We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for family of all ages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Having stayed at the Dreams Puerto Morelos Mexico for 2 years straight we adventured to a new country.... and were not disappointed!

We traveled with a group of 10. 2 seniors, 4 adults, and 4 children (ages 5-11).

We stayed in a preferred suite as our family had 2 adults and 2 children...

• Preferred in the Dominican is actually preferred.... There was no reserving chairs by 5:00 a.m. like Mexico, we were given yellow towels and access to the preferred club with preferred beverage choices, unlimited snacks, and sushi late afternoon. This was the only area the resort gave out bottled water. Yeah! Our rooms were perfect. I would recommend if traveling with kids, book preferred and try for a room in front of the pool. Preffered pool was never crowded and limited to preferred guests. In Mexico, we blended in and did not see the extra special treatment as we did in the Dominican. Our room was a suite.. But in general both rooms had more storage than Mexico. So much room, two bathrooms, One completely separte with a jacuzzi tub and walk in shower. The room service was always there, leaving bottles of absolute, red label and rum.... m&m and peanuts. ..... not like we needed it:) Also recommend ordering new pillows thru room service... they have a pillow menu:)

We did read reviews complaining about the musty smell in the rooms. Sure, when you first opened the door, it was musty, but as soon as you opened a door started the fans, we did not notice it again.... just so much more humid in the Dominican.

The Ocean, expecting less, we LOVED it, warmer, blue-er, wonderful ocean. They had a trampoline for the kids and the water was as warm as the pool. Loved it. I know others mentioned the seaweed, we did not notice it until our last day... and a full moon. It did rain a few times, maybe that blew it in... not sure, but we did prefer the Dominican beach over the Mexico beaches we have been too. They also offered a lot of activities (extra $$$... but very resonable) for banana boat rides and tubing. Which we did several times. The resort is located just a 10 minute beach walk to the "swim with the dolphin excursion" we did not do it this year, but every morning the hotel had a morning walk that would take you right into the area and have the dolphins jump for you etc. The tubing and banana boats always took the kids past them as well. So close! The land itself was more tropical, lush, full of fruits and VERY humid. No complaints, but even clothes hanging in the closet felt like they needed to be ringed out when you put them on. The nights were also very warm. NEVER needed a sweater, etc.

Pools: For those with small children, the main pools were also very nice.... one seperate zero depth, and 2 nice swim arounds with the fountains, swim up bars, volleyball and a rock climber (floaty thing) for the bigger kids. Just much more choas... but also fun for changing the pace. The preferred section was more intimate and secluded.

We did take one excursion called the Safari Outback. By far the best part of our trip. We had a wonderful guide and spent the day from 8-5 driving into the Dominican mountains, stopped at a school, had a typical lunch which was wonderful, stopped to see how they roll cigars another stop to see how they make cocoa and saw the sugar cane... and actually toured a real family home. The trip was beyond words, and ended at the most beautiful beach (makaw?) the kids have ever seen. All turquoise water with rolling waves. We spend an hour boogie boarding. If we had more time I would have cabbed it out there to do it over. Wonderful.They even surved the adults beer on the bus. A local beer that was better than the beer at the resort:)

Also took advantage of the spa.... here the prices seemed comparable or cheaper than the US. The kids had their hair braided at the spa and it cost just a bit more than bartering on the beach. Worth it!

The people. Maybe a bit less versed in English. But not an issue. Everyone was genuine. Always happy, always smiling... and just lovely. Beautiful people. The were wonderful to my Dad.... a tip goes a long way there, and they did not forget it.... we tipped often! Bring LOTS of singles. There is not a cash machine at the resort.

Shopping. We did not do much. Right outside of the resort where they had a small strip of vendors. The kids had more fun bartering than us.... we need nothing and there did not seem anything really unique. Besides rum, cigars, spices, vanilla.... but none the less fun to experience.

The guys also took a cab to the local cigar factory and seemed to enjoy that experience as well.

The food. Ok, Mexico wins this... but how can you complain when you are surrounded by 1,000 options. Just less seasoned, more bland, but I'm not complaining. But in Mexico it was a bit more comparable to a top American restaurant... Esp the french restaurant..... Oddly enough the beef and chicken in general were preferred over the seafood..... always plenty of options for the kids:)

The resort served one meal a week buffet style on the beach. That was awesome, tables set up as for a wedding. Very formal... not like a cheesy cruise ship buffet. More intimate. In general the resort seemed less chaotic than Mexico... but having the separate preferred section made a HUGE difference.

I'm sold, I would go back in a heart beat. For me.... done with the Rivera Maya..... I preferred the Dominican!

Room Tip: Preferred club overlooking the pool. First floor for little ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank annomatopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,966 - 7,972 of 11,565 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned from a 1 week stay. We thankfully did not pop for the Preferred upgrade but, friends of ours went for it. $40 a day will get you "premium" liqour, gold colored towels (they also smell moldy), and certain meals at the Seaside Grill. Save the $40 and buy (no . . .no free WiFi) wifi for $60 a week. The service was consistently inconsistent, as was the food. Coffee?? Maybe you will get served in a timely fashion and MAYBE your cup will be refilled. Same problem with water. Same problem at the pool, in the restaurants, and throughout the property.

Towels and sheets had a musty, moldy smell. We have traveled throughout the Caribbean and have never encountered a musty, mold situation. They can simply clean and DRY their linens. Toilet in room did not function property, nor did the shower. They both required constant jiggling, adusting, and playing around.

The quality of the food was fair to poor in all of the restaurants. Desserts were mostly various colored gelatin based "pastries". The coffee was decent, as one would expect in the Dominican Republic.

The kicker was the 2% upcharge imposed on the U.S. dollar rate charged for the room. Nowhere else on our charges was an upcharge imposed. They took our agreed rate, tacked on a 2% conversion upcharge, THEN charged it to our credit card. My complaints were ignored and blame was put on the credit card issuer. The credit card company was not at fault. We will be disputing the cost of the scam.

We were issued 1 pool towel, per day, per person and DO NOT TRY to get a clean towel. The sometimes on duty towel-Nazi will not give you another.

The hotel interior was noisy. Loud music was pumped out of the central outside area at mega levels and permeated the sliding patio door. Every person talking or going up and down the stairs could be heard. Simply poor design and acoustics.

There is only 1 bar at the pool and 1 food location at the pool. The pool(s) is a huge area and the limited service access is annoying.

The beach is a pit. Several of locals told us it is known as the butt-hole of Punta Cana. We believe it. Dirty, poorly mainted shade areas, ratty chairs, etc. Not necessarily as problem but, certainly not luxurious. Generally a beach is a beach and they are not about to relocate the resort to another beach area.

We operate a luxury oriented travel agency. We will not be recommending this not-ready-for-prime-time effort.

Room Tip: Farthest away from restaurant or lobby area (or adjacent hotel) is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elite_Cruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

,he last time we stayed at this hotel was a year ago now,for the 2nd time, and we will definatley be going back. Every thing about this hotel from the staff to the food was 5 star quality, could not fault this hotel the both times we visited. We will 100% go back again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicky1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just returned from Dreams palm beach a fews days ago and had to write my first review as I had read so many mixed reviews before going. I am not a picky traveller but had paid alot and travelled far for this trip. Travelled with my wife and another couple for a kid free break.
Deal breakers:
Rooms - third floor room with a lovely high ceiling. Really comfortable bed , spotlessly clean, and kept that way by housekeeping sometimes twice a day. Shower did leak but towels were fine to saok it up. No problems with water pressure, temperature or tiling. Toiletries were a nice touch too. We were in block 1 which would not be ideal if the kids were with us as the music is played at the gazebo from 7 til 11 on some nights.
Food - buffet had excellent choice for breakfast and lunch. Servers were very good and friendly. Nicest restaraunt was French restaraunt and had the best night at the Carribean night on the beach.
Entertainment - did not make it to any of the shows !!! but a great atmosphere during the day around the pool and in the resort at night.
Bars - only negative is that there is only one bar open at night (lobby bar) which can get a bit boring each night. Only other option was disco bar which was loud and empty.
The Staff are what really make this resort stand out, they are friendly, efficient and hard working.
Would definitely return and recommend this hotel to family and friends. Any question .. feel free to ask !!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gerard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Excellent 5* resort, this resort accomodated 25 people aging from 12 - 65 years old. No reservations for restaurants, no wristband, excellent friendly staff, lots of food and drinks, and 24hr room service!

Would definetly recommend!! We stayed in the VIP section - honeymoon room.
fresh fruit, chocolates and champagne, beer every day !

Negatives:

1.the check in was brutal, slow and unorganized. They also had overbooked so some of our friends/family did not receive their rooms in the VIP section with us as paid for! Only after getting frustrated with the 'check in female supervisor/manager' who didn't give a damn and ovbiously missed the 'customer service training' and the fact I called our group travel agent as well, the resort provided the 'VIP perks' to our friends and family affected but not the room . So to appease us they upgraded the vow renewal package on the beach (which as absoloutely beautiful and lacked nothing, the private bar and room , the programs, the food, cake , music, decorations could not have been better) They also gave each said person a free full body massage appt at the spa (it was the best) On the upside our travel agent in Canada provided a small credit back as well.
2. yes the shower glass wall in the bathroom allows water on the floor.... but seriously if this is your biggest beef - be grateful!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the VIP, larger room and perks (VIP pool, VIP beach and bali beds, VIP restaurant and lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We arrived at DPB on 3/16/2012 thru 3/24/2012. Although we have been in Punta
Cana yearly for the last 12 years, we have never been there on ST Patrick's Day & didn't know what to expect. I thought I would miss all the celebrating in the States, but the Entertainment Team did a fine job - green fountains, glittered bodies and all.

DPB is a smaller resort than we were use to. Everything was within a 5 minute walk. There was also an 11:00AM Catholic Mass in the Covention Center for those who wanted to go.

