We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #39 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 December 2011

When I went to Grand Palladium in Punta Cana, these were my first vacation where I had to take a plane, so I didn't know what was waiting me and I prefered to not put waitings. When I arrived, I always felt the hot sun, such a nice thing. I went in December a 3-4 years ago.

First, we arrive to the airport and then take a 25 minutes bus till the hotel, a nice thing because you can see by the windows how the people are living in their country. At your arrival to Grand Palladium, people are very accomodating, they offer you a drink even if you didn't have the time to take your key. So you take your key, people who work there, are alway smiling.

The rooms, are very nice, we ask for two rooms which are connected, but they didn't have, so without extra-fees, they upgrade us in bigger rooms, just for us to be connected rooms. There was the most beautiful bathroom I saw. A big circle bath, a space shower, and a big wash-hand basin.

After Punta Cana I went to Cuba, and I can definitively tell you that in Punta Cana, the food is better. There is a big variety, places to eat are big, food is very good. The morning, there is even people making you pancake, and the luch and the dinner it's the same thing. Cart restaurant are also good, and I will tell you I have no difficulty to eat food that I don't know and all, but I prefered dressers, because you can eat what you feel (fish, sea foods, hot-dog, hamburger, salads, everything).

The beach was amazing, the sun is hot so don't forget to bring some sun lotion. There was wind all week long, but this is nice cause you can plan in the water and do bodysurfing. The pool were hot, but cold enough just to say that they refresh you, they are clean and there is a bar in the pool.

The site was nice and not too big, so you don't have to walk 2km to go from a place to an other. Also, near of where you are, there is a little villager place, where you can go for a certain amount of many make a little fish trip (old boat, I don't personnaly trust). There is also a restaurant, and little shop were people are trying to sell you beautiful memories, like paint and cocoa monkey. Bargain, it's always working.

I such appreciated this place, and if I wouldn't like to visit different place everytime, this is a place where I would return definitively. People there are amazing, I had no problems, and weather was very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coolseb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,180 - 2,186 of 7,962 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

The ride from the airport was about 45 minutes, but we were the 5th out of 5 dropoffs.
Check in was quick, although we were the only ones arriving at the time. They gave us the hotel information in Spanish and we didn't notice until later, so we had to go back to the desk at a later time to exchange it. The bellboy was quick and efficient and gave us a quick tour of the features in the room.
Our room was in the 3000 building, close to the beach and the main lobby. We had two double beds; they were quite comfortable, but the pillows were AWFUL! They are really tiny and flat. If you're willing to dole out an extra 3 USD per night, you can select a special pillow from the "pillow menu", but I couldn't be bothered. The room was clean and our housekeeper, Cristina was fantastic! She always supplied us with clean towels, even though we hung them up and tidied the countertop for us. The building is clearly older and could use some renovating, but it seems the furniture and fixtures have been updated. The shower was the absolute worst part of our vacation... On "good" water pressure days, it barely came out. If you wanted to shower in the two hours when people usually get back from the beach (5-7pm), there was very little water pressure. Some days, there was no hot water, other days, no cold water... just ridiculous! On top of that, the shower head barely reached the tub and half the water drained behind the tub onto the ledge.
We left a generous tip and a note on the first day for the person who fills the mini-bar because we like Diet Coke instead of regular, so he continued to supply us with it thorughout our stay, but on another day we left him a note to remind him, we found it crumpled up and thrown behind the TV. So rude!
The buffets were quite good. We mixed up breakfast and buffet dinners between the Punta Cana, the Bavaro and the Palace. I preferred the other two over the Punta Cana; they were busier with higher turnover and brighter, nicer rooms. We usually went to El Arecife at the Bavaro for lunch. It's brand new, open and airy. The food is yummy and turnover is quite high, so usually fresh. All the meat and fish were really great. The pork ribs were our favourite... we had them many times!
We ate at 3 of the a la cartes and I have to say that their system is the best of any all-inclusive resort I've seen. Rather than a reservation system, you just showed up and got a pager and you could go wait in the lobby bar until a table came up. So much better than waiting in line early in the morning for a reservation! The Mexican was good, the servings were very large! The Mediterranean was also very delicious. I think the Brazilian was my favourite... all the meat was so delicious! Save room for the sides!
(I should say, however, that I did get traveller's sickness at one point... no idea what from, but wash your hands!) The hosts/hostesses squirt everyone's hands with alcohol-based hand sanitizer as we enter the dining areas, but they are very stingy with it, so I strongly suggest bringing your own and re-sanitizing after the buffet, but before you eat!
The pools were really nice, water temperature good. However, they don't advertise that there is currently construction going on at the beachside restaurant at the Punta Cana, so there is a large black construction fence blocking the view of the beach, as well as the breeze at the pool near it. The other pool, closer to the main buffet, is much busier during the day.
We spent most of our time at the beach because it was much cooler with the ocean breeze. There were plenty of palapas, as well as natural shade from palm and other trees and bushes. We were always able to find loungers and a table. The sand is so white and always walkable, no matter how hot it got.
The grounds are so beautiful... I don't think I've ever seen so many palm trees on one property! It was really great walking around all the resorts... we definitely got in enough exercise for a relaxing vacation!
The staff were mostly nice, but nothing beyond that. They certainly weren't trying to bend over backward for you like I was used to from other resorts and most of them barely spoke a word of English! They even approached you in full-blown, fast Spanish! It's a good thing I have some grasp of basic Spanish, or we would have been in trouble at times!
All in all, a pretty good relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: Most rooms have the jacuzzi tub in the main area, with the toilet and shower behind a minimal door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HotPinkBikini12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Spent a couple days at the Grand Palladium Punta Cana and here are my thoughts. It is very big. It's three resorts in one (Punta Cana, Bavaro, and Palace) so unless you are really into walking you have to take the (cho cho) train from place to place. The train takes the longest route so sometimes walking is faster. If you a cute lady, you can sometime flag down a bell boy in a buggie to also take you where you need to go. The rooms are very spacious, very clean, and most have jacuzzi tubs (bring your mister bubble). The main buffet at the Punta Cana had a great variety of food. There are 8 al la cartes Trattoria Mare Nostrum, El Quijote, Bamboo, La Cantina Mariachi, El Arrecife, La Uva, Rodizio, Suptuori, cuisine ranging from Mexican to Chinese to Italian, and Japanese. We tried the Japanese restaurant where you can either eat at the sushi bar, the al la carte or the Tappenyaki show tables ... three dining experiences in one! Food was good, presentation of sushi was better than the taste and they give you A LOT. If you like leche, the leche dessert was fantastic. We also tried the Spanish restaurant. The decor is beautiful, the food was so so. Spa is gorgeous, fitness centre needs work. The equipment was dated. Entertainment is good. The BEST Michael Jackson show that I've seen so far lol (and I've seen a lot). They have two Michael's!!! The main pool at Punta Cana is huge and they have a few smaller one's also. The children's pool was amazing, I think the kids would love it. They are about to open a new kids club, so we got a sneak peep. Parents ... you may not be able to get your kids to leave. They have a rock climbing wall, zipline, indoors they have a mini theatre, nap room, little tables and flat screen tvs. It is a kids club paradise!!!! The beach is beautiful, white sand that Punta Cana is know for and plenty of space to sun. The sea was a little choppy, but that is not uncommon for Punta Cana. The staff is fantastic. Everyone has a great attitude and are ready to serve. They engage you at every moment. That is probably why we met people that have been coming back to the resort 15 and 20 times. Something has to be said for that.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank urbantravelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Let me first off start with other than the one problem we had that I will discuss below, this resort was great!! We had stayed at the Riu before and a few years back we stayed at the Bavaro section of this complex. Food was great - drinks were plentiful and the service in all areas was good as well (wait staff, animation team etc) Our Westjet rep in the lobby also was quite helpful.........now for the glitch....we were there Wednesday to Wednesday. On the Sunday evening after a rainstorm we went to our room and started to get into bed, the pillow and mattress were soaked - an obvious leak in the ceiling although we could not see it coming in as the rain stopped. We left if for the night and just slept in the other bed. Monday morning I went and spoke to the Westjet rep - he said he would speak to the front desk ( and I knew he would) at this point, I was requesting new pillows, possibly a mattress depending on how they deemed the damage. Later in the day both my husband and I went up (separately) and asked again that something be done. Nothing was done I decided to leave it, as we only had a couple days left and was assuming they would have gone and assessed/repaired the leak. On Tuesday after another rain, we went to the room and at this point, we could see the rain coming in from the crack in the wall - bed was soaked, light was flickering on and off (probably not to safe). I went to the front desk and brought up the night manager and a maintenance guy just so they could see what I was talking about - at this point they asked us if we wanted to change rooms - NO since it was 1 a.m. The following day (our last day) I spoke to Westjet who had informed me that when he spoke to them on the Sunday - they assured him that they would come and speak to us about changing rooms - I let him know this was not done and we did not have a conversation with anyone. So.....would I return to this resort again? Probably. Would I do things differently and do I have have a suggestion? Yes - go and speak to management if nothing is done and ask to change rooms if there is a problem with your room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank fraser001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

We are very sorry about this experience, we will take this comments very seriously in order to improve our service., Thanks to write !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the Royal Turquesa at this resort from Nov.19-26, 2011 and had quite a few problems including poor internet, no towels for 2 days, one day without hot water, one day without cold water, broken bathroom door that took 3 days to repair. When I brought this to the attention of management they were not interested. The Chantrelle restaurant and the staff were the best part of the stay along with the beach! 5 star resort and price with 3 star amenities!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gailhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This resort is beautiful. The rooms were clean. The beach has white sand and it stretches forever. Pool area is very nice and the food was delicious.
The casino has a table called progressive roulette and my spouse and i were conned... i will not get into detail about how much, but it was terrible. The guy running the table kept ordering us drinks - told the girls to "keep them coming (drinks).
The hotel did nothing to help us, they would not talk to us, they only FINALLY met with us 1 day before we had to go home. I know it was not the Resort's fault however I feel that they should not allow a game like that on their property for their guests to be conned like that.

I will never go back to a Grand Palladium.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We went there with another couple and went to check in. Was very busy and that is understandable. We got our keys and walked to our rooms as the shuttle golf carts were busy. They said (twice) that we were next but it didn't work out that way. When we opened the door to the rooms (bottom floor even though we wanted the upper floors,) we were greated by a very musty and damp rooms. I was OK with mine but the ther coupls room was worse, much worse. We went back up to the check in and by this time the crowds were gone. There was 3 staff behind the counter serving 3 guests. We waited patiently, Finally 2 of the staff were free. They would not even look up at us! I said excuse me several times but still no response. Then 2 very good looking young women walked up and the brought the staff to full attention. I said again excuse me and was totally ignored. We finally got the attention of another staff member and explained the condition of 1 of the rooms. After arguing they finally exchanges the other couples room to an upper floor just above us. The staff at the counter were extremely rude. We got settled in and went to get our beach towels. There were a few left but very musty. Then we had rain. The rain filled our front landing (lower floor) and flooded our entry way just inside the door.

This resort 3 sections. We were at the Grand Palladium Punta Cana. It was next to impossible to get any service unless you spoke spanish. Everytime we would go to the bar or the front desk if someone came up who spoke spanish the staff would not serve you right away or turn their backs on you.

I usually do not have lunch but decided I would have a hamburger from the beach restaurant. Worst this I ever did! A few hours later as we were heading up for supper I felt something coming on and my stomach started gurgling. I just made it back to our room. I laid on the floor in the bathroom for the next 10 hours.

We did not like the service so we walked to one of the other sections and found there was a difference. We actually found a wonderful person (waiter) and we still miss her. She was amazing!!

Would I go back! Not to the Grand Palladium Punta Cana......

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mosherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
0.7 km away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
TRS Turquesa Hotel
TRS Turquesa Hotel
#43 of 113 in Punta Cana
6,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 113 in Punta Cana
13,427 reviews
2.8 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
1.7 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $270 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino & Royal Suites. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Punta Cana (excluding the Royal Suites). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing