We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome but jewelry stollen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excellence Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome but jewelry stollen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We traveled with a group and had a truly amazing time. Bar staff was excellent and so was the entertainment staff. Could not say the same for housekeeping as it was out house keeper who took 2 pieces of jewelry. I happened with in the first 2 hours of arriving. I had my costume jewelry and a sterling silver anklet and ring along in our carry on. When we were taken to our room, our housekeeper was cleaning so they took our luggage and took us around the resort. We returned not 2 hours later and the only 2 pieces worth any value were taken.

Found the female staff not nearly as pleasant as the males. May return but would be hesitant to take anything with us.

Room Tip: If getting an ocean view, make sure it's not a ground room since their is 6 foot high hedges you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank autumnisfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,497
    2,726
    929
    403
    276
See reviews for
760
8,826
104
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

On arrival we were thrilled with what we saw. The Excellence Punta Cana was obviously the right choice for our honeymoon. The check in was a breeze and we were greeted with a glass a champagne and a cold towel (thank you Darvin). We had decided to upgrade to club membership with First Choice. Whilst our paperwork was sorted out for check in we sat in the downstairs of the club which was fully air conditioned and had a cold beer brought to us. Our Excellence Club Concierge Gerson looked after us from beginning to end of our honeymoon. (Thank you Gerson)

Our tour operator made a mistake with our room but Linda Bauer sorted it out immediately and without any fuss what so ever.

As we were on our honeymoon our there was a sash on our door which read honeymooners. There was a cold bottle of champagne on ice, selection of fresh fruit and a flower basket. Our suite was immaculate and was clean and fresh. The suite was enormous and as we had top floor ocean view in building 8 we had a high beamed ceiling. We had a well-stocked mini bar and a selection of spirits which were all proper brand. There was also a full set of Bvulgari toiletries left for us. The shower was amazing and was big enough for both of us.

We ate out at four of the eight restaurants which were the Agave, the Grill, Spice and the Toscana. We used the Toscana most days for our breakfast which was buffet style and the food on offer was anything you could possibly you could want. They would freshly prepare omelettes, eggs (how you would like them) and waffles. There were plenty of fresh fruits and an amazing selection of any breakfast menu you could think of. Every time we went into a restaurant we were greeted and the greeter would take my wife’s arm and escort us to the table.

The Grill served a variety of steaks exactly to your liking and was served with any type of potatoes you asked for. The Spice was a small intimate elegant restaurant with quality Thai food again cooked how you liked it. The Agave was a Mexican restaurant which I think was our favourite. We went to this restaurant three times and we sat out in the court yard by the fountain. If you like a bit of spice to your food then this is the place to go. The portions were huge and always came out on a sizzling hotplate, we could never finish everything.
The service was impeccable at all the restaurants and our drinks were never empty even at busy times. We had a romantic dinner on the beach which was indeed very romantic. On our return to our room our Excellence Club Concierge Gerson had seen to it that our room was beautifully decorated with flowers and petals lit candles around our freshly drawn jacuzzi with bubbles and petals. Nice touch (thank you Gerson).

The grounds of the hotel were kept pristinely clean and the plants were constantly looked after. There was always someone cleaning the pool all day to make sure there was no rubbish anywhere. The wildlife in the grounds is lovely to see. Various birds including pink flamingos and the parrots were great we had a great laugh visiting the parrots on a couple of occasions.

The pool was constantly served by staff and you were never without a drink (thank you Edgar) or never without anything to eat when it was lunch time (thanks Candido for the chicken pizzas). We were never without a clean towel when we required one (thanks to Rafael and Ines).
This also includes the service on the beach by the same staff.

The beach was constantly kept clean and the large beds on the beach were made up with pillows and cushions, which we thought was a very nice touch. The sea was a little rough but we knew this when we booked but saying that there was quite a few days when there was very little waves and it was very calm. If you went to the left there were a few shops. The people that owned them except Nancy's tried to get you in them. If you just say no they will not keep on to you. Nancy's we visited quite often and bought a few souvenirs to take home. They also do a massage there which we told is very good and relaxing. As mentioned in another review stating this might be something of a seedy nature I can honestly say this is NOT the case. To the right on the beach the water is much calmer and is nice for a good stroll.

The evening entertainment was excellent and the best of it was the Michael Jackson show and we also really enjoyed the Dominican Show.

We were there for two weeks and were not bitten once by a mosquito even though we never applied any deet.

We are already looking to book here for next year and can't wait to get back. They truly looked after us and could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RobandLisa2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Gorgeous clean beach and pools, very attentive and fun staff especially Moya, Hector,Radhames and my sweet, young Dominican son Gabriel who always made me smile and made sure my drink was never empty.(Man those guys work their butts off) This is a very classy,beautiful resort and we were very happy with our room,complete with a jacuzzi, awesome shower and comfy king sized bed with multiple pillows.The food at the Lobster House was dreadful for dinner, but, good at breakfast. Mexican for dinner was just ok. In The Grill we were seated at a table that was elevated over the pool with a view of the ocean, where we had a most enjoyable steak dinner.
While we awaited in the lobby for our transfer to the airport a concierge out of the blue stopped by to check on us and made last minute arrangements to bring us delicious sandwiches to go for our journey home.
Yep, we'll be back for sure and Gabriel we hope you follow through with your goal...we love you all..See you winter of 2013!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We returned for a third time, third year in a row to Excellence Punta Cana. We absolutely love this resort. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful and memorable vacation again! We are planning to return for our anniversary in October and can't wait! For sure we will be going here every year from now on! Everyone from Roberto Puello, to the great folks at the desk (Marlin, Pauline, Dario, Ibrahim, Fernando,etc) to awesome Spanish teacher Kassandra, the wonderful and helpful concierge staff at the Excellence Club (Gerson and Esperanza), activation staff members and Spanish teachers Juan Carlos and Yohanna, Willy and Tito who keep the Texas holdem crowd well entertained. Wonderful wait staff especially the beautiful and elegant Ledelkys in Toscana who served us and treated us so wonderfully and Armado at the Grill, Elias at Spice,Concierge staff Elyissa, and the energetic Miss Iness at the Excellence Beach. Pedro at the swim up bar and so many, many more staff members that gave us the best holiday again! This resort has wonderful staff who go out of their way to ensure you have a great, flawless vacation. They do not expect any tips or reward for their kind service but are extremely grateful if you do choose to tip. Our room was lovely,recently updated with new bathroom fixtures including a big picture window from the bedroom looking into the shower! Roberto told us they are going to install a curtain over the window so guests can choose to have a room with a "view" or not!! It didn't bother us, but some folks might find it a bit "open" !!
This resort is a little farther from the airport than some others but it is so worth the extra time (and bumpy road!) to get there. The main highway isn't too bad and they are obviously working on it to make it a divided highway. The last few roads to the Excellence are the rougher ones but it is so worth it when you arrive at this beautiful resort and hear "Welcome Home" and are given a glass of champagne to sip while checking in! Awesome bell staff too! Eduardo, Santos, Abraham, Victor, just to mention a few who may meet and greet you and look after all that luggage! We highly recommend Excellence Punta Cana and we really enjoyed the great meals, good wine and top shelf liquor available, the top notch service and lovely smiling staff members who make this place very special and worth going to again and again! We met many wonderful folks here who have chosen to return year after year and also folks who were there for the first time and were absolutely amazed at how awesome this place is! Muy Excellante!

Room Tip: We have had rooms on the pool side and the garden side. Both are great. The pool closes at 6 PM so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nsjetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Overall the experience in the hotel was great, this is really a luxury hotel and I believe you get good value for your money. Especially for couples and lovers of good food a great place. For transparency purposes we have put together a list of positives ("+") and negatives ("-"). As can be noted, the hotel could be improved easily by addressing some issues:

+ The food is really very good (mainly in the evening), definitely an advantage over other hotels. The variety is large and the a la carte concept is really helpful in not overeating
+The nightshows are overall also good and worth it, in particular the Michael Jackson and variete show
+ You notice that the hotel is keen to improve and offers an excellent service, this is definitely a strength
+There is a turnover service for the room, so it is visited two times a day
+This is definitely a couples hotel, if you are looking for something more romantic, the hotel is a great fit
+I was impressed that the morning buffet also included two sorts of glutenfree bread, great!
+The fitness center already opens at 6am

- The employees are very keen to socialize with the guests. You should expect them to call you and ask how you are and shake hands. Depending on your culture, you may like it or not
- The sea in front of the hotel is not really quiet. You would need to walk to the right or left of the hotel beach to find calmer waters, but see the next point what the problem then is
- Extended walks on the beach regularly have a sour note as local salesmen literally chase tourists on the beaches. One of our experiences: on a wonderful walk, a man comes walking straight to us from the palms to the shore. "Hey amigo, how are doing my friend?", he says and offers his hand for a handshake. As soon as you stop, they start talking and asking for your name and you realize that you have a professional salesmen in front of you. If you are a couple and one of you says that there is no interest, a typical reply is that in the Dominican Republic the other gender has the say in the country. In our case the salesman offered a collar for free. So if you refuse he might play the offended, if you accept how we did, he then asks you to take a look at his shop. So we went to his shop. Quickly the tone changed and we faced remarks like "buy something from me!" and (to my wife) "open your bag!", etc. Once we left we were glad that it was over. Our advice: when you walk on the beach and you are not interested, just say thank you and walk on (we even once had problems with this approach). Back at the hotel we were glad that this was over. Unfortunately this is not the case, as the hotel itself employs people that sell services in the pool and beach area - what a nightmare! On top of that, they tend to come back several times. The hotel should restrict the sale of services to the desks that sell services in the lobby like other hotels do!
-To the west of the hotel, there are some shops that do not belong to the hotel. When being in the pool area, you can see though an ad "Nancy Massages", which means that those external salespeople are selling Massages to the hotel guests. Of course those external salespeople know that a five star hotel does have massages itself, it is therefore easy to conclude that Nancy Massages entail a different type of massage... It is very disturbing for couples marrying or celebrating anniversaries to face most probably sexual ad during their celebration!
-For some reason employees of all sorts use the pool area to commute through the hotel. Certainly some do have to as there are some bars in the pool area and towels need to be collected. We felt though that this was not restricted to a minimum. As an example for instance, once an employee walked by me with a big box of chicken flesh, sorry, but this is misplaced and the hotel is full of other paths to commute.
- Although the service is excellent, there are isolated exceptions. For instance, when we were served by "Cristian" in the Toscana restaurant, we asked him if we could have a lasagne bolognese. After saying yes, he served me a lasagne with spinach and to my wife a lasagne with not much more than tomato sauce in the lasagne. In terms of the desert, to be sure I pointed to him on the menu card my finger to the mango parfait. Unfortunately, again we were served something else (I never had a warm parfait to be sure). On top of that, when serving the tea he claimed that the restaurant did only have one sort of tea (and no chamomile), which was not true. To put a "great" finish, instead of placing it in the middle of the table, he placed the sugar pot right where my right arm leans on the table. Moreover, the same waiter, "Cristian", I had to tell three times in the breakfast not to withdraw my dish as I had not yet finished. Luckily this disastrous and unprofessional service is an isolated experience and the other waiters are really good to excellent.
- Probably since we had turned off the air conditioning in the night, we suffered many mosquito bites. To our surprise though, we still suffered further (but less) mosquito bites when sleeping with the air conditioning on.
-Usually you have to leave the room 12 noon when leaving the hotel. If your flight is in the afternoon there is a lack of air conditioned waiting rooms, especially if you are dressed for air travel (and your home is in a colder region of the world). Unfortunately, the internet shop closes between 12 noon and 3.30pm so you have to spend the time outside despite being dressed for colder temperatures. If you paid for the Excellence Club then you could wait for the pick up at the hotel there, but otherwise the hotel would be well advised to have an air conditioned place other than the buffet open where people can wait for a few hours for the pick up.
-The cleaning of the room is okaish. We had a dead mosquito next to the lavabo which was laying there for roughly a week (we did not clean it ourselve to see how thorough the cleaning is). Also the bed linen sometimes have spots on it that could not be cleaned by the daily washing.
-The volume in the nightshows was sometimes a bit too loud

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Domino_12o4u5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at the adults only, all inclusive Excellence Punta Cana in early April. The weather was great, the ocean was warm, the room was comfortable, the drinks flowed. The only problem was the food. Although plentiful, each of the theme restaurants tried but missed the mark. Fine dining and well prepared food are important to us. Unfortunately we were left with a bad taste in our mouths.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have hammocks outside - a nice bonus. The Cascade pool area is a quiet get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARGii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Excellence continues to deliver value for money.

This year was our 3rd visit and we spent 3 weeks walking the sandy beaches (doesn't bother me that the sea's too rough to swim, there are plenty of pools in the resort), lazing on the sun lounges.

Hotel staff are always extremely friendly and amazingly many remembered us from previous years. Also a little Spanish goes a long way.

We spotted many people we'd seen on previous visits with one couple telling us this was their 10th visit. We don't go for the gourmet foot (although were very pleasantly surprised with the Mexican restaurant) and the courtyard dining between the "french" and "mexican" restaurants. I don't recall outdoor dining in this area before and it was lovely.

I rang the wonderful folks at Caribbean Warehouse just yesterday enquiring about prices for 21 nights in January 2013. Price is £3pp/pn more expensive than this year. Not bad! Think I'll just have to book up.

Room Tip: Personally, I don't think the Excellence Club is worth the extra. We had a suite one year as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DangerousLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
25.8 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
20.6 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
22.0 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,640 reviews
16.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
17.5 km away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V. so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing