We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came for Happy Hour and left Happy”

Umbrellas Beach Bar
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in St. George's
Cuisines: American, International, Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Come kick back and relax under the shade of Umbrellas Beach Bar! The best beach bar located on Grenada's popular Grand Anse Beach. You can indulge in a variety of fresh foods, cold drinks and enjoy a fantastic ocean view from our outdoor, rooftop and indoor seating areas, in casual comfort. Umbrellas offers a fun and exciting atmosphere with the company of live music on Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings. Come chill and enjoy the Island Vibz!
Reviewed July 11, 2015

After an afternoon at BBC beach we decided to check out Grand Anse Beach. We sat around the beach until about 5 and then headed over to Umbrellas for some appetizers and drinks. I asked a beach bar authority called Beach Bar Bums online which beach bars were worth hitting up in Grenada and Umbrellas was on the top of his list. He was right. This place was bumping. The service was exceptional and we did not experience bad or un-enthused staff at all. We ordered drinks and as soon as they were empty the waitress was back to ask if we needed a refill. We ordered the Carriacou love-bites (highly recommend, they are so tender and the dipping sauce is amazing), the Carib beer battered shrimp and the sweet potato fries. I enjoyed a half dozen Caribs which were only $4 ec during happy hour. The girls had a hand full of blended drinks and some mixed drinks. We watched the sun set from the patio.
We also asked the waitress if they could change the music as they were playing top forty hits and we were in the mood for some Grenada music. The bar manager came over to our table and asked us about our request and the music was promptly changed to soca tunes. All the staff became a little more up beat after the music change.
If your in Grenada defiantly plan on making a stop at Umbrellas.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jay_eatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbrellasbar, Manager at Umbrellas Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2015

Hello jay_eatz,

Wow! Thank you for the fantastic 5 out of 5 review. We are absolutely thrilled to read all your positive comments about Umbrellas Beach Bar. We do our best to ensure our guests are provided with great food, service and atmosphere.

We have most definitely communicated your feedback to our team!

Thank you,

Umbrellas Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,618 - 1,622 of 2,436 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2015

Food and drink were great. Server could be better trained in service. Visited many times and some are better than others. But all could be better trained. Our large party of 8 was accommodated by pushing tables together but near side by the garbage which presented lots of annoying flies. Great way to relax coming from the beach.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SpiceDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbrellasbar, Manager at Umbrellas Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2015

Hello SpiceDonna,

Thank you for your 4 out of 5 review. It is great to hear you enjoyed our food and drink quality, however we are disappointed that you did not receive the proper service! We do ensure our staff is trained on a regular basis. The know the proper steps of service and we do our best to encourage them to fulfill our guests needs at all times. There is always room for improvement and we will definitely communicate your feedback to our team!

Unfortunately during this time of year there are many flies in Grenada- inside and outside, part of mother nature we have to endure. Our garbage bins are located at the back of the building where guests do not have access to. We are unsure where you were sitting however we are are sorry the flies hindered your experience. Next time please feel free to notify the server and she can arrange an alternative spot where they might be less of a bother.

Thank you,

Umbrellas Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2015

I don't like it but my twenty-something children love it. It is, of course, impossible to plase everyone.

Date of visit: June 2015
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbrellasbar, Manager at Umbrellas Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2015

Hello Neil M,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience at Umbrellas Beach Bar If you provide us with more details we will be happy to communicate them to our team.

Umbrellas Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2015

Great lively uptempo atmosphere at Umbrellas...fantastic "piña colada" great food....more more more. Can't wait to go back to Grenada as this is a place where I can't wait to revisit

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Valentine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbrellasbar, Manager at Umbrellas Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2015

Hello Valentine F,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are thrilled you had such a good time with us at Umbrellas Beach Bar.

We look forward to your return!

Thank you,

Umbrellas Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2015

We stayed at the Radisson Beach Hotel and it was very convenient for us to visit Umbrellas for meals. Stopped by a couple of times and received great service and amazing food. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank chanel4713
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbrellasbar, Manager at Umbrellas Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2015

Hello chanel4713,

Thank you for the amazing review and recommendation! We love to read about our guests visiting us on more than one occasion and receiving great service and food each time.

We do hope you have another opportunity to visit us during your next visit to Grenada.

Thank you,

Umbrellas Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umbrellas Beach Bar also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Umbrellas Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.