Check in/out: We stayed preferred & thought is was well worth it. Upon arrival we were wisked off to the Preferred Cllub House where we checked in & out in a timely manner. We were given a tour of the place & were in our room in a matter of 15 minutes.

Preferred Cllub House: It was right off the smaller pool attached to a restaurant. There was 2 large TV & deep seating chairs. Books to lend out, a Preimum Bar with all top Liquor Brands, some sort of pastry, fruit or cheese along with orange juice & coffee for Breakfast, Beach Towels, 3 computers for use by guests at anytime & WIFI was also free and worked great. If the door was locked to the club all you needed was your room key to open the door. Also, if you were drinking by the pool or beach they would give you plastic glasses but they would give you bottles of beer or glasses if you were going to your room or anywhere there was no sand or water. Anything you wanted you only needed to ask!

Pools: Both pools were kept immaculate and there was always enough lounge chairs to go around. Also, if you needed shade you could easily find it. They were beautiful at night.

Beach: Plenty of tiki umbrellas & lounge chairs around. Setting was beautiful! Yes, there was some seaweed washing up on the beach. The staff tried to keep up with it the best they could. Kudos to them!!! I must say this was the 1st time I have ever seen a beach that was concrete & then sand poured on top. I only know because I tripped & fell a little too hard for just sand. But all in all beautiful crystal blue waters kept calling you! There were locals who walked the beach & tried to sell things. If you wanted to look you had to go to them. They were not aloud more than 4 to 5 feet from the beach. DPB enforced that but they really were not a bother.

Food: We ate at the SeaSide grill, Buffet, Italian, Japanese, Mexican & the DPB Lobster Buffet for Apple Guests. All the meals were served hot & flavorful. The Staff was efficent & Friendly all the time. And if you been there you know that Simon loves his job! I manage an upscale restaurant so I am use to judging food quality, presentation, taste & friendly knowledgable staff. If you get something you don't care for or is not done right & don't say something politely to your server or management - SHAME ON YOU! They are here to please you & cannot read your mind. My only suggestion is to train the servers in the buffet for breakfast to offer more coffee refills. Your coffee is so good. It seems you get 1 cup and no refills even when you ask!..We all know Americans need there caffene!!

Lobby Bar & Courtyard: This was one of our favorite places at sunset. The Wedding Gazabo turned into a formal bar & top knotch musical talent played ( each night something different - latin-jazz- 70 & 80s- classical etc..) with small comfortable seating groups along the pathways. The musicians that entertained us played at a quieter level so you could carry on a conservation or dance if you wished. Clemente was an excellent bartender & made it a point to know your name & what you drank. By the way, I could use one on his capiriana while writing this.

Housekeeping & Rooms: We were in Rm 4309. If you can walk up stairs request the 3d floor. Our room was exceptionally clean & Mercidita was amazing.

Odds & Ends: Yes the Cancino was small but remember the resort is smaller. Big or Small they all can take your money!!! The Cafe was always busy. Speciality Coffee, tea & pastries, open earlly & late to get your fix. Also sold specially coffee to take home.

Evening Shows: DPB had the Best Shows in the DR. The Western Show was interactive & made you laugh till your cheeks hurt, At the Beach Party The Fire Show was exciting.The Circus was awesome. the gentlemen on the trapeze & the 2 gentlemen with their actrobic forms are equally as good as the preformers in Circus Sol Le. You also need to see Gasolina in Dirty Dancing! Don't miss him!

Entertainment Staff: DPB has the most remarkable entertainment staff. A few reasons that make them the best: - If its your 1st day & you are checking the place out, they make it a point to introduce themselves & ask your name. Everytime they see you they always have something nice to say. - If your traveling by yourself or are handicapped, they make you feel at home & keep you busy if you want. - These people work long hours. Its not unusual for them to be on the floor by 7 AM and not go to bed till after midnight or longer.They always have a kind work & a warm smile for you. I don't know how they do it!
I am afraid to list names because I don't want to miss someone. We felt like we were leaving family behind. They even came to say good-bye before we left. We can't wait till we return!!! Beauty, Hope to see you in Pittsburgh sometime.

If you have a question about DPB, I'm your girl. I love helping people enjoy themselves! Sorry for the long review but we just LOVE DREAMS PALM BEACH!! Be back soon. G & E


PS - Its 3 AM Sorry for the spelling
.

Room Tip: Our room was 4309. Stay on 3rd floor if you don't mind walking up steps (just think of it as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank malibuessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My family and I took a trip to Dreams Palms Beach Punta Cana this April. We had an excellent time. The hospitality was off the charts. We were greated with opens arms and a big smile. Everyone was friendly, including the entertainment group (Iliana, Gasolina, Beauty). The entire hotel was impecable. The rooms were clean, first rate, and the room service was second to none. The variety of food was abundant and delicious to the palate. Not having to make reservations for the resteraunts was a plus. The evening entertainment was spectacular with great live music, dance, and comedy. I recommend Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana to all, so come on down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ignacio m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
6.0 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
28.1 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
6.3 km away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
15.6 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
5.4 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $268 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing