks the best Indian Bread (Naan) ever
The short order chef at La Semana breakfast who remembers your egg preference after the second morning
All the support staff who keep the resort running at peak efficiency

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGL46Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear RGL46Boston,
We’re so happy to hear about your fantastic vacation at our Punta Cana resort! We love that you took advantage of all we have to offer by participating in everything from our yoga and pilates classes to our fabulous dining options. We love hearing that our staff made your stay even more enjoyable! Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We hope you come back to visit soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We just got back from a week long vacation and it is a very nice place. The facilities are great, the food is terrific and the kids camp is really first rate but there are a few things you should be aware of before your go. This may sound like a gimme but you have to be a real sun worshiper to enjoy this place. There are activities but they are very limited and it really revolves around doing things in the sun, i.e. sailing, kayaking, aerobics in the pool, etc. Also, the dining halls are good but if you don't get there early for a meal they are an absolute mess. Dirty plates and tables everywhere so it leaves you almost no where to sit and eat and if you find a place it's pretty unpleasant. Next up, they say the drinks are all free but you will find that doesn't really matter since the alcohol is either denatured or severely watered down. I understand they do that so you don't have a lot of drunk people at a family resort but don't be surprised if you down 5 gin and tonics and feels nothing. Apparently everyone knows it but they won't really admit it (though some of the staff ultimately did). The service is also pretty bad because there have been recent cuts due to lower bookings so it's in the little things you will notice like the fact that there is only one poor guy getting drinks for both the pool and the beach and it takes at least half an hour to get them. However that won't matter since you never really see him and you'll just give up and make the hike to the bar (it's actually pretty far if you're on the beach and its a pain). Finally, and this is actually a problem, the French, both language and people. Everything is in French and you will definitely feel like an outsider and many, many people, staff and guests alike, don't speak any English. It becomes a problem after a week of not being understood. Also, though 99% of the guests are very, very nice you do get some of the French guests who are insanely rude. Not a day went by without at least a few incidents of a Frenchman cutting in front of us in line, interrupting conversations with a staff person trying to help us, making a snide anti-American remark. We befriended a few other Americans and they said they had the same experience and though the French staff won't say anything other than everything is wonderful at Club Med the Dominican staff will witness it and roll their eyes and some even apologized to us and would say comments like "we always have trouble with the French". Ultimately you just realize it's their world, there are jerks everywhere and in every culture and you have to let it go, but be aware, it will happen.

Also a hint, the airport is bedlam. For some reason they don't understand a flurry of people will show up at about the same time to take flights during the day so it literally took us 3 hours to get through the ticket line then through security, they have 2 people running the 2 x-ray machines servicing approximately 1000 people all trying to make flights that leave at the same time. It's crazy. Also, when you arrive, there are 3 guys looking at passports so that takes over an hour and that's after you pay this $20 per person "visiting the island" fee, I still have no idea what that is actually for but you need to pay in cash.

In Summary, if you want to go to a Club Med, go to Sandpiper in Florida, it's a lot less frustrating.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical unless you want to pay a huge sum for a deluxe. You're never in it so just book anything.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkTravelsAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear MarkTravelsAllOver,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your visit to our Punta Cana resort. It sounds like you had a great time with your family. We’re sorry to learn you did not completely enjoy your dining experiences as we pride ourselves on creating wonderful all-inclusive vacations for all of our guests. Our apologies for any problems you encountered with our staff and other guests. We’re happy you enjoyed the majority of your stay, and we hope you choose to visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews