We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,614)
Filter reviews
3,614 results
Traveller rating
1,381
1,183
638
245
167
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,381
1,183
638
245
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sports bar courtyard view main buffet buffet style jerk chicken hut quiet pool steak asian restaurant foam party liquor dispenser new section every other day specialty restaurants nachos scuba caribe spring breakers an adults only resort
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 3,614 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

This was our first trip to the Dominican first impressions were good the hotel was massive very clean staff were great some spoke good English some not at all but never really a problem. The pools were clean considering there are pool bars that not many people ever got out throughout the day food the buffet was big and lots of choice and very good but the food was the same daily due to having 7 restaurants so we trues the Chinese one night that was not very good at all then another night we had the Indian that was not to bad but not for me then we decided to stick to the buffet until our last night when we went to the Italian wow this was lovely wish I went on the first night. The brace is a short walk down the complex and it’s beautiful the gardeners are there early to burry the sea weed and clean up over all great holiday for the price great weather just a huge hotel rooms are lovely and clean mini bar as well get topped up every 2 days would go back for the weather

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Hotel is new, nice, and clean. Rooms are large and clean.
Bar stuff is friendly, other employees rarely greet you when passing by. It seems to me that way more than half of guests were English speaking and staff should learn at least basic English words.
There are always free sun beds and shade on the beach and pools. The beach is nice, but due to Atlantic side, sea is always rough. For me a big minus is no wifi on the beach except at one side. The rest of the hotel has very good wifi in every spot. Pool-lovers have 8 pools to enjoy.
Food is delicious, not biggest choice, but every day different and lots of fish. Very satisfied with food. You can’t reserve restaurants, it’s first come-first serve.
Evening shows and entertainment team were way below average, however there are many different bars and a pub to spend time.
Real pain was that our keys were every day decoded and we had to waste our time by going to reception desk. They would’ve always asked if we kept it close to electronic devices. Some other guests had the same problem. I spoke with reception manager and he promised to send a technician right away, which never happened.
Overall this hotel is good value for money.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Caesar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Got there and all was nice. We got one great room. Clean beautiful ocean view. We are from U.S.A. And very little English. The food was a real looser in my eyes. Pools and ocean an extreme plus at this resort. If you like large crowds it’s for you. Lots of booze and all you want led to some late night drunks. As we were leaving a drunk seemed to kick a door down but security had him in cuffs in seconds so I felt safe at the resort. Punta Cana also has a lot to do at low prices.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank sawders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Republica, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a valued feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. As a service minded hotel chain, we place great importance on providing our guests with unforgettable experiences so we deeply appreciate your compliments on the cleanliness and the views over the ocean.

We hope you will choose to visit one of our worldwide RIU hotels again and give us the chance to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Republica
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Riu Republica is a beautiful hotel! Staff is extremely friendly. The rooms are beautiful, grounds are lush and green. Everything is extremely clean. The outdoor spaces are cleaned and mopped every morning. The pool areas are beautiful and well kept.
I actually do have two complaints....drinks were watered down, I’ve never been able to drink more than one vodka and tonic....FIVE had no effect. The food was just OK. A medium are steak had no pink inside, desserts weren’t great. Pasta in the Italian restaurant was way over cooked, eggplant parmigiana didn’t even resemble eggplant parmigiana.
Jerk chicken at the beach as juicy and delicious. The best meal was breakfast!

Room Tip: Ocean view
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Amy134305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here in October 2016 so the hotel was brand new then. Beautiful hotel that is huge! With the heat you've to prepare yourself for the walk from the pool to your room haha. The pool facilities are great only slight thing I would say would be if there could be another staff member taking drink orders at the pool it was just one man when we were there so he was under a little pressure to keep everyone happy.
Many different places to choose from to eat everyday. There was always something for everyone. And it was always nice. Staff where all friendly and helpful especially when you get to know them. Would definitely go back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Jorden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews