We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Woodslee, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was a new experience going to an all-inclusive resort for my husband and I as well as my sister and brother-in-law. I could not expect any more than what we got. The rooms were lovely and large. The service was top notch at all of the restaurants. We would highly recommend having dinner at El Olivo Mediterranean restaurant and also Maiko Japanese restaurant. I would not recommend Don Pablo restaurant. We were very impressed with the gorgeous grounds. We also had butler service and were extremely impressed with this. Our final night, we came back to our room only to have a bubble bath drawn for us with rose petals and candles lit. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms were great. We were in building 90 and had a fabulous view of the pool and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LyndaR133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,431
    1,421
    563
    177
    133
See reviews for
2,588
2,801
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,538)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Not sure where all the complaints are coming from.

We just returned from a great time at GBP Esmeralda. The rooms were lovely, the people were friendly and singing all the time. The food was good with plenty of variety.

The Esmeralda was a great choice out of the many sections mostly because it was MUCH quieter than anywhere else we went on the resort property. The pool was quieter, the beach area was quieter, we didn't have to deal with blaring music or beach / party / drinking games.

We sent room requests and A la carte restaurant requests ahead of time and they were all done when we arrived.

Our only disappointment was that our children (15 and 16) weren't able to attend the adult only "Don Pablo" and "El Olivio" restaurants. I didn't want a big fight so we just changed our reservations for those, but it was an unexpected issue since we already had the reservation cards in hand.

Would I go back? Definitely. Would I recommend this resort? Yes, especially if you speak Spanish. That helps alot around here.

Other stuff...

The security people remove towels that people put on lounges before 8am. Good for them. This eliminates most of the silly getting up at 6 to reserve all the best spots and then never showing up to use them. I wish they would publicize this more because there was some confusion when people showed up at their "reserved spots" and their towels were gone and someone else was sitting there.

Golden Club - I just ignored this part of the experience. When the front desk called to tell me there was a present waiting for me, I politely thanked them and then never went to get it.

Tram system works great, no towel shortage, great beds, lots of pillows, double espresso every morning - the machines always seemed to be working which is the exception on my travels.

Stayed in room 90112 - once in a blue moon we could hear furniture above being moved, so top floor would be awesome. No bugs, no loud noises.

DO NOT MISS the seafood buffet on Thursdays at the Jasmin buffet. Reservations required. Unlimited lobster, crab legs, mussels, shrimp, crab, scallops, every type of fish. YUM!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Plokik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Travelled with a party of eight March 29 - April 5th. This was our 3rd stay at the Esmeralda and are already planning our 4th. The service amazing... a big thanks to Sandra at the lobby bar. Clean rooms stayed in building 90 ocean and pool view.
Ramon the butler went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable scented pillows , bubble baths.We had a minor accident a badly bruised toe , he got us ice and continually checked to see if we were ok and if could if could do anything more for us.
Every year it gets harder to leave as we have made so many friends amongst the staff a special hello to our friend Nicanor, ...they are fantastic people!!
Also a special thanks to Anthony for assistance with our a la carte reservations.
we are eargerly awaiting our next visit :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank holidayyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellarton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have been to two resorts in cuba and two in DR . This was the best by far. The service was so great and the food was even better. The grounds were lush with vegitation and very clean and well maintained. Even the people on the beach picking up garbage were so gracious. We couldn't find anything bad to say about anything. We can not single out one server as the best as they were all so very nice. We would give this resort 5 star plus and anyone looking for a fantastic time you should look very hard at the Esmeralda . We went with two other couples and had the time of our lives.

Room Tip: Building 90 or 91 are very close to everything you could want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and myself just returned from Gran Bahia Esmerelda....stayed March 24-to March 31....Had a Fantastic holiday.....Very Beautiful place...Excellent Service, Beautiful clean room....The Best food....Only complaint but not a problem....they need a Frozen Oasis machine at the pool bar...blender....We will definately be back....Best meal was the Seafood buffet on thurs night....wow....We stayed in the 92 Building...balcony facing the Adult pool....Beautiful Beach.....Beautiful Resort.....See you next year..!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 92 Building facing the Adult pool.....was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellarton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Went with two other couples Mar 25 - April 1: We briefly explored the entire Bahia resort, but found no reason to go beyond the Esmeralda very often. Food was excellent, room was beautiful and clean (we stayed in building 91) and the service was incredible. We enjoyed the beach everyday, then the pool toward the end of the afternoon. Evenings were so fun (definitely check out the circus show!!) and of course the bars were always fun. Special thank you to Ramone and Milfi our butlers, Francois, our waiter in several places and all the wonderful people who work at the beach/bars/restaurants/gardens and front desk. We met so many nice people, and had amazing time. Going back next year for sure!!!!!!

Room Tip: Although we followed recommendations and chose building 91 - they are all very close to everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was our 8th time in the Dominican Republic and our third time, at the Gran Bahia. This was our second time in the Esmeralda section of the resort. We emailed Albania Batista and she really looked after us for our room request. This review is very similar to my review when we stayed in June to July 1st 2011 and it was posted on July 12th,

The Esmeralda section of the resort is about 2 1/2 years old, and is very clean and impeccably maintained. The rooms are spacious with all the latest amenities. The grounds are as you see in the photos, like a garden show. The Bahia resort is huge, but the Esmeralda has its own pool and buffet and it is right next to the beach. Try to stay in section 90 or 91 as we did and the pool and beach, are right next to you. It was hot and the tropical breeze was refreshing from the ocean.

The Esmeralda section had a steady crowd around the pool daily, but it was never crowded. If you wanted a busier pool with more entertainment you, can always go to the main pool, which is about a 2 minute walk from section 90.. Yes, people were up by 6.00 daily to put their towels on the same chairs next to palapas. These people need to get a life. We usually went to the beach in the mid morning and moved our chairs to the sun or shade as required. We usually went to the pool area in the late afternoon and had no trouble getting chairs.

The food in the Esmeralda buffet, was the best we have had in the Dominican and we have been 8 times. The variety and preparation was excellent. Galla seafood night is Thursday and they had an endless supply of lobster, mussels, shrimp, clams, plus the usual chicken and steak etc. We had to pre book a time for the Gala Buffet, this started about 3 weeks ago. The lunch buffet also had great selections and also included many varieties of tapas etc etc. We went into the main buffet at the Punta Cana Section at the front of the hotel, just because we were near there one day and there was no comparison.

For entertainment you can take the trolley to the theater, the Michael Jackson Show and the Circus Acrobats are the best, get there early for a good seat, the main show starts at 9.45 P.M. The trolley runs constantly and there was never too long to wait.

At the front of the complex is the area called Peublo Principe, it has shops, open air vendors and nightly house bands. The karaoke bar gets rockin around 10.00 P.M., It was hopping with the early 20's crowd. At midnight, the disco opens up and it rolls pretty good too. All this including the casino, is in the front area of the grounds.

The a la carte Don Pablo was excellent, withe the Bella Italia and Steak House being good.

Wandys was very friendly at the pool bar and I found the majority of the staff in the Jazmin buffet to be friendly.

Do stay at the Esmeralda and request section 90 or 91. The Bavaro section and the Punta section of the resort , are to far away from the beach area. Plus the rooms and the food does not compare to the Esmeralda Section. The Esmeralda is the top section of the resort and it gives you unlimited a la cartes Being at the Esmeralda section, we had use of all the other facilities. We occasionally ate at the Ambar buffet for lunch and used the gym in Ambar section daily. The gym is small but adequate and is about a 4 to 5 minute walk through the Ambar section or 2 to 3 minute jog.There is also free Wifi in all the lobbies and most balconies facing the pool in section 90 to 92 will still get service.

Just remember some people complain wherever they go, just relax and have a great time. Is the resort perfect, no but is any? I don't let the little things bother me. Would I go back for the price, ABSOLUTELY.
Room Tip: Request section 90 or 91, on the pool side, in the Esmeralda.
See more room tips

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MURF069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
29.5 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
949 reviews
26.1 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,749 reviews
61.4 km away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
25.8 km away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#88 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,276 reviews
83.8 km away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing