We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,335)
Filter reviews
8,335 results
Traveller rating
6,617
1,164
332
121
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,617
1,164
332
121
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family concierge kids zone hydro grill gabi club main resort dinner reservations gabi beach angela mercedes andy constante juan tiren private garden bedroom master suite real resort blue agave golf cart personal concierge yhi spa
Filter
Updating list...
2,036 - 2,041 of 8,335 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Our travel agent highly suggested the Reserve at the PPR. Right from the start there is top notch customer service. They try hard to get you to one of their sales pitches for the vacation club but several no thank you's did the trick. Upon checkin make sure you opt-out for the sales pitch. Just make sure to read before you sign. We had a swim-up master suite. The room was beautiful maybe even a tad too big for the two of us. We never used the living room area as all of our time was spent outside. The staff here works hard to please you. Our waitstaff DOMINGO ESPINAL along with CARLO CASANOVA and JORDAN PEREZ took exceptional care of us. At the reserve beach which is a short walk or golf cart ride, JUNIOR RAMIREZ took great care of us w/Cabana's towels and drinks. The Michael Jackson show was Vegas quality entertainment. We would suggest BANA to eat along with RARE. Ask your concierge to make reservations for you. We had no issue with that at all. We are sad to leave but found a new place in Paradise. Absolute perfect vacation spot!!!!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Wedding Planning:
4/5
In the planning stages, we worked with a romance representative based in Miami - Jina. She was great - very responsive, eager to help, and answered all of our questions. One thing to note, they don’t really give you ideas - they just help you execute. So if you’re not sure about your vision, I would seek creative advice elsewhere. Our one complain, however, would be having worked with Caribbean Celebrations - the decoration vendor that works with the resort. Their prices are as high as any US venue, the representative we worked with - Nadia - seemed clueless about many things, and at the final stages of planning they tried to pull a fast one - so be super attentive.

Wedding Events:
5/5
Welcome BBQ - this is a must have to welcome your guests! We had ours right on the beach and it was a blast. We chose the Mexican menu and everyone raved about how good the food was.

Ceremony & Reception:
4.5/5
As we got closer to the date, we were introduced to Natalia, our onsite Romance (wedding) coordinator. She worked tirelessly to confirm all the big and little details of the wedding and make sure we were happy with the arrangements. All of our requests were met and the overall day was successful. The garden ceremony was captivating and the ballroom was very elegant (originally we wanted an outdoor reception, but it was very hot that week and there was a chance of rain, so they let us make the switch on the day of). Reserving the bridal suite for the day was super helpful. Something that puzzled us was that there were some missing pieces from the crazy hour accessories we brought from home and did not receive some of the leftover party favors. The DJ played a nice variety of music but at times had some strange transitions and non-danceable songs. Crazy hour entartainers and samba dancers added an incredible amount of fun to the party. We haven’t received pictures yet from Tropic One, but were concerned by the tight schedule and lack of attention to detail on their part- so far we haven’t been very impressed and would suggest looking at other options. Overall though, we recommend considering having your destination wedding here.

Food:
5/5
We ate at Aqua, Mizu, Bana, Fuego, Olio, and both buffets.our favorites were Aqua, Mizu, Bana, and the main buffet. We ate plenty of seafood (including lobster tails, shrimp, ceviche). We even had fresh coconuts and fried pork at the beach. if you only could make one dinner reservation, you should go to Aqua.

Service:
5/5
We were helped by personal concierges, Gustavo and Augustin, at the Reserve. They were fantastic! Made everything special for our group of 42 during the entire stay. They regularly went out of their way to check in with us to make sure everything was going splendid. They worked closely with other hotel staff to accommodate many special needs/requests. They did everything to make us feel like VIPs. All of the other resort staff were courteous and made sure that we enjoyed our time there. Highly recommend bring small USD denominations, even a few dollars would be graciously accepted, they definitely deserved it.

Rooms & Amenities:
5/5
This was one of the best resorts we’ve been to, given a few years of travelling. We can confirm that the beaches are one of the top in the world. The pools were large, uncrowded, and refreshing. The rooms were spacious and very comfy, each of them had a hot tub and balcony. Our room was upgraded to a swim-up suit and received complimentary gifts such as liquor and wedding night decor, we would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: Swim-up suites are incredible, but every room is great!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Overall it was another great experience at the The Reserve. The staff is always willing to help and are friendly..

Awesome service by Bolivar De Los Santos Valdez, Mr. Santos (Hydro Grill and Aqua restaurant), Jesus Pereyra ( Vento Restaurant), Georgorio Sosa (Miszu Restaurant), Angela Mercedes/Staff at the Restaurant. These folks made the trip extra special, from the special entrees at lunch, to the special anniversary dinner (MANY THANKS BOLIVAR!!!).

The pools, beach and activity teams were awesome (from Mr. Shakey to my friend at the Reserve who called me Papa). Always smiling and giving hugs/high fives, fist pumps.

So the reason for not a perfect 5 stars was minor, but makes a difference:
1. Check In is not very organized
a. Not getting a room on the floor requested
b. Room not ready and nobody came to tell us when it was, so I had to keep going back
2. Room did not receive the turn down service 2 of the first 3 nights.

These are minor but could easily be corrected to allow the resort a perfect score.

Again, GREAT SERVICE from Bolivar, Jesus, Mr. Santos, Angela and team. Look for these people!! Promise they will not disappoint.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank yardleytravelers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Overall experience was great from the moment I got the hotel. The service was able to offer top quality breakfast, lunch and dinner throughout the day. Chef Fierro Perez made the steaks that I have ever tasted and any special order you wanted he will make it for you. Carlos Casanova and Wander Areche were able to set up a dinner outside by the pool the last night of my vacation with variety of diffierent top quality foods. Access to the beach with bungalows and unlimited chairs. Has a gym that offers personal trainers and a spa right next to it.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mark1802016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay over the five days. The suite in building 40 was very nice. Our personal concierge Rudelanya was wonderful! We were picky about the restaurants and she was able to accommodate all of our needs. She also prepared a nice bubble bath in the hot tub for us!Thank you Rudy! I definitely recommend the Reserve for its superior qualities.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank danliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews