We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A bit of a mixture!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casabella Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casabella Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 19 St. George's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A bit of a mixture!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Odessa and Ray are a lovely couple who have only recently opened their B&B. Ray picked us up from the airport and Odessa made us dinner as we arrived in the evening which was great. There were however a couple of surprises / disappointments – the bathroom was not en-suite, as it happened we were the only guests but it would not be so good if the place was full. The hot water was a bit intermittent, 3 days out of 5 there was no hot water in the morning. Finally, although we were not particularly fussed, breakfast was “continental” and cooked breakfast was charged extra for. Odessa does make very good porridge.
Did we have a good stay – yes we did, it is very much like the traditional B&B where you stay in someones house – as Odessa and Ray have spent most of their working lives in Canada the place is beautifully furnished and equipped to high North American standards. The location, and views from the breakfast terrace were very good

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
37
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Casa Bella Bed and Breakfast is an amazing place to stay! Having already stayed in an hotel in St Georges, I found this place to be above and beyond. The owners Odessa and Ray were absolutely incredible and I cannot wait to go and stay again. They were very welcoming and made sure my stay was very enjoyable!
The room I stayed in was of a superb standard and had plenty of storage for belongings. The bed and breakfast is located in Lance aux Epines and down the street there is a lovely little beach in Prickly Bay within easy walking distance. At the very tip of the island in Lance aux Epines is an excellent viewpoint where you can admire most of the island of Grenada. Grand Anse Beach is a short car drive, or for the healthy you can walk there.


Have no hesitations, this is the place to book, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Some rooms have air conditioning and some dont, so if you want one with it then request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emmashakira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George's, Grenada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Casa Bella bed and breakfast has bar-none been the best experience my fiancée and I have had at a B&B much less a hotel.

My fiancée is attending school at SGU. Ray and Odessa provided the utmost comfort we needed for our first foray in leaving out of country. It made our transition unbelievably easier than it could have been.

Our flight was over an hour late; our luggage took at least 30-45 minutes longer than it should have, and we had about an extra half hour delay between immigration and customs. On top of that, we were blind and missed Ray holding up a sign with our name on it for at least an additional half hour. Despite it all, he was there, ready and waiting and happy to help us load up our luggage and bring us to their home.

Their home is immaculate; from the beautiful hardwood and tile floors to the amazingly high ceilings, you can't help but be in awe. The property itself has countless fruit trees and fresh vegetables that are often intermingled with breakfast and other meals (which I would highly recommend you try at least one).

On the topic of food, you will be amazed by Odessa's signature juices made from fruit right off their land. They are absolutely delicious, and to be honest, something I am craving as I write this. I could go on and on about their mangos, breadfruit, plantains etc. etc. I'll just stop here to say they were nothing short of awesome.

Most importantly, Ray and Odessa provide more than a bite and a bed; they provide a home and the feeling of family. These are people you really enjoy getting to know. They are extremely generous and fun to be around.

Should you ever stay in Grenada, put this place on the top of your short list of places to stay. Hopefully you can get a room, because I will be recommending it to every family member that comes to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at the Casa Bella Bed and Breakfast for one night in July before embarking on our Island Windjammer cruise. Our host Ray met us at the airport when we arrived at 6:30 AM. Although we were missing a bag, he had no problem waiting with us and providing advice and contact phone numbers for the airline. The B&B was just a few minutes ride from the airport, and we were greeted by his wife Odessa, who had a delicious breakfast for us with fresh juice and fruits from their garden. After breakfast we were picked up by our tour guide for a prearranged tour around the island.

On returning to Casa Bella, Odessa made us some frozen cocktails to enjoy on the balcony overlooking the beautiful harbour and gardens. We then took a short walk to the lovely beach nearby, which was quiet but beautiful, and enjoyed a very relaxing swim.

We had planned to go out for dinner, but after a long day we decided instead to take advantage of Ray's offer to prepare us a fresh, local seafood dinner, which turned out to be an excellent choice! We enjoyed dinner and wine on the balcony while watching the sunset. After dinner, Ray and Odesa invited us to join them for a drink with some friends that were visiting, and we had a very enjoyable evening. We even got to try some home-made ginger beer!

After another delicious breakfast and relaxing morning, Ray drove us to the marina where we were to board our cruise. Later that afternoon, he even drove back again to hand deliver a message about our bag from the airline!

Ray and Odessa are a gracious and warm couple who make their guests feel like family. There was nothing more we could have wanted, except maybe just to stay for a few more nights!


-- Bruce & Tia

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocean2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed there for only one night, but I wish could've stayed longer! It's one of the best places I've ever stayed at, the owners Odessa & Ray make you feel at home... I was the only guest that night, and I really enjoyed the conversation with them in the kitchen and the tour of their garden - they have soo many flowers and fruit trees! They also gave me a ride to Grand Anse beach and picked me up from there later, plus the other beach is just a few minutes walking from the house. I had dinner and a late lunch there too and it was delicious. My favourite place of the house was the balcony upstairs, it's great for reading, relaxing, watching the sea and the sunset... I recommend this place to everyone who plans to spend their holiday in Grenada!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemissstrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Having read the other reviews, there is not much more I can add. Ray and Odessa are beautiful hosts and thier property is just extraordinary. Our only problem was that we could not stay longer.
Margie and I had just completed a week's sailing on a yacht down from Saint Lucia and we needed a place to stay for one night before catching a plane back to USA. Ray very generously came down to the marina in St George's and picked us up on the Sunday and the next morning after breakfast took us to the airport.
We ate in for the evening meal. The food was superb; as was the breakfast. The view from the balcony was most pleasant and relaxing.
Margie and I would very much like to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

I can't say enough about how great our stay at the Casa Bella was. Owners Ray & Odessa are fantastic hosts, and their B & B is absolutely beautiful.

Our room on the third floor was quiet, comfortable and equipped with AC. The bathroom next door was spotless, but the highlight for us was the balcony which overlooks the harbor.

Each morning we ate breakfast on the balcony and hung out for a while admiring the view, before setting off on the drive to the beach or St George's.

We were offered access to Ray and Odessa's Jeep, but neither my wife nor I can drive standard, so we opted to rent a car instead, which was all arranged by Odessa's niece, Avron(She was a great host as well while Ray & Odessa were unavailable)

The closest beach to Casa Bella is just a few minutes walk. It's pretty, and makes for a nice morning/evening stroll, but not much is going on there, so you're better off going to Grand Anse or Morne Rouge.

A few dining establishments are within walking distance including a Chinese food place and a seafood place call The Red Crab. We were told they were good, but we opted to walk a little farther to Charcoals, which was very good.

Ray & Odessa will also cook for you, with many of the ingredients coming right from their garden. One afternoon we had a delicious fish lunch accompanied by fresh veggies and a frozen Daiquiri which made sitting on the balcony that much better..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanmcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
1.3 km away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
0.4 km away
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel &...
#1 of 4 in Lance aux Epines
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.3 km away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.4 km away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
2.3 km away
Kalinago Beach Resort
Kalinago Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casabella Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casabella Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casabella Bed & Breakfast
Address: Humming Bird Lane | Lance Aux Epines, St. George's 01125, Grenada
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casabella Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning seven bedroom, three storey bed and breakfast located in the most fashionable community of Lance Aux Epines, Grenada, is the perfect setting for a quiet retreat or winter holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Casabella Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casabella Bed & Breakfast Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing