We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan Escape”

Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Pink and white building made to RESEMBLE a typical Grenadian home (it is not an actual place of residence, only made to look like one). Located on the left hand side if you are traveling from St. George's, across the street from the marina's entrance. Outdoor dining, indoor lounge area being redesigned.
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

Looking for vegan or vegetarian dining options on Grenada is very hard, but Patrick’s is the answer. Great options (we had the large began dish), fresh and beautifully tasty - some local spices in there.

Friendliest staff we’ve yet met on the island.

1  Thank dhkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerry_alyssa, Manager at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Thank you so much! We plan on expanding our vegan options further. Hope you will revisit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 383 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

We had the chance to meet the chef after our meal and she was a darling. But that being said, being that it is a local restaurant we expected to see more locals eating at the restaurant but it was only tourist. So it felt like a bit of a tourist trap. However the tapas is a very unique dish and u will get to try a lot of the local foods in just one night!

1  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerry_alyssa, Manager at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

We're only just starting to get our locals to dine more often.
Patrick, the original owner was a very flamboyant man, not something people were too fond of, and the stigma lingered for years.
That being said, there are times during the year when we get many locals, like Carnival.

Ultimately, Patrick's is here for all people who enjoy or would like to experience local Grenadian cuisine. Some locals would rather try something different, and usually gravitate to pizza or burgers....things they didn't grow up eating :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018

Patrick's is a local place that offers up traditional Grenadian cuisine in an unpretentious atmosphere. We were told ahead of time to order the "tasting menu" and that was right on. We tried 20 samples of homemade Grenadian dishes brought out in a staggered fashion by our server. They are just tastes so do not expect large portions. By the way, this was some of the best service we had- she was friendly and kept the food coming steadily once it started. They had local music playing the night we went which was an added treat. The only disappointment was dessert- they only had vanilla ice cream. Be warned about the complimentary after dinner drink- it is potent! This a must-do dinner while in Grenada if for nothing else that you get to experience so many different types of native cuisine.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Corkdork73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerry_alyssa, Manager at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you! You were able to get the live band, nice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous home style cooking by Karen. Great and personal service with a genuine interest in whether we enjoyed the food. We can highly recommend the extensive tapas menu which gives you the opportunity to try a seasonal selection of goodies; favourites being oildown (dumpling stew) and lambie (conch). Ian was also very keen on the rum punch ;-) - thank you for giving us our best meal in Grenada

1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerry_alyssa, Manager at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

And thank YOU for dining with us. I'm so glad you enjoyed the experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Enjoyed the mixed tapas, mostly caribbean, with some friends. Outstandingly 'refreshing' rum punch ensured we forgot everything! Callaloo soup was the highlight, but all dishes were pleasant enough, if slightly unexciting. The service, in particular, was exceptionally friendly and attentive. It is the quality of our waitress, rather than the food, which has brought the rating up to Very Good. Easily accessible. Reasonable pricing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AngusBearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerry_alyssa, Manager at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

I'm thankful that you were able to have a favorable visit, and that you at least enjoyed the soup and our rum punch. While we aim to please (in terms of the food ), we do understand we cannot please everyone. Definitely appreciate your business. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
 
Sauteurs, Saint Patrick Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing