We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
31 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$210
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$191
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Lol.travel
US$210
US$138
View deal
SAVE US$72
Agoda.comUS$191
Hotels.comUS$210
eDreamsUS$191
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,565)
Filter reviews
13,565 results
Traveller rating
9,006
2,803
1,021
363
372
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9,006
2,803
1,021
363
372
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond club dips pool bar martini bar sands beach bar gourmet marche hunters steak house memories splash travel smart hunter steakhouse zen restaurant adult only pool sister hotel family vacation sports bar butler service buffet restaurant time share
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10,369 - 10,374 of 13,565 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

As long haul travellers from the UK and as many others have stated we were concerned about the feedback and poor reviews on TA over the last few months but we had absolutely nothing to worry about, this place is pretty wonderful!

We booked two swim up suite rooms (1430 and 1426) which automatically upgraded us to the Diamond club facilities, our swim up suite was front facing the Diamond beach area and was large and perfect, the only downside was it didn't attract any sun at all but our other one did around the side in the afternoon but hey the beach was feet away!

Food - absolutely perfect, the a la carte restaurants were superb, we only ate in the buffet one night and spent the rest of the time hopping between the Mediterranean, Italian and steak house - as we eat early as a family we experienced no waiting for anything. We booked the oriental one night and the food was superb, the cooking, chopping and showcase from the chef is not to be missed - mind your fingers. We highly recommend the Mediterranean for lunch, it serves lobster, clams, mussels and shrimp the size of your foot - outstanding sea food!

Beach - soft white sand, clear warm ocean, plenty of sports on the beach or if you want to pay for paragliding and banana boat rides. The only downside is as many have said, all the beach chairs, cabanas and Bali beds are pre booked with towels, shoes, clothes, kids, and just about anything else that can be left really early, because our room overlooked the beach I saw a guy at 05.00 out laying down his towels - clearly by order....on our last day the beach staff were removing reserved items from beds before breakfast which caused a stir but actually it was fair.

The bars were great, served premium drinks and the staff were funny, polite and helpful, we used the diamond club lounge a few times for afternoon snacks, hours d'oeuvres and cakes, the kids loved it.

This hotel definitely has the extras, a casino, martini bar a superb coffee shop serving cakes and ice cream and a dedicated sports bar which saw some action as the Winter Olympics were in full swing.

Overall, our opinion is that this is a pretty great hotel, it is making improvements daily, there were new chairs, furniture and features arriving by the day, if I were to make some comments for improvement it would be to provide more cabanas and Bali beds with shade on the beach particularly if you have children as it gets pretty hot (and this was winter)

The staff overall were the best memories for us, they couldn't help you enough and nothing was too much trouble. I think this hotel will be top of the charts in Punta Cana before long and I think we're definitely coming back........

Room tip: Diamond club swim up suites are outstanding.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PeteNook333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear PeteNook333,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Royalton Punta Cana not only for your wonderful comments that you have had about our team, but also for taking the time to share your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We are really glad to hear your comments about the impression of our hotel. Reading your comments help us to know that our decisions are in the good way to give our guests the best possible experience. Your comments about the attitude of the staff will be shared with the objective to motivate to continue with the best quality and guest satisfaction.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.
Best greetings,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel with friendly staff who always say hello. (Or Hola!)
Very relaxing around the resort and rooms were comfortable.
Any thing we needed sorting out was done very quickly and to a good standard.
Our butler, Escarli was very helpful and friendly and checked on us regularly to see if we needed anything. Definitely would recommend this service.
There is a huge selection of restaurants and there was a good selection of food on the menus to choose from. Although we only really went to the buffet for breakfast, there was a really good selection of foods from cooked breakfasts to fresh fruit. Brayan was the chef in charge of the omelette station who worked very quickly to get through the queue of guests but again was very friendly and would always say hello! And of course, the eggs and omelettes were delicious!
The staff in the lobby and diamond club were very welcoming and willing to meet guests needs as well as being friendly and cheerful. In particular, Kenia, from the lobby bar who was lovely and again another friendly staff member to chat to and provided excellent service, keeping our drinks topped up when required and bringing us snacks.
Although the hotel water park is small, we spent the morning there and had lots of fun. There was Plenty of shade to cool off in too, something that is essential in the hot weather!
Overall, the holiday was relaxing and we had a really lovely time. Although there seem to be some bad reviews out there, the hotel is going from strength to strength each day due to the hard work of the staff. Would definitely recommend the royalton! :-)

Date of stay: February 2014
3  Thank Emmaandbertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Emmaandbertie,

Firstly, the entire team of Royalton Punta Cana want to thank you for sharing your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We are really happy to read words as nice as yours. To know that our staff and service have exceeded your expectations encourages us to keep working day by day to maintain this proposal of high level that we want to achieve.

We will be glad to welcome you back again. We are at your disposal for anything you need.
Best greetings,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We just got back from a week vacation Feb 14-21. Our family (7 of us) all had a wonderful time, and we travel a lot! We almost cancelled this trip due to the terrible reviews we read, but are so glad that we all decided to go anyway. The rooms are very clean and the furnishings are modern. The beds are so comfy! The food was excellent! Our favourite was the steak house where we ate a couple of times. We always went to the restaurants as soon as they opened and we never had to wait to get in. And we had 7 people at a table. Our server at the steakhouse realized it was my birthday and all the staff came out with instruments and sang and gave me a cake with my name on it. It was great energy and made my day!
We had breakfast buffet every morning, and a few times at dinner. LOVED the staff! Big hugs to Nuryse. We miss her already! She took good care of our family every morning and at dinner. Very sweet lady! Also big shout out to Aldo as well. They all felt like a part of our family!
The pool area was great! Thank you Franklin for taking good care of those PH levels!!, :) Franklin takes great pride in his job which was so lovely to see. We didn't get to see him before we left to thank him, so hopefully he reads this! (The family that gave you the candy hearts for your baby)
The beach was defiantly crowded, so if you are a beach person get your seat early.
Lots of shops, casino, and entertainment were all entertaining.
The only negative thing I have to say, is that when we checked in, they had 4 of us somehow assigned to one room. Not sure how that happened, but the room had 1 bed In It and a leather pull out day bed. That would not have worked. They did change it. Also my sister and her husband and 24 year old daughter were also assigned a room with 1 bed.I spoke to the Sunwing rep (Andrew) the next morning and he got their room changed to 2 double beds. So word of warning!!! When you check in and you require 2 beds, ASK the question BEFORE leaving that front desk, otherwise as soon as they assign you the room you will be waiting until the next day.
Also, for anyone with mobility issues, the tile floor is VERY SLIPPERY when wet, even the path going to your rooms. We witnessed many people and children falling. Wear good shoes when walking around the resort.
Otherwise, no problems, just a wonderful vacation. So if you are thinking of coming here, don't hesitate because of bad reviews. Things are running very smoothly there and you will have a good time.

Room tip: There are no elevators and the buildings are 3 story. If you aren't able to walk up the stairs, ask for ground floor rooms while checking in.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Krissy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Krissy2013,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Royalton Punta Cana not only for your wonderful comments that you have had about our team, but also for taking the time to share your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We are really glad to hear your comments about the impression of our hotel. Reading your comments help us to know that our decisions are in the good way to give our guests the best possible experience. Your comments about the attitude of the staff will be shared with the objective to motivate to continue with the best quality and guest satisfaction.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.
Best greetings,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Excellent service, fantastic beach, exceeded expectations. We were upgraded to a honeymoon suite...diamond club. Service was over and above, especially service from Cristian Bautista. He made sure we had everything we needed, even made sure our toddler had milk for her bottle! These trips aren't something we do often, but when they turn out like this it makes you want to go back.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Sean S.,

Firstly, the entire team of Royalton Punta Cana want to thank you for sharing your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We are really happy to read words as nice as yours. To know that our staff and service have exceeded your expectations encourages us to keep working day by day to maintain this proposal of high level that we want to achieve.

We will be glad to welcome you back again. We are at your disposal for anything you need.
Best greetings,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Every year I make it a point to escape for a "just for me" girls trip with my sister or friend(s). This year, after being away from Punta Cana for 5 years, it was time to return. My girlfriend & I stayed at the Royalton from Feb 15-22, and I did not want to leave!

I've been to several resorts in my previous 5 trips to Punta Cana, and this one was easily the best. The upgrade to Diamond Club was a no-brainer, and I highly recommend doing it, as the service was spectacular.

From my perspective, the absolute best thing about the Royalton is the quality of their staff. We only met one person on staff who could have used an attitude adjustment, and luckily we only encountered him one time, and who knows, maybe he was having an off-day.

So - some details:
Check-in - Smooth and easy - we were welcomed by the Bellboy team as if we were long lost friends, our luggage was set aside and we were escorted to the Diamond Lounge where we were promptly seated, provided with a mimosa and checked in. We were introduced to Christian P who was our assigned butler, along with Theodore. Christian gave us a quick tour, showing us through the main lobby, SPA, theatre and restaurants before escorting us to our room.

Room was positively spa-like - we felt like we had been dropped from our crazy hectic lives into a peaceful oasis. We didn't notice anything wrong in our room that had been reported in other reviews. There is still construction going on -- a couple of rooms on our floor (3rd floor) were in the process of being finished but there was never any noise or disturbance as a result of it.

We spent next to no time at the pool - and almost all of it on the beach. After all, we can get pools at home. As other reviewers have said, the beach is fantastic --- 100 kms of beautiful white sand. The waves were a little higher than I remembered, and there was some body surfing going on. Ocean was a little cooler than I'd expected, but after sitting in the sun, it was a welcome respite.

The Diamond Beach Bar - fantastic! Freshly blended juice concoctions for Diamond Club every morning till 11:30 am. Lunch delivered to your Bali bed/palapa/beach chair if you wanted it. Great service from everyone - especially Yerical Tejada. & Luis Miguel who looked out for us every day. By the 2nd day, we were well on the way to being "familia". On our first day on the beach, Jose P. & Santiago R. - who were the butlers assigned to the Diamond Beach for that day, were walking around with lovely cool fruit skewers --- "vitamins" for everyone. Even when we were in transition between ocean and Bali bed, if we stopped at the bar to grab a drink, we were quickly sent back to relax with a "we're at your service" and shortly thereafter, the drink and a smile would be delivered. As a working mother, it was fantastic to be the one who was able to just sit back and have someone else take care of me. I'm usually the one who takes care of everyone else.

Three recommendations:
1) Decide on a policy surrounding reservations of Bali beach beds and/or palapas and stick to it. Our first 3 days at the beach, we were not lucky enough to get a Bali bed, and soon discovered that people were up at 5 am to reserve the bed. So .. we figured .. if you can't beat them, join them. So my girlfriend woke up the next morning at 5:15, and was downstairs at 5:45, and snagged the very last bed. We enjoyed the day relaxing in comfort on the Bali bed. The next day, I was up at 4:45, ran down in PJs and had the pick of all 9. I went back up and went back to sleep. We woke up, had breakfast and were downstairs by 9:45, only to discover that they'd changed the policy that day. The policy said that if there was no-one at the bed with their belongings by 7 am when the shift started, the butlers would clear off the belongings and the beds could be claimed by someone else. Not only that, but once claimed, you had to stay on the bed until 9 am and then you could go off for breakfast if you told the butler where you were going. So basically I woke up at 4:30 and had our belongings removed at 7 am. This change in policy was not communicated to the guests - which is my beef. Anyway, no big deal, we're on vacation anyway, we weren't about to make a big fuss about it. And in any event, we ended up with a bed at around 11 am as a family with a small child decided to leave early.

SO fine, on our very last day, we got up at 7 am and went down only to find that there was no butler in sight, and all the beds had been reserved again and many of them were not occupied as was required. So .. this time, I decided to call the Diamond club lobby, and they sent a butler down who cleared off the belongings. Today's policy however, was that you couldn't leave until 9 am, and only for 1/2 hr. Really? 1/2 an hour? To eat breakfast, or go for a walk or swim? That didn't seem to make much sense to us. We actually cancelled our spa appointments so that we could hang out on the beach without losing our Bali bed. I think the policy should be set, everyone should be told what it is, and then just stick to it. C'est tout!

2) Add more palapas --- shade is at a premium - so if you're not careful with reapplying sunscreen, this would not be great. We saw more than a few red lobsters.

3) We'd love to see Royalton have dedicated Non-Smoking rooms. My friend has a serious smoke allergy where her breathing passages constrict if she's in a room where people have smoked. We were lucky on this trip as the Royalton is a new hotel, but chances are that if they don't mandate non-smoking rooms as other chains/resorts do, she'd never be able to come back here again.

Restaurants:
Marche Buffet - fabulous food for a resort buffet --- delicious food, fantastic service. Best service we had came from Yris Santana., Jesus, Nelson & Aneuris Feliz. The girls at the front were friendly and so sweet.
Hunter - best of the a la carte's -- so much so that we went twice - great service from Aneudi & Jose (who looks like Jay-Z).
Zen (Japanese) & Opa (Mediterranean) - the food was good but I think I almost preferred Marche.
Under the Sea - food was disappointing, but service was great - thank you Lonni & Carolina (at the door)

So - back to the Diamond Club service -- totally worth the upgrade. Our assigned butlers Cristian Batista & Theodore delivered everything we asked for and came to check on us. The first day, we had a bit of a kerfuffle getting hold of Cristian, so he gave us his cell number, and I would send him whatsap text messages when we'd decided on dinner reservations (Diamond Club can reserve at the a la cartes though reservations are not required). Thank you Royalton for free Wi-Fi. The other butlers - Jose Placencia., Santiago Rosario., Angel Perez would check on us as well and make sure we were happy and never needed for anything. Really - how could you not be happy with sunshine, sand, ocean and smiling faces surrounding you??? Marta, Smerlyng, Nailea & Thapenes at the Diamond Lounge were great as well.

On our last evening Jose P. walked us over to the Memories side of the resort, and we had ice-cream & coffee while listening to the great live band playing in the square. We finished off our evening at the Diamond Lounge talking to Cristian & Jose, as well as a couple of other guests. A final cocktail at the lobby bar, and we finished off our vacation.

A quick check-out the next day at the Diamond Club lounge, along with promises to return. One day soon hopefully, this time with my husband & son.

Thank you Royalton & the Diamond Club for a memorable vacation.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelLover_4_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear TravelLover_4_Life,

First of all, thank you so much for selecting Royalton Punta Cana for your holidays, it is a big pleasure to read this wonderful opinion about our hotel. And of course, thanks for sharing it on Trip Advisor.

We are very proud to know that your last experience at Royalton Punta Cana, exceeded your expectations. As you know our principal goal is to give you our best service, make your vacation exclusive and unforgettable. Your comments will help us with our continuing effort to assure our Guest Satisfaction.

We hope you visit us again next year. We will be very pleased to welcome you.
Best greetings,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews