We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Excelent hotel nice
Rooms, the food
Is great but no much variety but the service is the best and so nice and the bervages are so good, you have a nice time here very good. Nice vacation

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flori1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,494)
There are newer reviews for Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,985 - 7,991 of 11,494 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

My wife and I traveled with our 2.5 year old for a seven day stay. Overall the experience is good. My wife was concerned if the resort was kid friendly and for all the moms out there, this resort is great for kids of any age. Following is my take on several aspects of the resort.

Beach: Water was great; though lots of seaweed. There are cleaning crews each morning cleaning the beach of loads of seaweed which washes up. The resorts beach is nice with plenty of chair and shelter from the sun if you need it. Beach does include a snack stand which offers hamburgers, hot dogs, and grilled chicken.

Pools: There are three huge pools which at all close and central on the resort. A kids pool which is 1.5 ft deep and was perfect for our 2.5 year to wade around in with plenty of room for others and there parents. Second pool is 3ft deep also very large, and the last is 4ft deep which include a swim up bar, fountains and in water huts. All pools are kept pretty clean. There are a lot of palm trees and scrubs which drop things in the water, but that is not a major factor.

Food and Bars: Overall the food is above average. The World café which is a buffet style offers a large variety of foods and you are sure to find something you like. The Mexican restaurant was very good and offered a pretty nice menu. The Japanese restaurant is best experienced at the hibachi grill. We were unable to try the French restaurant as it is 16 and older. We also didn’t try the Italian restaurant as from several people we talked to they were disappointed so we didn’t try it. There is always a bar open and the bar tenders are very helpful in helping you find the right drink. I never had a bad drink on my week stay.

Staff: Very helpful and friendly. There were a couple bad apples in the gift shop, but great staff. Though quite a few people trying to get you to buy timeshares.

Rooms: This was by far the lower point of the stay. Our first room reeked of mold and our sheets were damp on both beds. We got in late the first night so we didn’t change until the next day. The staff quickly made arrangements to move us in the afternoon. Our next room was better but still a mold smell though much less. My wife being social talked to numerous families and we meet no one who didn’t move to a new room or whose room smelt. They also reported the same dampness to everything. The shower is also an issue. The design is bad with water covering the whole bathroom floor even with the best care to not let the water escape. This was a common complain of others we talked to as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jch7wb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I had a destination wedding at Dreams Palm beach resort. Everything was perfectly planned, but only because we had the BEST wedding coordinator. If you want a stress free wedding brides, you won't sweat a thing if Awilda Sanchez is your coordinator. I couldn't have asked for a better wedding! Thanks to Awilda:)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank butterfly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Ive been reading some of the negative reviews about this place, and all I can say is DON'T LISTEN TO THEM.

I went in January for a wedding. First off, let me say the wedding was gorgeous! They did an amazing job, the reception was great, the food, the booze, I had no issues with any of it, and neither did any of the other guests.

My boyfriend and I were in Block 9 ground level. The ONLY complaint I had about our room was that the shower door wasn't the type that closed, so it flooded the bathroom after every shower. Aside from that, it was great. It was cleaned daily, fridge was restocked, new towels, swept floors.

The pool area was great, and my friends (large group of over 20) had no problems getting seats by the pool. Some of the complaints were about the bartenders and the bar service, specifically getting served drinks at the pool side....Get off your lazy butt and walk to the bar and get your own drinks. These people are here to assist you and make you're stay the best possible, they aren't your personal servants.
The bartenders were amazing! Friendly, funny, and enthusiastic about their jobs.

Im not much of a gambler, so I wasnt too interested in the casino. The disco on some nights was awesome, others it wasnt too busy. Most of our nights were spent either at the disco, or mingling in the lobby bar, where once again, the service was great.

The food...oh mygoodness. Best Ive ever had on a resort. I went to the French a la cart twice, because the steak was SO good. The buffet was great! Good selection of food, which tasted great. Best thing I had at the buffet was a steak Fajita. It was AMAZING.

There is good and bad in every experience, but I tend not to dwell on the negative. I had an amazing time at Dreams. People complain about things that you can easily look past. You're in a different country, you can't expect it to be exactly like home. Obviously things will be different, and thats all part of the experience.

Happy Travels!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms close to the entrance of the building. You'll hear all the late night party peop...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

came with my parents and the enterainment staff was very friendly every night live music and different show activities during the day like beach games aerobics, step aerobics , horse shoes ping pong and much more , food was very delicious they have 5 thematic restaurants and a nice menu to the buffet. you probably going to brake you diet like me so any ways i will highly recommend this hotel to you and of you come don't forget ask for gasolina the donkey he is crazy beauty and capuccino iliana and elvi they do a great job so i will defensibly come bak and stay for ever .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

A President's Club Group of us (40 people - ) Stayed at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana (DPB) the 3rd week of February. We stayed for five nights. We all had a fabulous time! Melani Mena was my groups Manager and took very good care of us. We had a Special Dinner in the convention Center the first night we were there and then on the last night we had an outdoor dinner at the pool area. Both dinners had great food and service. The whole process was seamless!
The grounds of the DPB resort were beautiful. The nightly entertainment (Magician, Karaoke, Oscars Night, Dance Club, Beach Party….Etc) was an added bonus to the fantastic weather. The Entertainment Team was extremely fun (Gasolina , Beauty and Capuchinno & the rest of the crew) kept everyone entertained.
The food was very solid and plentiful. They have five themed restaurants (Asian, Italian, Mexican, French & The World Buffet) We had a great time with a group of 12 people around one of the hibachis. I loved the Italian restaurant the best of all.
They have two great pools. One of them is more kid oriented, the other one was very big and a great swim up bar.
Many of us also took “off property” excursions through the on-site excursion desk “AMSTAR” – they were very easy to work with and well worth the price.
We also did a private chartered catamaran with SeaPro (The Water sport hut on the DPB Property- on the beach) The guy we dealt with, “LA” was Fantastic to work with. ( He works near one of the pools as well.) They put together a great trip for us: Snorkeling, The Natural Pool, a drive by the “Swim with the Dolphins” area and as many Rum drinks as we wanted. What a great group to work with.
I would recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: All locations were good. Even the rooms facing the pool area were not too loud in the evening.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosslovesPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We wanted somewhere to relax and this was it. Although there is plenty of activities for children, teens and adults if you want it, you are given plenty of space if you want to do nothing. A lovely, sandy beach, occasionally littered with cigar buts and lemon slices, a clean sea (Blue Flagged which they are very proud of) and plenty of sun beds on the beach let you completely relax. It is within 15 minutes walk of the new dolphin reserve where you can play and swim with the dolphins for a rather large fee for 30 minutes. Lovely food in various restaurants, super Coco Cafe serving tea, coffee and buns. The goods in the on site shops have no prices and you are supposed to bargin! Didn't like that idea but a pen, two postcards and two stamps cost nearly 500 Dom Peso (nearly £9/11 Euros).The evening entertainment was varied - a circus, magician, illusionist etc and was OK. Evening films shown outdoors were good but not frequented by many people, only six of us watched a film one night, but it's there if you want it. No problems, no upsets, excellent staff, just a lovely holiday and one to be recommended.

Room Tip: You can upgrade to 'Preferred Status' for sea view rooms, its own lounge and pool but not su...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greystones23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
6.0 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
28.1 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
9.8 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
6.3 km away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
5.4 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $228 - $805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing