We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star people are giving this resort a 5 star rating. Beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3 star people are giving this resort a 5 star rating. Beware!”
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

There must have been a serious price reduction at this resort the week I was there. It seems these 5 star reviews are coming from people who are used to 3 star resorts. Otherwise they would have noticed the unwelcoming staff. The bland food. The poor service. The overall negative and unfriendly vibe. Thumbs down to this resort from me.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Greatescapes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,489
    1,452
    584
    194
    139
See reviews for
2,667
2,837
74
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,559)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a fairly new addition to the much larger Bahia Principe Punta Cana and Bavaro complex.
Beautiful grounds, pool, accommodations and restaurants. A la Carte's were easy to book - all at once. Every amenity including the beach was only steps away. Private beach area was a godsend as the beach for the larger resort was extremely crowded - always able to get a chair/shade.
Hola to Nicanor the Bell Captain who provided us great service with a smile!
Only comment would be that service in the Buffets was inconsistent. The Jazmin Buffet was not great - had to wait forever to get a coffee, or another pleace setting, or they bring one coffee cup and miss the other two people at the table etc. They need to tighten this up. Service in the Pool Buffet was better - special thanks to Franz and Joselito.Would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for something a little ore initimate but with access to all amenities on the larger complex.

Room Tip: Rooms in Building 90 are right next to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Fantastic resort, unbelievably good food, friendly staff and clean! A vacation we will never forget and would highly recommend to anyone! Thank you to Ramon our butler and Marilennis, the bath was such a treat!

Room Tip: Had a room facing the main pool on the second floor, in building 91000. Could see the ocean to our l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Esmerelda was the most unwanting vacation I have been on. Perfect across the board. best of both world's, as this is a small 5 star will full access to the larger 4 star resort (seconds away). if you want a loud busy pool and beach area, it's five minutes, want a uncrowded and relaxed area - stay at Esmerelda. Kids had a great time. Wife had a great time. Staff was unbelievable positive and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JamesLap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

There was 8 of us (ages 50-85) who travelled to Punta Cana for the week of Jan 13-20/12. After looking at several hotels we chose the Esmeralda. It was great with the idea of being a small resort in a very lodge complex and the amenties. The food was very good. We enjoyed the Don Pablo restaurant along with the seafood buffet on Thursday night. All of the staff was very kind and especially to my 85 year old mother. She adored all of them also.
The room was large with a wonderful en suite. The stand up shower and jacuzzi along with the 2 sinks were perfect.
We had an excellent massage on the beach for a very reasonable price.
We have been at the Bahia Principe Coba and the hotel has many of the same items. We will definately be returning.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have excellent views of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sucq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Esmeralda is one of the higher end hotels located within the Bahia Principe complex. The rooms are apparently nicer and you are given access to ia greater number of dining options. The hotel is also located closer to the beach. The room was clean. The television worked well with a fair number of English language channels, and overall, I have no issues with the accommodations.

However, my wife and I were traveling with our two boys, ages 11 and 8. My only criticism of the Bahia Principe hotel complex is that it is not particularly suited to younger children, as compared with other resorts. There are few activities geared to kids. The amenities which do exist such as ping pong, appear to have been squeezed into the resort as an afterthought. The resort is very spread out. The advertised mini golf, tennis, and soccer field are located at the entrance of the resort and require a tram ride; these are not located in way that you can simply send (even older) kids off unsupervised. You have to be a hovering parent. By comparison the Iberostar Bavaro had many kids activities were located adjacent to the pool.

Room Tip: The 90 block is closest to the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nelgar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hi , after having read many reviews prior to attending the Hotel for a weeks holiday ( April 14-21) , i decided to now write my version of the hotel review.
The Hotel was excellent in many ways since it had both beautiful grounds as well as great rooms. The rooms were large , well equipped and had a clean well maintained appearance. The bathrooms are very very large with jacuzzi style tubs and large showers. There was a steady supply of hot water at all times, plumbing fixtures, double sinks and deluxe accessories all contributed to a nice experience in the bathroom.
The staff located within the hotel are all polite and accommodate your needs very well. The atmosphere is very elegant and the staff do a good job of helping that happen since they are all eager to assist and help while respecting you and providing excellent service .
The warm smiles and the clean atmosphere prove that they care, everything is cleaned and scrubbed daily to keep it pristine. My Girlfriend and I even had a staff painter search for us and hand over a storage card that we had accidentally dropped somewhere unknowingly , he expected nothing in return. This had happened a few days earlier and he was persistent in his search.
The beach is very beautiful with excellent whitish sand and a beautiful turquoise blue ocean, the water was warm and clean. Some sea vegetation was washing up at times but it was a golden colour and was usually after heavy waves,nothing gross or terrible to speak of.
After having spent the winter in Canada we definitely looked for a nice relaxing place that we would research and thereby avoid disappointment in our quest for relaxation excellence.....we found it here at the Esmeralda. The pool was pristine, the refrigeration systems worked great and all our drinks were ice cold, colder than most places i have visited . The pool bars as well as beach bars served ice cold drinks.
The restaurants we went to all were decent and had good variety and that's coming from a picky eater . I do not eat seafood or pork and had no difficulty in loading up on great chicken and beef, as well the vegetables and breads were all great. Best chocolate ice cream ever also....not sure where they get it from but the island is full of cocoa beans so maybe they make their own. Best pineapple in the world also.
The only complaint is that i did not stay 2 weeks .....oh yah , thats my fault !
Did a few day trips......Santo Domingo.....very interesting . Also did Zip lines in the mountains, that was a lot of fun !!
I would recommend this Hotel to friends and Family and as well this would make a great gift if you sent someone to this resort also.
This section called Esmeralda is one of a few areas in the Bahia Principe complex, the others look good also, the Ambar I would say is second and then the Older area ( stiff nice) is called Punta Cana. There is some sharing of amenities within the sections which is nice and this creates a massive opportunity of selection.
Pro's : pool,beach,cold drinks,clean big rooms.staff,food selection.
Cons : beach chairs get taken fast, wifi not in rooms, no elevators ( 3 floors), some restaurants are too cold at times since the AC gets set too cold. Bed mattresses are nice but too firm for me. The plain coffee at night gets a bit stale. no jet ski rentals :( pretty much nothing much to complain about )
Just go here and relax in the Esmeralda and leave your worries behind ! Spa was good also,

Room Tip: I had upper 3rd floor, loved it , facing pool . I would say all the rooms would be good for most peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
29.5 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
26.1 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,841 reviews
61.5 km away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
25.8 km away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,381 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing