We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,255)
Filter reviews
11,255 results
Traveller rating
5,248
3,226
1,486
702
593
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,248
3,226
1,486
702
593
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden grill club diamond a la carte restaurants main buffet karaoke bar bbq restaurant closer to the beach main pool seafood guest services thomas cook large resort dominican republic steak beach pool other resorts el pescador
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 11,255 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks and the hotel is lovely and very clean, the weather was amazing and the are around 8-9 restaurants you can also book to eat in if you fancy a different scene from the all inclusive buffet and this was free of charge. My favourite one to visit was the bbq one. The beach is lovely and the pool areas are really good the staff are great. Would go again and stay here cause there was nothing to fault , also has different entertainment areas.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MissP96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel.

We sincerely appreciate all feedbacks.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro and continue providing the nicest relaxing vacations accompanied of our lovely beach, clean room, good food, and pleasant personnel.

Please do not hesitate to contact us through our email: info.fantasiapuntacana@bahia-principe.com for any assistance.

Best regards,

Bolivar Arias
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Amazing hotel, delicious food, anything you wish for!
The rooms are big and spacious, very clean. the beach is astonishing, the staff is welcoming and polite! There are a lot of excursions to book in the lobby, very happy with the time we spend there!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Antoaneta Stani... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Antoaneta,

It is a pleasure to know that our Hotel is a perfect place to enjoy or relax thanks to the amazing hotel, delicious food, welcoming and polite staff.

We hope to have you again with us!

Please do not hesitate to contact us again by email: info.fantasiapuntacana@bahia-principe.com for more assistance.

Best regards,

Bolivar Arias
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Sorry it's took so long to write this review but it's not a happy customer one we had been at this hotel before in 2012 had a fab holiday and decided that we would return and take friends with us on our recommendation well wished we hadn't bothered i know we had 5 days of backlash from hurricane bud but the hotel was not big enough for everyone to get in lobby area the rain was on and off and for 5 days they closed the pool bars even when there was no wind so as far as al inclusive went it wasn't on a number of occasions i was stood at food counter and they bought food out of kitchen while I stood there and it was stone cold straight from the kitchen the food in the buffet restaurant was un editable so we could not eat on an evening we went to ala carte and our meals were not cooked the pork well a vet would have had it running down the beach the drinks well we never had 2 drinks the same in 2 wks so glad I took a bottle of courvoiser brandy with me and my husband Jack Daniels if you went to the bar yourself you were ignored by staff so they could serve the people who sat at the bar and tipped them air conditioning in our room had a problem with water cascading in the wardrobe and soaked all out clothes which guest relations had laundered for us and upon check out my husband was told we owed 1800 peso and it took a while to say no it was down to the hotel making people stare thinking we had no money to pay our bill the pool that we were at the jet people reps constantly played loud bang bang music and if it wasn't in French we had to listen to a barrage of swearing in songs with people who had young children in the pool listening to it when we complained the French reps told us we shouldn't be at that pool because we were thomas cook customers i don't think so we paid for that hotel so we could use any pool we wanted to we were charged another £120.00 by thomas cook to up grade to a junior suite the rooms were all the same so don't bother just another scam by thomas cook and the hotel to get more money out of you the meals on the plane were awful dried out and should of just been put straight in the bin breakfast coffee on our return flight was colder than the cold water cups they give you would i return no would i book thomas cook again we had already booked for next year but no more after that and we have been customers of thomas cook for 25 years

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank busterloveinblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear Guests,

We sincerely regret any inconvenience you have experienced at the airport and if because you felt you did not receive the service you deserve.

Please, let me inform you that the situations mentioned with the travel agency are not frequent, as the hotel has nothing to do with this.

Please do not hesitate to contact us through our email: info.bavaro@bahia-principe.com for any assistance.

Best regards,

Bolivar Arias
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

This was to be our last big family holiday with our daughter who is now 18 and our son 15. Next year she will go her own way. Unfortunately it really wasn’t the best holiday for them as all they wanted to do was go on their phones and tablets, and the WiFi is terrible. This sparked no end of moans and complaints from both of them and diluted the enjoyment for us.

Rooms-spotlessly clean, cleaned every day, but dated and worn. We had 2 adjoining rooms and the bath in one was so worn the enamel was dull and rough with chips in places. Lighting was poor so I was unable to read once it was dark outside. Beds were comfortable and massive

Facilities-we always go all inclusive and the food was plentiful, if a bit repetitive. A la carte restaurants were lovely. However, there were no poolside snack facilities other than at the very busy beachside pool. None of the other pools had any food, only drinks. This is a huge complex of 7 hotels and working out where to go and which bits you were allowed to use was frustrating. There was no information in the room and all you were given is a map. The trolly buses are good, taking you around the complex as it’s a lot of walking in fierce heat otherwise.

Reception-not good. We had major problems on arrival with keycards not working, and repeated visits back and forward to reception to fix them. Took 4 visits till the key finally worked by which time I was exhausted with the heat, tired and grumpy fro a long day travelling. This happened again during our stay when the key just stopped working again. Reception is very busy and some staff are friendly and helpful, some are not.

Pools-scattered throughout the resort, but nothing to tell you what’s happening where. All a bit sporadic with an Aqua class springing up from time to time, a poolside bbq or a sing a long. But lots of beds and lovely pool.

Beach-lots of beds, lovely white sand, but heaps and heaps of seaweed! There is a whole squad out every morning piling it up and taking it away in a truck. Sea was lovely to swim in once you got past the seaweed.

General-mosquitos were terrible and we all got bitten alive. We commented on this on an app and next day had a letter through our door and a phone call from the hotel asking how they could resolve this, and offering to spray the room down. Great response and it did help but we had to go out to the shopping centre near the airport to go to the pharmacy for medicines etc. We probably bought everything they had you could throw at a mosquito-$50!

WiFi-free in the lobby but poor. We paid to have access in our rooms(to appease the teenagers) but it was also terrible and extortionate ($60 for 7 days for 4 devices)and after 4 days it stopped allowing 4, only 2. We did try and complain at reception but with no joy.

Location-this is very much a self contained resort of hotels with very little else nearby. So unless you are prepared to pay big money for the organised trips(there are many but they are expensive) you won’t see much of the country.

So, overall we thought it was just OK. We did enjoy it but wouldn’t go back.

We have stayed at the Bahia hotel in Tenerife a few times and it was much better, no mosquitos, shorter flight.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank ElliemScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, which gives us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

We feel glad to know that you spent a great time with us and thank you very much for highlighting our good services, good food, clean rooms, comfortable and massive beds.

We invite you to visit us again and do not hesitate to contact us through our email: info.bavaro@bahia-principe.com

Best regards,

Bolivar Arias
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018

When we first arrived at this resort we were a little overwhelmed with its size, but after a good nights sleep and a fab breakfast this was all forgotten.
This place is awesome, all the staff cannot do enough for you. Nothing is any trouble this is from reception to cleaning, restaurant and entertainments.
The Micheal Jackson show is well worth a visit as well as the most beautiful Soana Island (where Tom Hanks Castaway was filmed). We really need to go back soon

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pools near the italian restaurant
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manjit4400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro for your trip to the Dominican Republic and please be assured that it is a great compliment to read that this have been your great trip. It is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our Resort.

Looking forward to seeing you soon! You are welcome to contact us for any further assistance info.bavaro@bahia-principe.com

Best regards,

Adriana Peguero
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews