We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with amazing employees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
mississauga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel with amazing employees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Having travelled to several all-inclusive resorts in various locations, I must say that Esmeralda exceeded our expectations. The rooms are beautiful, bright, well equipped and well maintained. Towel service is great, little extras are included such as use of robes and slippers. Coffee maker, stocked mini fridge in the room. Cleanliness is very good; grounds are small and beautifully kept.
This is a smaller and quiet hotel, perfect for families with young children, couples looking for a relaxing vacation. This would also be a good spot for someone to travel alone and relax. If you want a more lively atmosphere, there are no real "activities" at this property but you are welcome to enjoy the activities at the sister property, about 2 mins. by shuttle.
Food is pretty good; they provide enough variety that you should never have a problem finding things you can enjoy. They will gladly assist you with dinner reservations in the a’ la cart restaurants, variety is good in the buffet. Room service is included as well.
Pool is very nice, great for young kids as well. Chairs at pool can be a little challenging by mid- morning, a situation primarily created by those who place towels on chairs all day and then spend the day elsewhere. Beverage selections are very good, all top shelf varieties are available, and beer is nice and cold at all the bars. Beach is very nice; there is a private area for Esmeralda guests set back from the beach front and water activities.
Wireless is available in the lobby area if you wish to stay connected. Gift shop is small but in most cases less expensive than the airport. Additional shopping areas are available next door.
The Management and staff at this hotel are extremely accommodating and professional. They all work very hard and truly care that everyone is taken care of. Although not expected, tips are appreciated and well deserved...I wish we had seen more of that happening for the staff because they really do work hard to please the guests.
Special thanks to the many friends we made at Esmeralda…Jonathon, Nicanor, Alexis, Maria, Sandra, Josephina and all the great housekeeping ladies, we will definitely return to your hotel.

"Cuba" and family

Room Tip: We travelled with family and were able to get adjoining rooms which was really convieniant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cubad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,300
    1,382
    542
    171
    126
See reviews for
2,533
2,690
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,499)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was our second trip to Punta Cana, but we have been on numerous all-inclusive vacations. The staff at Esmeralda treated us extremely well. The food was good... Lobster and steak at the ala carte restaurants. The buffet food was okay... Lots of salad and fruit choices were nice. There were issues with getting chairs by the pool, but we found ways around it. We never used the shuttles, instead, we walked across the resorts to get to the various restaurants. It was never more than a 15 minute walk, and the landscape was amazing! The spa was great.

The bed was a bit uncomfortable, which may be difference of opinion for others. There was a bizarre situation one night, when we heard security trying to talk with a woman in the hallway at 3 a.m. She was yelling at the employees calling them obscenities. It continued for 90 minutes, which kept waking us up. Not sure what that was about, but it was irritating.

I will say this: when you travel to the DR, things move a little slower. Don't be in a hurry, and try to relax. You are on holiday or vacation. If it seems like you have been waiting too long ... Just find someone else to help you.

Room Tip: Building 90 is closest to the beach, but 91 is great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This resort is fine if it were rated accordingly. It is definitely not 4.5 star resort. The food is absolutely horrible. Trust me, I am not a picky eater but it is terrible! There is absolutely nothing to do at the resort, no entertainment, no music, very boring. To get to the next Bahia complex you need to ride their car for 10 minutes ( wait for it for another 10 minutes). I have been to many many resorts in Punta Cana and other places but could not be more misled. Don't get me wrong, it is a an oay resort if you know you're going to a 3 star one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank MensRea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My boyfriend and I traveled to the Esmeralda on St Patrick's Day for a week, (March 17-24, 2012), this was my first trip to the Dominican Republic and his second After our week we decided seven days was not long enough. We loved the Esmeralda so much we've booked another trip there already and we can't wait to get back. I'll try and make this review short and sweet and highlight what we feel is important to know.

The hotel grounds are beautiful, the rooms are large, clean and the air conditioning works well, but the beds always felt damp. I'm a super picky traveler and I was beyond comfy at the Esmeralda!!! It's on the side of a very large resort, but the Esmeralda feels small and intimate, your hotel room is just a minute or two walk from the pool, beach and restaurant. If you want a crazy loud pool, take a short walk next door for awhile.

Airport: it's super busy and finding your bus can be chaotic
Transportation: 35 minute bus ride to the Esmeralda and our check in was quick
Beach & Pool: the beach is beyond beautiful, Esmeralda area quiet & relaxing, we were on the beach at 7.30 am every day, got good loungers, but they go quickly, people were saving chairs by the pool, we found it difficult to find a chair even at 4 pm
Staff: friendly, hard working (14 hr days), knowing a little Spanish helps, tipping a $1 US seems to get you better service
Restaurants: Maiko Japenese (sit at the grill), Outdoor Steakhouse at Esmeralda, Seafood Gala Esmeralda (Thursday night, reservations required), all great
Shopping: not much variation at the resort stores, kinda pricy, we walked 45 minutes down the beach past the RIU to the shacks, very pushy sales people, some nice jewellery & paintings, offer them 1/3 of what they ask

Take lots of sunscreen or buy it there for $28 US a bottle.
They have diet Pepsi, ketchup, Splenda, and peanut butter.
Take travel coffee mugs, if you want to enjoy coffee on the beach in the morning, they just have plastic.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jewellees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I went over Easter week. It is a busy time of the year and I don't recommend going at that time. I don't really like being in a big complex because the beach area was always packed. I am just glad that we paid the extra money to stay in the Esmeralda to get the private beach area. I must say though the rooms are gorgeous. Very clean and no smell, nice big king size bed, nice jacuzzi tub in the bathroom and we had the third floor so we had a view of the pool and partial ocean view. The food was excellent at the buffets and every night we experienced an ala carte. Got to say the Japenese was our favourite, followed by the Bella Italia and the Don Pablo. The lobby bar in the Esmeralda was a great place to go and relax in the afternoon and hang out with Massimo, Kimary and Maria. Something else I didn't enjoy was the pre-made pina coladas, banana mamas and coco locos from the machines. I prefer freshly prepared drinks made in from of me in a blender with fresh ingredients. Another great place to hang out to get away from the crowds of people is the adult whirlpools and your own cabana...very private and a nice touch to the resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giffer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

A group of 8 of us stayed here with a few friends also staying at the Bavaro for spring break 2010 (sorry, the date listed is inaccurate). We got upgraded because our flight was delayed. The hotel was immaculately upkept and wonderfully decorated. The rooms we stayed in were spacious, with a living room, canopy bed, balcony and large jetted tubbed. It was a great location because no kids were allowed at this specific hotel so things were pretty quiet and had more of an adult vibe, so we didn't have to worry about crazy spring-breakers which we were not. The staff was helpful, although not all of them spoke great English. We made due with one of friends who spoke conversational Spanish. Those that did speal English were all very nice, but not many went above and beyond compared to some other reosrts we've been at. We never really experienced and special treatment. The walls were thick, unlike many hotels tha I've stayed at, so we didn't hear much noise from the rooms next to us, which made our stay more enjoyable. The food was adequete at the buffet and good at the restaurants, the typical level you would expect from a resort. None of the food was really amazing. The pool was huge and clean and the beach offered a ton of excursions. The most delightful part of our trip was when a staff member knocked on our door and asked to take a look at our bathroom and check the pipes. As soon as he left, my fiance tipped him for doing so, looked in the bathroom and called me over urgently. The staff member had lied! Instead, he had drawn a bubble bath for us, made towl swans and sprinkled rose petals everywhere, some that had been hand-torn to spell out the word love. AWESOME! Our friends also got the same in their rooms. They made towel animals every day and left them on our bed for us to enjoy when we got back at night.

I think we had a positive experience because of all of the Bahia Principe hotels on the property, the Esmerelda is at the top of the chain. Our friends that stayed at the Bavaro, a short walk through the property had cockroaches. Then, when they were consequently upgraded to the Amber, they had cockroaches there too! They did not experience the same service as we did, and their rooms were definitely not as nice. If you use Bahia Principe, stick to the Esmerelda.

All in all, it was a good resort experience, if you like that stuff. You can't really leave the resort, unfortunately. I would say the Esmerelda is very good, whereas the rest of the buidlings on the property I'd rate as Average. In general, I'm not too keen on the resort experience, but I tried not to let that affect my rating since that's just what is was.

In summary:

+Big, clean, well decorated
+Large, clean pool
+Thick walled rooms, for a quiet stay
+Great service if you're paying for it at the Esmerelda

+- Ok food
+- Ok service around the whole resort
+- Ok food

-Can't leave the resort
-Cockroaches at all of the other buildings

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plinababez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

There must have been a serious price reduction at this resort the week I was there. It seems these 5 star reviews are coming from people who are used to 3 star resorts. Otherwise they would have noticed the unwelcoming staff. The bland food. The poor service. The overall negative and unfriendly vibe. Thumbs down to this resort from me.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Greatescapes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
26.1 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
29.5 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.4 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
5.0 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing