We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok course” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocotal Golf & Country Club

Cocotal Golf & Country Club
Book In Advance
More Info
US$155.00*
and up
Cocotal Golf and Country Club in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Renowned architect, Jose "Pepe" Gancedo, six-time spanish Champion, designed the course by following the lay of the land, using the natural terrain to provide a route easily remembered long after the player finishes. Our trademark features are strategically-placed trees, bunkers, mounds and gently rolling terrain with well-defined and generous fairways without forgetting an unrelenting wind. The utilization of four sets of tees provides low-handicapped golfers with a course of great challenge, while beginners and intermediate players can continually improve their game in a player-friendly environment.
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ok course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Hadn't intended on golfing but decided we wanted to do something. Had a tee time at La Cana but on the way the driver talked us into going to Cocotal..kick back to him when we look back on this. Beware that they will nickel and dime you at the course. The rentals are not new as they say they are, the golf balls are used and they will try and get you to give them back after you are done so they can sell them again for $6 each. When we asked for the driver to come back and get us, they said they don't do a return shuttle..finally got the Riu to send a shuttle.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl6533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    104
    70
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value. Nice course..fun for the family.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We liked this course. Nice condition, 3 nines, good value, greens were nice and they gave you some room to drive the ball. Fun time!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Would play here every day...service is great too and well run .

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank edewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
“Great golf course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Beautifully maintained course surrounded by nice villas. Played the Hibiscus and Bougainvillea on 3 occasions this week. Tee boxes and fairways in very good conditions. The greens were exceptional; if you missed a put, you had only yourself to blame. Course is forgiving as it is fairly wide, not much water in play and only 1 dogleg hole. Pace of play was 4:30.

I was able to book 24 hours in advance by calling from the Melia Caribe Hotel. Make sure to bring your voucher that will be provided by the Guest Services Desk. Guest Services will also provide you a shuttle schedule that runs every hours (free). The only cost was $40/person for cart. Carts are not in top conditions but will take you around the course. Just plan your stops as the brakes on some of the carts were not very good. Before leaving the clubhouse for the round, verify that your bag is well strapped in. What I had read in previous reviews also happened to us with the bag falling off the cart after the strap slipped. If you plan on playing more than one round during stay, you can leave your clubs in storage for a $5 flat fee. Check-in and start of round was very quick and all staff were very helpful. On return, your clubs are cleaned and put back in storage.

The food cart comes around regurlarly but you have to pay for anything you get as it is not part of the all inclusive deal of the hotel. The carts have a small cooler that is filled with ice before each round. We chose to bring water bottles and snacks from the resort.

Really enjoyed all the rounds and will play again if ever I return to this area.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yves J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnville, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have played here in the past and enjoy the course. The staff is friendly and pace of play was good. The Hibiscus - Bourgavilla combination is the best way to play this course. The Bengamina nine is the weakest of the three nines

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bulldogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocotal Golf & Country Club also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Cocotal Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing