We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
Ranked #79 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great vacation spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is my second trip to Cayena Beach as my parents are timeshare owners here. Although as mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are not as luxurious as some resorts the ocean-view rooms make up for that. Being able to go to sleep each night listening to the ocean waves and to wake up to the sunset over the water is totally worth it. We have stayed on the second floor in the corner rooms which have a bathtub overlooking the ocean. Although the response can be slow to some requests (I think that is part of the culture), I have found that they will eventually resolve any issues you have. The waitstaff and bartenders are friendly and since the resort is on the smaller side get to know your food/drink preferences quickly. I would recommend checking in while the Cayena reception is open usually until 5pm. We had to check-in at the VIK this time because it was late and the process was much slower and not as relaxing as going into Cayena as we have in the past. The beach is wonderful and they have improved the chairs and added a larger lounge area for Cayena guests only. We didn't have a problem getting a spot on the beach this year but it is smart to put towels out in the morning before breakfast just in case. On Monday nights they have a welcome dinner and have raffles to win excursions and spa time which is an added bonus. Just stay for the whole dinner! Looking forward to our trip again next year.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Loren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    87
    44
    20
    12
See reviews for
97
141
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The good: Warm, helpful, friendly staff, amazing beach, and clean resort with good food.
The bad: Our first room was two single beds, a fan that clicked all night, and a noisy parrot outside our room.
We got moved after the second night and things were better, but what hotel offers two single beds in the first place?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewsGal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My Boyfriend and I booked our stay through interval 4 months prior to our trip (we booked everything on september and just got back from the hotel), and when we got there we had the not so pleasant surprise of being put in a room wiht two single beds on the room (despite having booked a room that what supposed to have 2 queen beds) to top that the room had a horrible shower that got the whole bathroom area and the entrance of the bedroom wet (despite having booked a room that had a shower+tub). The worst part is that even though it was 6:30 p.m on a saturday e couldn´t get a manager to help us solve the problem (and the woman at the reception was less than friendly and didn´t even tried to solve it for us).
The room was clean, but the linen was too small for the bed and we often woke up sleeping directly over the mattress.

The towel guy was never there... We could never get our towels changed. And the hotel was completely book so every day it was a competition of who got first to the pool loungers to save a seat for the day (which is probably not what you look for on your vacations).

The front desk had little or no information at all about certain tours, and wasn´t very helpful to find information (which was easily found on the internet).

To top it all, when leaving, e asked for a late check out, and were told it wasn´t possible, and that we should look for a shower room at arena blanca (which we were totally fine is, the only problem is that we thought that the shower room should be arranged by the cayena staff, afterall we were guests at this hotel and not at arena blanca).

The beach is amazing, though, and it´s great to have a parivate section where you can just relax and admire the beach.

If you book a trip here don´t forget to bring casual pants and closed toe shoes for man, because shorts and sandals are not allowed at the a la carte restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Suzana_brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I found this resort to be a wonderful resort and especially after all we had read about it. I have travelled the world extensively and so at times wonder what people anticipate or expect. Our trip began with Barbaras excellent client services to us (thank you!). The rooms were exactly as the photos showed - perhaps not new but extremely acceptable and comfortable. It was serviced daily and left in great condition. Our $85 p p daily gave us access to all the restaurants and to drinks which is a superb deal. We found the food to be of a high standard and altho i read a lot of bad things about the desserts, there is so much selection with everything in such huge quantities that we never needed dessert! The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. The beach beautiful. Considering we were there at the busiest time of the year (new year) i can say with all sincerity that we had an outstanding holiday and would love to book to go back soon!

Room Tip: I cant recommend any particular room - however, we did have one overlooking the ocean and on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Murrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The beach and pool area was beautiful and relaxing, but the rooms were terrible and the staff in the office were unpleasant and difficult.
There are no "non-smoking" rooms so all of the poorly lit rooms reek of stale smoke. 44 of 47 rooms have 2 double, not queen sized, beds leaving only 3 rooms with king sized beds. Their solution was to tie the two double beds together, but that still left my wife and I sleeping apart on our honeymoon! The mattresses were so bad that we could not sleep through the night due to discomfort and we had horrible back and neck pains. The sheets were paper thin and didn't even fit on the bed so we woke up with skin on bare mattress multiple times.
There are no dressers so we used desk drawers and an old entertainment center to organize our clothes. The drain in the tub did not seal so my wife could not take a bath. One of the keys on the phone would stick so when we called family in the states it took multiple tries to finally get through, but what we did not know was every time we picked up the phone we were being charged $1.29 so it cost us about $15 extra dollars to make only a few calls despite using a calling card.
The pool and beach were great and the weather was beautiful. The majority of the waitstaff and bartenders were friendly and helpful. The all inclusive food and drinks was convenient. The food was average, nothing special but at least it did not make us sick!

Room Tip: No good rooms exist at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Just came back from cayena beach today and overall had a great relaxing time. My boyfriend and I went and we used his grandmothers timeshare though interval international. It was $85.00 per day each person for the all inclusive price! Since we were useing a "getaway" we were told when we got there that we had to pay for the full 7 days for the all
Incusive price even though we only were staying 5 days, i called the resort prior to the arrival and told them that we were only staying 5 days and they did not tell us about it! I refused to pay for 3 days that I wasn't going to be there for. At first they said they couldn't do anything about it but after I refused even more they said we could down grade to a smaller room to accommodate our request, which we accepted! The room Wasnt that much of a down grade other then not having a kitchenette, we didn't mind at all! The hotel worked with us which I liked! Also my boyfriend had a problem one day and got sick! I suggest u bring medicine such as "emodium" because the medicine at the store in the lobby was 24 dollars! Other then that the hotwl is on a beautiful property facing a beautiful clean beach! Cayena
Beach is a little quiet and a little more private then arena Blanca which is nice if you want to get away from the crowds of people! Staff was great very friendly! Food was good but not great! Il cano was our favorite for lunch and the Italian place for dinner! Bring snacks along with you! Everything pretty much shuts down after 1030pm other then the bar in the arena blanca that only has old sandwiches and left over soup! We were starving at night so we would of liked the grill
Or the buffet to be opened late! Other then that would deff stay here we had a great time!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
324 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Vik Cayena has the feel of a European boutique hotel. It has its own pool and reception, at the same time it is connected to the bigger resort of VIk Arena Blanca. It is all inclusive and it is well worth. The food in the buffet is like home made. There is great security 24/7. Melanie and Ezequiel at the reception make you feel you are their family. It is much better than the mega resorts along the half moon shape sandy beach. The rooms are very close to the water and you can hear the breaking of the waves on the coral reef at short distance. In the interior there is a nice combination of marble, wood and cotto tiles, very nice decor.
I found out that Melanie and the hotel help some orphanages in the area and if you like you can bring extra clothes and toys for them.
The only down side is that internet was very slow when we were there, but hopefully it will be fixed.
There are plenty of excursions to choose from either directly from the resort or online before you go. We loved Saona Island.

Room Tip: For 2 people rooms 110, 210, 310 are more spacious, have bigger balconies and beautiful view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank laurapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
27.3 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
23.8 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
61.8 km away
Casa de Campo
Casa de Campo
#1 of 12 in La Romana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
84.7 km away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
2.5 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Hotel Cayena Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

Property: VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
Address: White Sand, Carretera Arena Gorda | n/a Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Hotel Cayena Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to the VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, this hotel enjoys an outstanding location overlooking the beach of Bávaro. The Hotel Cayena Beach is an exclusive part of the complex, designed with the most discerning guests, like you, in mind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your VIK Hotel Cayena Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing