We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is my first review, we have been to Dominican 3 times, and I thought it should be given a review. I have seen hundreds of reviews and this is my take on the place;
Service is excellent!, Food is excellent, wide variety of choices. Rooms are beautiful, we had no problems with anything, grounds and pools are well kept clean. Felix our butler is the coolest! The service was all around very friendly. I seen some people complain about small things that doesn't rally matter to me, ie. who cares if your clock is broken, your on Vacay!! Some people complain about the food, I cannot understand how, they have a major variety of selections. You can have access to other restaurants within Bahia Principe. Bar service at the esmeralda is the best, once again, friendly and entertaining:) I will return. Hope this helps you:)

Room Tip: Building 90 was close to the beach, however, all 5 buildings at Esmeralda are close to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,307
    1,385
    542
    171
    126
See reviews for
2,534
2,696
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,504)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edmonto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Not a 5 star ..There is a private beach for the Esmeralda side but they don't tell you its back 100 ft from the ocean behind the water sports building and the beach bar so there no ocean view..so if your going for the beach and you don't want to get up at 5 am to get a chair along with 4000 other people . i suggest there a a lot of nicer resorts with better beach front than this one

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdmontoTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

The first time we went to GP Esmeralda was last year. Everything was great that we went back again this year, this time with our children, 21 and 15 yrs old who turned 16 in D.R. He was given a cake at the Mikado Japanese Resto. We met Manolo again, the best bar man at the swim up bar. The resort remained very clean and food was great, staff are very friendly and helpful that we would gladly go back again.

Room Tip: I would gladly recommend BP Esmeralda. Pool is quite too and jazmine buffet is always open for early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank judyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Esmeralda is the shining jewel in the five resort Bahia Principe Complex. You pay a little more, for a lot more. A modern all-suite resort that is hard to beat. Punta Cana's best beach is on your doorstep. Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bluenosers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have a family of 4. We booked for the Esmerelda but had to stay the first 2 days in the gran bahia which was OK. From where they drop you off it takes 10 mins to walk to the beach. Thats right 10 mins. Yes they do have shuttles if and when they pick you up. REMEMBER its Dominican time lol so when ever! The Esmerelda was very nice, the room clean. beautiful. BUT the staff is NOT organized at all. The first day our room key didnt work sooo back we go to the front (10min walk) did that 3 times cause the key still didnt work.
Then when we did get our room at the esmerelda the manager( Nino R) gave us atttitude cause they told us our room was ready and it was NOT had to wait 5 hours to get our room? Which we booked for? So we complained to him about why would they move us if it was not ready, then he told he didnt have to give us a room and walked away?????? NOT good with customer service at all. The staff does have a major with their english but some do try.
If you like walking this is the place for you. 45 min to the market on the beach which is good and better prices DONT go on the resort way too pricey and they hassle you alot. Have one guy come up to us and say give me your money? lol I told him the same!
All in all..... if your not happy tell them right way.
We would never go to punta cana again. but would go to La Romana again very nice their and the staff is nicer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AAMW1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester,IOWA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Just returned home.. beautiful HUGE resort. Esmeralda is just part of the much larger complex.. this and the Ambar were the nicest 'hotel' areas. You will get your exercise walking here unless you take the train everywhere. Room was beautiful and clean, food was good but after 7 days ready for 'home comfort' food. Staff was friendly, attempted to change rooms as I wanted something with a view but was told 3 days in a row "come back after 10 am tomorrow, nothing today".. seems they have that routine down very well,watched them 'perform' it on others. Beach is BEAUTIFUL! You can walk for MILES up and down.. (peek in at other resorts that are close and plan next years trip)..even though the beach is public it is very safe. There are security people watching who comes and goes in the resorts but we were able to walk up to the Hard Rock and took the train in, bought some souvenirs.... that place is amazing and huge (saw Madonna's limo she donated). Plenty to do, be as active as you want or just relax the whole time, you choose.
What I didn't like.. the guys in the SCUBA shirts will push you to the "Premier people".. you are approached thinking they are the scuba (tour) guys but they try to push you into sitting thru the Premier Privilege presentation.. didn't like that they were misrepresenting themselves.
Wifi in the lobby didn't work very well, made it hard to keep in touch at home.
Overall a great vacation spot and will probably return to the Esmeralda or try the Ambar next time.. wouldn't do the Punta cana or Bavaro as they look like older buildings.
Prepare yourself for the airport departure.. it was a ZOO and we felt like cattle being herded. Have to pay $10 to get in the country and $20 to leave... doesn't say "Welcome" to me.. but oh well, we had a GREAT TIME and it beats the heck out of IOWA weather!
AND.. take the Outback Safari excursion.. it was great! They also donate proceeds to the schools and the tour guides were great, (Angel was the best)! We learned alot about Dominic life.

Room Tip: Don't get 1st floor back side,, train runs up and down, fumes and noisy, we had 3rd floor and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skstelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at this wonderful resort from February 24th - March 2nd. We traveled with 2 other couples. All the postive reviews we read about are absolutely true. The negitive reviews were in my opinioun unfounded.

The room and service was top notch. We always found chairs on the beach in the Esmeralda private section. We were always down to the beach by 9:00 am. We placed our towels over our chairs to reserve before we left to go have breakfast.

Different story if you wanted to reserve a chair by the pool. You could not reserve a chair near the pool before 8:00 am. Sercurity guards walked around and took towels and belongings off chairs if you were not sitting there.

None of us had any complains about the food. There was something for everyone. All the ala cartes we went to were very good. The Don Pablo was our least favorite because the service was incrediblely slow. We emailed 7 days before we left to reserve our ala cartes.

If you want to call home there are no calling cards or pay phones. Our transit rep advised us to use our phone in our room. It cost .69 (cents) per minute.

We never seen one bug during the duration of our stay. All six of us loved this resort and had a wonderful time. If you have any questions please email me and I will try my best to answer your questions. Don't hesitate about this resort it is wonderful.

Room Tip: Building 90 is closest to the beach. We emailed before arriving and requested building 90 third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank loves_2_scuba_dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
26.1 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
29.5 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.4 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
5.0 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing