We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Nearby Hotels
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$411
US$354
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
US$231
US$153
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$391
US$229
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$371
US$259
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$253
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$437
US$300
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$578
US$539
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$433
US$254
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$331
US$194
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,379)
Filter reviews
3,379 results
Traveller rating
806
1,105
731
365
372
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
806
1,105
731
365
372
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaribbean streetother hotelswater poloanimation teampool bara la carte restaurantbeautiful beachpalm treesdance lessonssaona islandshows at nightnightly entertainmentplenty of chairsshrimpa lot of funbeach chairswork hard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
640 - 645 of 3,379 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2010

I don't know what some people are talking about. Yes the hotel is not a 4 or 5 star but it is not a living nightmare either. My husband and I spent 2 weeks here and we enjoyed everyday. The pools were clean, our rooms were clean, the beds for sleeping could have been better. The hotel was clean and the restraunts were clean. We never smelt awful smells in the hall or our bedroom. As for the smell of cigarette smoke ya, and if ur a none smoker, of course you will complain about that. Our locks worked fine, the service was great and when ever needed something we got it. The entire staff was wonderful. The food was good , the only thing were found not cooked completely was the bacon and sometimes hamburgers. But all u had to do was ask them to cook it more for u and they would do it no problem. there was always staff out cleaning the resort area and the hotel. Those of you that want to go on a trip and live like a king and queen, make sure you are staying at a 5 star, and yes you will pay alot more for it also. You know even the best places , people always have something to complain about they are never happy . Stay home than were you can have the life you want.
And as for bed bugs, never seen any. The only animals we seen were, a couple of flies, the odd butterfly, some black birds that did no harm and little lizards which were very cute and harmless. Oh ya, and a parrot on a mans shoulder down at the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiki_Island38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

A friend and I recently spent a week at the Riu Naiboa. While the reviews we had read were not overly promising, we booked last minute and got a fairly good rate so decided to give it a go. The hotel was exactly what I had expected. As most of the reviews say it is definitely dated. The rooms were not overly comfortable - you get a single and double bed, which are very worn. There a things that have been patched, areas that need painting, tiles that need to be replaced....and the list goes on. EVERYTHING echos down the hallways and the walls are very thin - so you had better hope you are a heavy sleeper or you might not get much sleep. However, the rooms were kept very clean and for the amount of time we spent in them all of the faults didn't bother us too much.

While the resort was not the greatest, we still had a good time. We enjoyed the pool which was quite large and quiet (outside of the animation team); we never had trouble finding chairs no matter what time of day we showed up. It was a quick walk to the beach down caribbean street - which didn't bother us at all. We loved the beach - again never had trouble finding chairs, which was nice!

We ate at the buffet all week - which got somewhat tiring. They do offer a wide selection, however the food does not vary too much meal to meal, day to day. They do try hard though, and we enjoyed the theme nights they had! It is dissapointing that there are no a la cartes at this hotel - we were told we had access to some at the other hotels but making reservations did not seem to be the easiest task.

As far as entertainment - it was pretty standard. The animation and entertainment staff both worked very hard to put on a good show every night! We really enjoyed the ideal couple and Mr. Naiboa! Also, everynight before the show they have Bingo - where you can win T-Shirts, Bottles of Rum and other prizes!

All in all, we had a great vacation! We made the best of it - and tried to looked past the dated falling apart hotel. If you are looking for a cheap - modest vacation then you could go here! But I am sure you can find better resorts in Punta Cana for a similar price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandgirl2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We had stayed at the RIU Taino two years ago, thus coming back and we were not disappointed, in fact it was great two years ago, and it was definitely the same if not better, the food was excellent, great selection and variety each day, breakfasts and dinners to die for and each day a nice selection to choose from. Entertainment had definitely improved in the two years with new features added to the entertainment. Staff were also helpful and went out of their way to accommodate and make the stay pleasant. Of course the weather was wonderful and the beach of Punta Cana went on forever, therefore making the walks enjoyable with the gentle ocean breezes and sand very easy to bear. Please note that this hotel will be closed July 2010 for a complete tear-down and re-build of a brand new complex, so it was perfect timing to go and visit this winter 2010.

How the new improved complex will be in two years, only one can imagine, if the price is right, will definitely explore it at that time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyBabyFly_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

*** I WISH I KNEW THIS BEFORE WE LEFT! ***

We are newlyweds (of 3 days) and i was 5 months pregnant. This was our experience: Flat pillows (we had to get more x6), horrid beds (they put a double & a singe to make a king-but the single was 5 inches to low so not at all the same height), topless women anywhere both at pools & beach (the only women we wanted to see naked was ME in OUR room), same food-which causes "smelly issues", same entertainment & music(which caused us to be board & frustrated at the staff), smokers everywhere (no place to eat, sit or suntan without a puff of cancerous smoke in the face), no good non-alcoholic drinks (the term virgin is not known), night life is dead ie.everything shuts down early-by early i mean 5pm, very few things in English. I would not chose to take my husband or children here. Some beach vendors bothered us to buy or do things-but not too bad they backed off easily.

Positive notes: There was a free ice cream machine, pools were beautiful

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsVactionLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Not a 4 star for sure. rooms very outdated. beds uncomfortable, pillows thin. we are full of bedbug bites. bathroom old but clean. The food was tasting good but I got very sick with diareaha. there are open sewers in the back and the smell is very evident all around.
the beach is beautiful and the pool area too. the people were very friendly and worked hard.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank nedgabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews