We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Muy Excellente” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excellence Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Muy Excellente”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I just returned from the Excellence Punta Cana for our honeymoon. We spent from April 16 to April 22 enjoying the Excellence in everyway possible. When we arrived at the airport in Puna Cana the taxi we arranged with the resort was there waiting for us. Our driver Javier was fantastic, the ride was bumpy and long, approximately 60 minutes from door to door, but went by relatively quickly.

When we arrived at the resort we were greeted with 2 glasses of champagne, which was welcome after our long trip. We were immediatly taken to the Excellence Club Lounge to check in. The Club is worth every penny. First, it is at the far end of the resort, which is the quieter end of the pool, away from the lobby area. You get an upgraded bar, not just a mini bar, but full sized bottle of liquor, which are replenished should you go through a bottle, which we did, the Dominican rum was amazing. The rooms appeared to be a little bigger than the rooms in the rest of the resort. Some things were a little outdated, the resort is clearly an older resort, but is still well kept and that jsut added to the charm. The Club Lounge was great, finger food selections were offered all day, and there is a full bar with higher end liquors. Also, IPads are available to use in the lounge should you need the interenet. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the resort, so bring you computer/Ipad.

We started every morning working out the the gym, which is amazing. I expected a couple treadmills and some free weights, but what we got was a huge (appeared to be fairly new) gym, with a ton of nice equipment.

Food: For resort food, the food was excellent. If you keep in mind this is a resort and not a 5 star NYC restaurant you will be more than impressed. For breakfast we generally ate at the buffet in Toscana, which offered a large selection of choices. We did order room service one day and had a beautiful breakfast on out balcony overlooking the ocean, which was a perfect way to start the day. Keep in mind room service is available 24/7, but takes forever! It was at least an hour after we ordered, we were told this early on so knew and ordered immediately upon returning from our workout. The food arrived shortly after we were done cleaning up. Lunch at Toscana was also buffet and very good with a huge selection to choose from, we prefered the beach bbq. The had burgers, dogs, nachos, pizzas, french fries and pizza. They also had a daily special, which included ribs and chicken. For dinner we ate at Spice, Chez Isabell, Oregano and Agave (twice). They were all very good, we felt Agave was amazing, on par with a good Mexican restaurant. Spice and Chez were also very good. Oregano was good, we ordered a pizza and a lasagna. Being italian (and originally from NY) I am a bit of a snob when it comes to my lasagna and pizza, but it was good.

Drinks: The bars and bartenders were all amazing. The Coco Loco is a must. We found ourself as regulars a Cafe Kafe, where Felix, Omar, Gabriel and "Shorty" took care of us like we couldn't believe. Those 4 work unbelievably hard to make every guest feel welcome and make sure they are having a great time.

Service, we had no problem with our rooms being cleaned, they were check twice a day. If you do not remove the do not disturb tag, they will not touch your room. Our room was always cleaned by early afternoon and lets face it who needs or wants room service knocking on your door a 10am.

Overall, the Excellence is just that Excellant. Were there a few flaws, of course, it is a resort after all, but nothing that wasn't fixed quickly or easily overlooked. I would highly recommend the Excellence to anyone who wants a nice relaxing time away. We are already planning a return visit for our anniversary next April.

Room Tip: Bring a bundle of ones, while they are not required the staff works very hard and appreciated the ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vasabresfan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,547
    2,753
    944
    411
    279
See reviews for
766
8,908
105
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Let me start off by saying that this was our 3rd trip to Excellence Punta Cana and it was better than what remembered!

We stayed from April18th-26th and everything from check in on was great. We were greeted with a glass of champange and Pauline at the front desk. I was in contact with Linda Bauer and Roberto by email and explained this was our 3rd trip back and our anniversary. I requested a renovated room overlooking the pool. Pauline stated that Linda had taken care of our request and we were in room 6104. When we got to our room it was exactly what I requested. GREAT START! The Hotel was spotless, the room spotless, and we had an anniversary banner hanging from our door.....This was a great touch.

The first night we went to eat at Chez Isabelle and the chataibraun(spelling) is great. Two staff members were going around giving Roses to the women. One of the Staff members was Linda. I thanked her for the room she gave us and when I told her our names, she knew exactly who we were. She stated it was her pleasure and she knew we just arrived. She told us to call her directly if we needed anything.

Every restaurant was great with Spice being our favorite. The two staff members who stuck out to us were JESUS and SERGIO at Spice. They were both awesome. We ate there 3 times and everytime they rembered our name. One time JESUS told us to wait a minute for him to get our table ready. When we got to the table, rose pedals were spread all over the table....very romantic.

The Grill had a fillet that was to die for. Agave had the best dessert ever ( 3 Milk Cake). We also found out that this was on the room service menu!! Not good for our calorie intake!

The Buffet was good. It does get a little reduntant for lunch, but the grill is also open for lunch and the beach has a cook out. I would have liked for the Organo to have been open for lunch because we never made it to dinner there, and it looked real good.

Enough with the food, lol. The shows at night were very good. We watched the Michael Jackson Show, the 70's show and the Magic show... All very entertaining. They have the Sax player playing just about every night and a band always playing... There is more than enough to keep you busy.

The drinks were very good. You could order anything you wanted and the service is outstanding. When your drink is low, there is someone there to take another order.

The Highlight of the resort to us is the POOL. It is huge and very clean. I would wake up early every day to get the chairs we wanted and pick up a "blue floatie" for us. There is not that many floats, so if you want one get it early. The Pool never seemed overcrowded and there are alot of chairs in the sun and shaded areas. Staff is always walking around taking drink orders and the Pool bar opens at 10 AM...

We usually do not do any excursions, but we tried one. We booked it through HERMES at the Prieto Tour Desk. We did the 4 wheel/buggy excursion it was AWESOME... We took one 4 wheeler ($99.00) and had a blast. They drive you about 20 minutes to Macha Tours and you go from there. It is about a 2 hr. excursion and we had so much fun. They take you to the most beautiful beach and a cave where you can swim if you like. They also take you to see how the people live. IT WAS A GREAT TRIP AND WORTH IT. One hint....take the 4 wheeler and not the buggys, and try to get up front of the tour...it is much more fun.

As you can tell we had an awesome trip. The Whole staff at Excellence is wonderful, but a few people stuck out to us.......JESUS and SERGIO from Spice, Linda and Roberto from the Conciere Desk, and Hermes from Prieto Tours.

We will be returning again to this Fabulous Resort.

Tom & Nicole Napoli

Room Tip: I think Building 1-4 are not renovated yet. Ask for a Renovated Room... Building 6 was Awesome...Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed at Excellence from 4/14 - 4/21, and went with 14 people, including my lovely girlfriend. The reviews I read on this site were mostly accurate. I have to say, we all had high expectations going there. There were negatives and positives to the trip, and this review should help you plan for your trip.
First, the room service took a minimum of 1 hour to be delivered all week to the 15 of us staying there. And by the way, get the late night quesadillas.... so much QUESO!!! Go to Oregano late night. They have a full menu, and you can eat it outside, and you can order cocktails from the casino bar. The music in the Disco varies from night to night, but was usually a good time.
Our rooms were very nice, and spacious (building 2), but the maids didn't get there to clean them until after 3pm. Oh, and if they knock and your in the shower or taking a nap, they come in and do what they need to do..... I got surprised a couple of times while in the shower.
As they other reviews say, it was a red flag week, very windy, which was fine, NO RAIN!, but the beach isn't waht you think about when you think about a typical carribean beach. The water wasn't the typical blue with the white sand..... But it was fine, and it's not the resorts fault, but just something to think about when booking here. I know next year we are going to research the actual beaches more.
The bars and bartenders were great. A few dollars goes a long way, and they remember who has given them tips. They will make the drinks as strong as you want, and ask if they don't have something on the shelf b/c they keep the higher end booze underneath the bar. The service was lacking around the pool areas for drinks, especially around the cascade pool. The bartender was excellent at the bar their, and totally accomodated to our consistent orders of 15 tequilla sunrises throughout the day.
Overall, if you are in need of some relaxation, and simply want to do a lot of nothing, this really is the place to go. It is beautiful, and trully paradise!

Room Tip: We had a room in building 2 on the first floor that walks out to the cascading pool. I highly recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosephL598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmundston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was our third trip in as many years to this Excellent resort. We were there from the 8th of April until the 22nd and it felt like we had never left there.
We did note a few minor changes as is normal and as it should be.
What remains constant is the warmth and friendliness of the staff. It's incredible that they recognize you from one year to the next, considering the number of guests that come and go on a continuous basis. We also look forward to see which of our friends are still working there.
My Spanish has never been up to par, but they really appreciate my efforts. Show interest in the staff members, make a bit of an effort to communicate and they will bend over backwards for you. We can't really say enough about everyone, from the guys working the beach, to the waiters/waitresses, barmen/maids, kitchen staff, reception desk, concierge, housekeepers, supervisors and so on. We got to know them on a first name basis and there are so many of them that I would spend the rest of this review just naming them...and I probably would wind up missing a bunch.
The beach, as always is just beautiful although the surf can be a bit rough at times. If you really feel like going for a dip in the ocean, then a short walk towards the next resort to the right of Excellence has a very calm area which is safer.
Our room was just great. The minibar was kept well stocked every day. Again, the staff was very courteous and more than willing to provide you with even minor requests.
Granted, the resort has been operating for a number of years, so some renovations are necessary. We were aware of some sections being fixed up but never, at any time, was this work noisy or bothersome.
Entertainment has always been a highlight in the evening. What more can be said about Domingo? One extremely talented and amiable saxophone player, a true artist.
This year, a band was added to the evening entertainment fare. Excellence Band provides a good mix of latino and popular music. Great ambiance! The female singer has a great voice to say the least.
We were lucky to catch a front row table for an incredible performance by Arturo Fuente who must have been born with a guitar in his hands, a true master of the art!
Evening shows are somewhat similar to those of the last few years, with the welcome addition of new productions.
What can be said about the food? Just great as usual with maybe a very few exceptions. The buffets are nothing short of a smorgasborg. The restaurants offer great fare although at least one could balance out their offering by adding more vegetables. Mind you, there was nothing wrong with what was on our plates, quite the opposite.
As this was our third visit, we thought we were veterans of a sort. As it turns out, we met other people who were on their 5th, others on their 7th and others still who were there for the 14th time!
In closing, I must say that we may try other resorts in the future, but we know for sure that we will keep coming back to Excellence.
They make you feel so pampered there, it's almost embarassing!

Room Tip: Ask and you just might get what you want, if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinaandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Just returned from my second trip to the Excellence Punta Cana, we were there from 4/18/2012 to 4/25/2012, and what more can I say than they out did themselves again. Once you step out of your vehicle you are handed a cold glass of champagne and a cool cloth to refresh yourself. The bellman handle of all of luggage with such ease. The rooms, grounds and above all the staff are surperb. Our favorite bar waiter by far was Omar...he is in one word fantastic. We met Omar two years ago and were thrilled to find him still working at the resort. The first day that we saw him he remembered us and once again gave us the service as if we were the king and queen of the resort. If your looking for a great experience this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is an incredible resort and it's adults only. The pool is larger than most hotels. (I mean the hotel not the hotel pool) The ocean is gorgeous but very rough(red flag). Positives: Excellent service. You are greeted on your arrival with a glass of champagne before you set foot in the lobby. I highly recommend upgrading to an Excellence Club room building 11 or higher. This puts you in a bigger room, gives you full a reasonably stocked bar in addition to a mini bar plus a private lounge and tapas selection throught out the day. Regardless of the club, this resort is all inclusive. You do not need anything but USD currency. As many other reviews have stated, take a banded $100 pile of ones per week and give them out as tips. The service does get better from already good to excellent. I would not recommend changing currency otherwise. A 12oz bottle of Coke runs $RD 50.

The food: The DR's idea of French Cuisine, Italian Cuisine, Lobster etc. may not be what you are used to. I'm not a big French food fan so I unexpectedly found Sea Bass on the menu at the French rest. Toscano, the Italian. It has a lunch buffet (did not) and average Italian fare at best. Also if you are looking for really good wine and champagne you won't find it here.

The Grill. Typical Island/American fare with a DR twist. good lunch spot. Lobster House. Good but don't expect a puffed lobster tail. They cut it in half and let you dig it out. Yes they really do serve PIzza on the Beach. E club member have a private roped off area on the beach. Barcelona, Mediterrean was closed 5 of 7 nights we were there.

This a rambling review but if you have question fell free to reply

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LobotC2DFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Once again Excellence exceeds all other resorts, we were here from March 1 - 8, 2012. This completed our visits to all 3 of the Excellence properties and can honestly say each one of their resorts tops any other location we have ever stayed. I love all of these resorts and cannot find a bad thing to say about any of them. The rooms, property, and staff are all awesome and work extremely hard to satisfy you.

There are several restaurants to choose from without reservations, I might add. The food was all very good vs. our last trip to the Dominican at another resort where we had to go to the buffet just to find anything decent to eat. The things that keep me returning to Excellence resorts are the beautiful resorts properties, friendly and helpful staff, adult only resort, multiple restaurants, wonderful entertainment, and even free wireless internet so take your laptop to communicate with loved ones back home.

I always come home from Excellence so excited to plan our next visit. Even our driver who picked us up from the airport was wonderful. He stopped and bought my husband and I a beer at a local store. His words " your on vacation let me buy you a beer". He spoke good english and had even lived in the states for awhile, so he was very easy to talk to during our ride from the airport.

The water is not the smooth pretty caribbean water that most are expecting, but we still snorkeled and got in the water to cool off. It is still wonderful none the less.

I'm not sure what else to say that I haven't already said about Excellence in prior reviews except I have never been disappointed and would not hesitate to take any of my friends or family to any or all of their resorts. LOVE EXCELLENCE they are always excellente!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mbthornburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
25.8 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
20.6 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
22.0 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,772 reviews
25.9 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
16.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V. and Priceline so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing